We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but not Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Plaza Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added South Beach Plaza Villas to your Saves list
South Beach Plaza Villas
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1411 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Andromeda
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quaint but not Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you want to go to South Beach without paying the exorbitant prices, South Beach Plaza Hotel is the place for you.We spent five days and it was great. For one, you are the heart of South Beach, that means you don't have to drive anywhere;the beach,restaurants, clubs and activities are located within a few blocks. But you have to deal with the noise on the streets from a place that never sleeps. On the other hand, my room had very few amenities ; no microwave or refrigerator, just the bare minimum, an ironing board, Tv & lock box. . There is a bar inside the hotel that opens at about 6pm, with $5 drink specials, a complimentary drink for guests between 5-6pm(don't be late) and Hookah priced at $25 ready to go. One other thing that threw me for a loop is the $25 valet parking, a little expensive, but worth it, but you have to pay everytime you come back to the hotel with your car.

Just remember, in South Beach, everything is overpriced and undervalued.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back that will block out more of the outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    55
    64
    34
    38
See reviews for
34
81
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

For the price, this place was fine for us. Walls were thin and floors were creaky, but the location was ideal, and the staff was pleasant if not overly helpful. Decor was minimal but sufficient. If you are looking for a place on South Beach and you are on a budget, you could do far worse than this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My friends and I booked a suite that had a king bed plus a sofa bed. The kitchen was pretty large but there was absolutely nothing stocked. We had to visit the bar to beg for a knife to cut up limes! I assume people just steal everything so they don't bother to stock anything. We were out late so didn't really notice if it was too noisy but the suites are quieter rooms since they are located back off of Collins Ave. Cost-wise it was pretty outrageous until you consider it was a high-season weekend in South Beach. The location is excellent: Close to Lincoln Road, 12th Street Beach, Washington Ave clubs, etc. We didn't make the breakfast but I could hear people enjoying it in the courtyard right outside our room!

Room Tip: If you go to bed early at night you should not stay here (or anywhere else in South Beach . . . Sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The SoBe plaza was a convenient, one night stop over for us while waiting for friends to arrive in Miami so that we could continue our trip on to Key Largo and the Rainbow Reef
Dive Center. The hotel is a much older building, 1936, but for the location and price it was a good choice. We were within walking distance to many different shops, clubs, and restaurants.

We experienced the high automatic gratuity at the restaurants we visited but really enjoyed wandering around the area and beach. The hotel staff were friendly. The courtyard between the hotel and villas was a nice, romantic place to hangout for the evening.

Our room was "clean" and furnished in a worn elegance kind of style. It was romantic in a "when we were young" way. It reminded us of our stays in Jamaica. The included continental breakfast was less than wonderful. The coffee and juices were watered down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The best thing probably about this place is the location. The hotel is in the middle of the action in South Beach. The clubs and restaurant (which are not cheap and they add 18% gratuity to every check, which NO ONE told us) are really fun so this place is great if you and some others just want to have a place to slept for the night. FYI try not to get a room by the alley way because in the morning there is so much noise back there. The bar they have is ok if you are just looking to pre-game for the night. The breakfeast is a joke, everything is package and nothing fresh, better off going someplace and having a great meal or getting take-out from the other hundreds of places around. The room was ok. The beds were average and "hardwood black floors" was a little off putting, but I didn't realy care. The only thing I really like about the room was the bathroom. It was modern looking and fairly small, but sufficient. The only thing about the shower was when turned on it was half the time blasting HOT WATER, no matter how cold we try to put the shower. That was probably the worst thing about the hotel. Again this place is good to crash for the night, no good breakfeast, oh parking 25 dollars a night-try to look before you take it.

Room Tip: No back alley rooms. Please if you want to wake up peacefully DONT GET A ROOM BY THE BACK ALLEY. Mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The South Beach Plaza is a hotel with villas next door, accessible via reception and a small courtyard to the right of the picture above. I would describe it as a quaint establishment (not 3 star) but in a great location.

The other reviews I've seen do set the right expectations so read them all and take a considered approach weighing up the positives and negatives.

Negatives - The bathroom is small and compact, the flush ain't great, the floors look like original boards and with no carpet is noisy (better to remove shoes) and sound proofing of the windows is almost non-existent. There is significant building work in front of the hotel, they ar building a new Walgreens store so noisy during day and no view. A daily $12 resort fee on top gets you breakfast and beach towels.

Positives - It is very clean, good shower, two king size beds in the room did squeak a bit but were comfortable, decor is interesting (although same in every room), there's a safe for valuables. Staff are GREAT, very helpful - reception, concierge and Devon on door. Nice bar area with a happy hour for those who want it. Efficient Valet parking at $25 per night which is same as or cheaper than local car parks. Fantastic location. You can either turn left, and left again and you are at the beach or right and head towards the market area; turn left off Collins earlier, at the famous deli, and you hit a load of restaurants.

In summary, we expected the resort fee, parking charge and had considered all the negatives from other comments. Our expectations were about right given the price we paid compared to other hotels nearby. I'd suggest you do the same and you should be ok. Any issues looked to be very quickly addressed by staff so don't be reluctant to raise them.

Room Tip: Check if building work at front of hotel. If you like sleeping in then you will be disturbed. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and was quite disappointed this was rated a 3 star. The room was somewhat clean but the laminated flooring had lost of scratches, discoloured in some areas and there is evidence of lifting. The bathroom had a small sink lower than the usual height and the vanity cabinet located above lend it's self to you striking your head if you are not careful. The hinges on the bathroom door are heavily rusted and the rust bleed into the tiles on the floor behind the door. The bedding is of cheap quality and the flannel blanket is suitable for a pet. On several occasions there were garbage bags in the hallways left unattended by the cleaning crew. I took several photographs of the room, in case I was blamed for the damage. The best thing about the hotel is the location, hotel lobby, front and rear patio area. I was not comfortable from the minute I walk in the room and would not recommend it to anyone of my friends or stay there again. This hotel should be rated 1.5 to 2 star at best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#138 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgewater South Beach
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#82 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,963 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#120 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Plaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Plaza Villas

Address: 1411 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Plaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your South Beach Plaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Plaza Villas Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Plaza Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.