We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place good spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Plaza Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added South Beach Plaza Villas to your Saves list
South Beach Plaza Villas
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1411 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Bavaro, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place good spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

nice hotel in a great position, rooms are ok not top class but comfortable, nice garden area to sit and relax but any one seems to be able to walk in at night and just take a seat. the position of the hotel is execellent minutes walk from the beach, bars, restaraunts and shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veritasvosliberabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Easy way to look as the cheapest option. They put a low price on websites an then you find that they charge you $12 dollars PER DAY as "hotel fee" (and also you must add the 13% sales tax + 3% county tax and the 3% state tax)
I asked what that fee was for and the answer was "Just the hotel fee, you can check on the confirmation of the website you purchased". and yes, it does say that they will charge you an extra fee that is not even settled.
That means they can overcharge you whatever they want as "hotel fee". I have been in better hotels with lower fee´s and they do publish the amount that will be charged and why.

The hotel was OK until I saw this. Not the best deal at all.

Lots of spiderwebs on the windows.

NOT COMING BACK

Room Tip: Very noisy street, not very thick windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanjoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Lower Keys, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

All we really need is a clean room. Our room looked like it was recently remodeled and we may have been the first to stay in it. Very Clean. They were busy and this is the off season. You can tell when a business is being actively managed or is on cruise control. The stock in this property is on it's way up. We will definitely give them another try.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The worst were the two guys, that call themselves Concierge's. Very low level people, that always try to flirt with female guests and they make stupid comments if someone books any activities through other agencies. The Hotel management should really observe if this 2 guys are not giving the hotel a bad reputation. several (younger) women complained.
The best of the hotel is its complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: if possible courtside, the rooms to the street are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a mini vacation for our anniversary. The rooms and bathroom was VERY small. I will say that it was extremely CLEAN!! We stayed during the Olympics and wanted to catch some of the events on tv. Needless to say, the tv reception was terrible! In this day and age there is no excuse for not having a crystal clear picture. There were a couple of other items that bothered us...namely the A/C. It only had one fan setting which was high. No matter what setting you put it on...it still blew very high and was noisy. The shower curtain was too short and caused the floor to get wet when taking a shower. The other thing that needs to be updated are the pillows. My neck is still hurting. The front desk clerk, Jeribeth, was very nice and accommodating. We would probably stay there again due to the cleanliness of the room and the location. Right in the heart of South Beach. Don't waste money on Valet parking..there is a parking garage just a block from the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Based on the internet description (breakfast, bathrobes!) I expected a place with a bed and breakfast feel. Did not happen. Our room was in a courtyard and up a steep outdoor staircase. The room had a bed, a night table, a tv with a few channels and that was it. There were no drawers so we had to live out of the suitcase. I have never before been in a hotel room without furniture. There were also no bathrobes. The breakfast had signs warning to take only one of each item. The wifi was out the entire time we were there (5 nights). On Friday night, they attracted a large crowd of rowdy drinkers which we had to pass in order to get in and out of our room. We did not feel safe. It is only 1 block from a beautiful beach and close to Lincoln Road shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location. Clean room, light continental breakfast and available valet parking for a fee. One block from the beach and ocean avenue. Great shopping on Collins avenue. Older building so I was alitte concerned on the 3 person elevator limit but would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#160 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Edgewater South Beach
#18 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,473 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#86 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Plaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Plaza Villas

Address: 1411 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Plaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your South Beach Plaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Plaza Villas Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing