We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great South Beach location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Plaza Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added South Beach Plaza Villas to your Saves list
South Beach Plaza Villas
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1411 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Woodbridge, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great South Beach location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Clean room, light continental breakfast and available valet parking for a fee. One block from the beach and ocean avenue. Great shopping on Collins avenue. Older building so I was alitte concerned on the 3 person elevator limit but would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    47
    55
    30
    36
See reviews for
30
66
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

One of the good things of this hotel is the location as is in the heart of South Beach at the 14th st, you get breakfast included and a glass of wine on a daily basis. It has WiFi that you can use free of charge. The personnel is very friendly and helpful, as many other hotels this is also art deco, don't expect to get a brand new hotel, however the rooms are renewed. You can have also by night a a hookah at the Bar or the terrace. We enjoyed our stay and passed a very good time.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed there for three nights during a business trip in Miami, hoping to enjoy a little sun after my days of work.

On the bright side, the location is obviously pretty good (1 block from the beach & ocean drive, plenty of restaurants and bars in the area), and the prices are competitive (i.e $90 per night) with internet and breakfast included.

The rooms are OK, nothing more.
The whole room looked tired, but it was still OK in terms of comfort. Based on the number of people I saw complaining about their room at front desk, I guess I was lucky.
Internet worked fine (whenever we had electricity at least).
There was air conditioning and cable TV in mine. There were indeed plenty of cables going from the floor to the TV :)
The A/C unit is on the window, so it makes the room noisier as the window is actually open; luckily, the A/C itself covers street noise, so only other guests can be bothersome if you're trying to sleep.

The yard around which most rooms are located is actually the terrace of a bar / restaurant, so it might become extremely noisy during summer months.
Most of your neighbors will be people staying in South Beach for some hard partying. If you don't plan on sleeping too much either, you'll be fine.

Breakfast is not good; a choice of a bagel, muffins, yogurts, apples, coffee and juice. Nothing seemed or tasted very fresh. There's very little room to sit in the breakfast area, and you usually have to queue quite a bit.

Valet parking is $25 + tax per night - make sure you call ahead when you need you car, as it takes them over 10 minutes to have it ready. I don't know where the parking lot is, but it is not covered for sure: I got my car back covered in bird feces.

The people at front desk weren't very nice as I checked in, checked out, or whenever I needed anything; they even turned out to be pretty dishonest - I won't get into too much details here.

If you don't expect more from a hotel than a bed and all you're going to do is go to the beach & hit the bars, then the place can be fine for you -just like 90% of the hotels around there!
Otherwise, and especially for a business stay, I would recommend to spend a little more and find a more decent place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Depressive place.. I travel quite frequently to Miami, and have stayed at many different hotels.. This one was not pleasant. Front desk staff, was unfriendly and unprofessional (Jose).
The place is "dead". Seem to be mostly old people staying here ..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

The hotel is in a great location on South Beach. 14st and Collins, one block from the beach. We paid $200 a night and for that we got a room with no light and it was very dusty. It wasn't a terrible room, just disappointing. Basic, very dark, staff were average. Then they charged an additional $25 "resort tax" for the 3 nights we stayed. Also could hear every foot step of everyone else coming back at 3am partying. The breakfast was inedible. For +$200 a night we expected more, but in South Beach I guess that costs more. For our last night we moved to the Hilton at Biscayne Bay, near downtown and for $207 we got a huge room, king sized bed, bay views, basically everything you expect from a Hilton hotel, but we were the other side of the bridge, so I guess you pay for the location of South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel has small room, tiny shower. Hotel charges 11 dollars resort fee for beach towel and breakfast that includes muffin, orange, bagel and glass of juice. Close to the beach and south beach attraction

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

South Beach Plaza Villas is in a great location on Collins, near 13th Street and next to it's sister hotel South Beach Hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean with air conditioning. A small but adequate bathroom with a decent shower. Room rate included breakfast which was a buffet style affair, in the bar area...they also have a patio area between the two hotel which is pleasant for dining or lounging in. Free wifi is included along with 2 free glasses of wine between 5-6pm. We found the staff to be very pleasant. Valet parking is offered for a fee but there is a public car park on 13th which offers much better rates. Location wise this is a great choice one block from South Beach and within easy walking distance of Lincoln Road and Esponala Way...great areas with lots of bars and restaurants (there are also dining options on Ocean Road opposite South Beach). All in all enjoyed our 3 day stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Plaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Plaza Villas

Address: 1411 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Plaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Beach Plaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Plaza Villas Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Plaza Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.