We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service great location !!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #87 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
“Great customer service great location !!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very nice if you are just looking for a place to sleep if u are going to be out majority of your stay this is the place. Ana was very nice great people person and also the young man with the glasses was very nice. I could have used more cable channels but I'm not complaining about the law and order marathon. Housekeeping very nice I would come and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    255
    117
    42
    41
See reviews for
111
200
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have visited South Beach multiple times and have stayed in several other hotels. This was, by far, our best visit, and this hotel was a large part of it. It was prime location for us: directly across from the beach (there are no rooms on the beach in this area), close enough to walk to party central near The Cleavelander and Mangos yet far enough away from the noise when you've had enough. It's a short and safe walk to and endless number and types of restaurants and shops. We drove here yet only used our car once and that was just for cruising.
This hotel is classic art deco in the Art Deco part of South Beach. It is not a resort, and it's not new. There is no pool or gym, but the larger hotels to the north cannot provide the unique/classic design, warm atmosphere, and ideal location this hotel offers. The staff was the icing on the cake. We had the good fortune to time our coming and going while Ana was at the desk. She made us feel like family to the point that we found ourselves saying we were "going home" when heading back to the hotel. She is friendly and knowledgeable and provided a lot of very sound and accurate information and recommendations. We only got to know Jorge at check out and found him just as friendly and helpful. I hope both of these exceptional staff members will receive the recognition they deserve for their exceptional service.
The entire staff from housekeeping to valet service to the restaurant staff was outstanding.
We will definitely choose this hotel for our next trip to South Beach.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of it all in Miami. The staff was very pleasant and let a check in super early after we took a cruise that ended in Miami. We only had 1 night but we def took advantage and really got to experience Miami. The beach is right across the street! Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Miami beach :)

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you are headed to South Beach this hotel is a great stay. Directly across from the beach and walking distance from shopping and great restaurants. We arrived on an early flight and were pleasantly surprised to have a room ready at 10:00 a.m. Really - you go to South Beach to be outdoors and this hotel doesn't have all the bells and whistles but is more than adequate to sleep. Noise was not excessive and breakfast was average at best. Traffic is CRAZY in front of the hotel so if you drive your take a taxi be patient. A cute place for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here in July with family and the room was tiny. I paid for an ocean view room but all I saw out the window was palm trees. The smell was horrible, it smelled like mildew. The to top it all off they had my reservation under a different name, I had paid a night months before my vacation and the entire time during my stay they hassled me about the payment and the reservation being under a different name. It ruined my trip. Horrible stay, never stay at this hotel, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We get that this isn't The Ritz or The Hilton, but your staff can make or break the place. So why have uninterested staff (not all of them) who treat guests as an unnecessary distraction. If they don't want to be here, move them on and get people that are willing to engage and be helpful.
And can you get someone to do some general maintenance; our room had no cold water to the bathroom sink, shower curtain was about to fall off the wall and the shower tap handle falls off.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from Ocean Drive as possible to ensure you get quality sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Dwayne,

Thank you for your review. We at The Avalon Hotel are very sorry you were not happy with our staff. We will certainly address your concerns with our team. We will be looking into the issues you mentioned regarding your room accommodations as well. Your room tip about sleeping facing Ocean Drive will be helpful to future guests.

Thank you for your business and we ask you to come back so we can meet all of your expectations.

Warmest Regards,

Staff and Management Avalon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel Avalon is again yet another Art deco style hotel on the ocean drive.
Retains the old building and style and gives a retro outlook.
It is right where the party happens all day and night long.
Rooms are of decent size and cleanliness is appreciable.
Offers valet parking only and it is 27$ per day.Came as a surprise for us.
Driving in and out of it the ocean drive needs patience though.
Breakfast was very much average.
Got a pretty good deal for a long weekend night so no complains.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Logesh,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and will return home with good memories of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. A little note on the parking situation; we suggest in the future to take advantage of self parking which is only two blocks down for a little less price than the valet. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Please make sure to book directly with us in order to receive rates lower than you will find on other travel sites.

Warmest Regards,

Staff and Management Avalon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.