We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better restaurant than hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #83 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A better restaurant than hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Firstly, we arrived in Miami with our two children during "Urban Week". If you have young children, avoid this at all costs. During this week Ocean Drive is closed to traffic and replaced with thousands of people parading up and down wearing almost nothing and drinking heavily. The bars and restaurants play loud hip-hop all day and well into the night.

The Avalon, rather than joining in with Urban Week, simply closed their bar and restaurant to the revellers, which was disappointing but understandable. Unfortunately they didn't close their rooms to them too, so the corridors were pungent with the smell of marijuana. The room was clean but very tired. Breakfast was a basic continental spread of not particularly good croissants, fruit and cereal. The restaurant and bar is a different matter, however. Very, very nice seafood and an excellent bar serving probably the best mojitos in South Beach (I samples quite a few).

In summary, I would highly recommend the restaurant and bar. They really are a cut above most of the others on Ocean Drive, but give the hotel a wide berth if you're looking for any level of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    212
    97
    35
    40
See reviews for
91
168
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a clean hotel with amazing staff. Especially Jorge is the best concierge that we have ever seen. He's given us insider's tips about everything from restaurants to lounges to local hang-outs. We are very thankful for his help. He is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

nice hotel at Miami Beach. location and service is great. nice rooms but air condition was very noisy.
plus for simple but nice breakfast included. valet parking available, making parking in a busy area smootely.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I read the Yelp reviews prior to booking and most said great staff and great place to stay however, the only thing was the noise from the streets. Well that is correct. But you are on the strip in the heart of it all so what else would you expect. Rooms are small, however, super clean and staff was AMAZING... Thank you to Jorge and Ana!!! For my first time to Miami I could not have picked a more perfect spot to stay. There were 4 of us on this trip and we all agreed we will end our vacations in Miami!! And we will stay at the Avalon. If you are someone to spend most of your time in the hotel this is not your spot however, perfect for the average travler. One other thing to add... Although we did not eat at our hotel in the evening it is amazing how elegant it turned into at night. With beautiful intimate table settings and soft music playing it is a must to eat there. It really did out do some of the other hotels along the strip. Thank you Avalon for a GREAT stay. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in early May. Showing up Sunday evening we had to go around the block 3 times before we could park to unload & have the valet take the car. The first floor has a 1/2 flight of stairs to the rooms, but there is an elevator to higher floors. The walls were paper thin, we could hear everything outside, in the next room and in the hallway. Note that this is a party area, so plan to bring ear plugs unless you too will be out late closing down the clubs! The room was tiny & poorly laid out. Our friend's room was mildly better, but still not much room to manuever. Breakfast was nice. The hotel restaurant is excellent! The staff at the front desk seemed to fluster easily, but eventually got everything done. They did get distracted at chek in and accidentally gave us the keys to the wrong room. [Sorry to the guy in the towel we walked in on!!] It was corrected quickly and they were very appologetic.

Room Tip: Get higher up, and the rooms along the back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Spent a week here and loved it....the hotel staff was so nice and gracious the european breakfast hit the mark great coffee also....just have to cross the street to get to the beach. The room was clean and could walk to a ton of places. Loved the live music at night and also the dinner that was served if we wanted to eat at the hotel....we had a 2nd floor ocean drive/corner room enjoyed live music every night if we opened the window. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel you are paying for location only. The hotel is very old needs to be clean ! When we arrived in our room the sheets looked like coffee was spilled on them, the carpet looked like it has been there for 50 yrs, we asked the staff to change the sheets which they did. It was very noisy and I did not know at time of booking that this was on the Main Street. I asked the staff if we could get a refund the minute I steped into the hotel, they said no that they could not do that. There were 3 couples behind us asking for rooms, the desk staff says sorry we are full. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Right down the street was a hotel name room mates I would suggest that
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear cjkid54,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience. We will certainly look into all of the issues you have shared with us. It is unusual to receive comments like this, so we would ask that next time you travel to the area, please contact us directly so that we may have the opportunity to make it up to you.

Respectfully,

Staff and Management
Avalon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife.Starting with the charm of its Art Deco architecture to the signature 1950s vintage car parked in front, as you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. Whether it’s your first visit or your tenth, we will be here to ensure you have the South Beach experience you expect.Step from the Avalon's terrace to choose your spot on the glistening white sands of one of the world's Top Ten most beautiful beaches--Miami Beach.In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive.Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a bountiful complimentary European breakfast buffet each morning, a signature Atlantic Stars amenity. Other amenities include daily newspapers, complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.