We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jorge is the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #98 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Porto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jorge is the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The location is great and has a wonderful employee there Jorge Porro that helped us with everything he is great great ! The best! Poor breakfast and old rooms need repairs for the price that we paid is Expensive because the rooms are not worth it! Very noisy! But great location

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    266
    121
    44
    43
See reviews for
119
205
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Firstly, we arrived in Miami with our two children during "Urban Week". If you have young children, avoid this at all costs. During this week Ocean Drive is closed to traffic and replaced with thousands of people parading up and down wearing almost nothing and drinking heavily. The bars and restaurants play loud hip-hop all day and well into the night.

The Avalon, rather than joining in with Urban Week, simply closed their bar and restaurant to the revellers, which was disappointing but understandable. Unfortunately they didn't close their rooms to them too, so the corridors were pungent with the smell of marijuana. The room was clean but very tired. Breakfast was a basic continental spread of not particularly good croissants, fruit and cereal. The restaurant and bar is a different matter, however. Very, very nice seafood and an excellent bar serving probably the best mojitos in South Beach (I samples quite a few).

In summary, I would highly recommend the restaurant and bar. They really are a cut above most of the others on Ocean Drive, but give the hotel a wide berth if you're looking for any level of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a clean hotel with amazing staff. Especially Jorge is the best concierge that we have ever seen. He's given us insider's tips about everything from restaurants to lounges to local hang-outs. We are very thankful for his help. He is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

nice hotel at Miami Beach. location and service is great. nice rooms but air condition was very noisy.
plus for simple but nice breakfast included. valet parking available, making parking in a busy area smootely.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I read the Yelp reviews prior to booking and most said great staff and great place to stay however, the only thing was the noise from the streets. Well that is correct. But you are on the strip in the heart of it all so what else would you expect. Rooms are small, however, super clean and staff was AMAZING... Thank you to Jorge and Ana!!! For my first time to Miami I could not have picked a more perfect spot to stay. There were 4 of us on this trip and we all agreed we will end our vacations in Miami!! And we will stay at the Avalon. If you are someone to spend most of your time in the hotel this is not your spot however, perfect for the average travler. One other thing to add... Although we did not eat at our hotel in the evening it is amazing how elegant it turned into at night. With beautiful intimate table settings and soft music playing it is a must to eat there. It really did out do some of the other hotels along the strip. Thank you Avalon for a GREAT stay. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in early May. Showing up Sunday evening we had to go around the block 3 times before we could park to unload & have the valet take the car. The first floor has a 1/2 flight of stairs to the rooms, but there is an elevator to higher floors. The walls were paper thin, we could hear everything outside, in the next room and in the hallway. Note that this is a party area, so plan to bring ear plugs unless you too will be out late closing down the clubs! The room was tiny & poorly laid out. Our friend's room was mildly better, but still not much room to manuever. Breakfast was nice. The hotel restaurant is excellent! The staff at the front desk seemed to fluster easily, but eventually got everything done. They did get distracted at chek in and accidentally gave us the keys to the wrong room. [Sorry to the guy in the towel we walked in on!!] It was corrected quickly and they were very appologetic.

Room Tip: Get higher up, and the rooms along the back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Spent a week here and loved it....the hotel staff was so nice and gracious the european breakfast hit the mark great coffee also....just have to cross the street to get to the beach. The room was clean and could walk to a ton of places. Loved the live music at night and also the dinner that was served if we wanted to eat at the hotel....we had a 2nd floor ocean drive/corner room enjoyed live music every night if we opened the window. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#31 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#48 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#143 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#86 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#58 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.