We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the area.. best location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent for the area.. best location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Most of the hotels in Miami were built in the 40s or 50s so don't expect to find a Hilton resort type here. This hotel is located right in the middle of South Beach, so you will have access to everything. We had room 222 which was a nice corner unit. It was about the size of a cabin on a cruise ship. We did find bugs in the room in the morning. I thought that was really bad. They were located by the waste in by the desk.
Our room was quite and the staff was very kind. I emailed them ahead of time to let them know we were going to be there.
Check in and check out was easy. We did Valet parking.. Its 20 overnight to find parking yourself, and 25 plus tip for them.. that's ok.. I left the phone in the car by accident, so I located the car and phone.. they use city parking on 7th street which is safe..
Don't be fooled by the buy one get one drinks at the bar... Yes you buy one and yes you get one... but only the one you pay for .. total scam lol...
Overall I have to say this is a 3 star hotel for the area It was somewhere else it would be a 2.0.
I would go back with a deal, but might not if it was at full price.. Its Miami

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room 222 333 etc they have 2 windows and can see the ocean and are removed from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear David I,

We would like to thank you for your feedback, and for recognizing the great location of The Avalon Hotel. Miami Beach is a unique destination with many hotels like the Avalon maintaining the integrity of the area. So yes, one might find rooms a bit smaller than some other destinations. You gave some very specific comments, and we will be sure to examine all comments with great consideration.

Please contact us directly on your next visit to South Beach so that we may assist with reservations.

Thank You,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    224
    102
    36
    40
See reviews for
96
176
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stopped in the avalon for 1 night in October,we arrived about 3 hours prior to check in and our room was ready,which was nice surprise.The staff were friendly and took our car to the local carpark for the night and returned it when we wanted it back the next day,however it did cost about 25 dollars per day!The hotel is very run down and desperately needed referbashing although,it was clean and did have all of the facilities we needed for a night.The location was perfect,right on the main strip of south beach,Miami,with just a 2 minute stroll to the beach and the resturants are on the same row as the hotel,which is great.However be aware that the restaurants prices are very expensive! Overall this hotel is ok for a nights stay and has all of the amenities you would want.

Room Tip: Our room was an ocean view room but it was very noisy throughout the entire night,so choose a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Elizabeth S,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review, and we thank you for recognizing our location, service and cleanliness. We would have to agree that The Avalon Hotel offers the very best location in South Beach! We do have some updating planned, and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Thank You,

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night. Dinner was great at the hotel restaurant and service was excellent. However, our AC in the room was non-functional. We called the front desk 3 times to notify them of the problem. First, they sent someone up to take a look, but it was no help. The 2nd time we called, they said it would cool off once the sun went down. The third time we called, they said all the rooms were the same and to avoid using the covers to stay cool. Really??!! Totally unacceptable! The next day upon checking out, we informed the woman at the front desk what we dealt with, and fortunately she made it right by comping us for the night and also picking up the valet tab. While this was the right move to do to rectify the situation, the Avalon Hotel clearly needs to spend some money to replace badly needed equipment! AC in South Beach is a MUST, not an option!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with functioning AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

What can I say, I've stayed here before on business, and always like the atmosphere and location. I was on business again this time so didn't enjoy the beach towel service. If you're going to stay in Miami Beach, you may as well stay on Ocean Drive. Its a great, vibrant location with lots going on. The room was pretty good, but you must understand that as a Art Deco hotel it has a different feeling to a more traditional hotel. But it was clean, well decorated with all the right bits and pieces you'd expect; decent towels, robes, comfortable big bed and good linen, flat screen TV, iPod player, an excellent coffee maker, plenty of bottled water each day. Whats not to like. The staff were great, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is a very traditional America buffet affair, but there is fruit and some more healthy options, and you can sit outside looking at promenade of Ocean Drive. A great stay and I'd stay again.

One thing that you need to bear in mind; the hotel doesn't have double glazing so my room was at the rear of the hotel and you heard the Rubbish truck each morning, personally not a problem but something to consider.

Another big plus which the big chains could take note of is that the wifi was free in the rooms and in the public areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great! Located across the street from south beach. Front desk staff (George and Anna) were awesome! Both made sure we had everything we needed and found us a great superbowl party! They made us feel welcome and like nothing was too much to ask of them. Rooms were clean, bed was slightly too hard for my liking, however I can't wait to go back to the Avalon!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Situated in a great position in Ocean Drive, it seems to come back in time..Very nice old Miami style, great view on the ocean. Really friendly staff and globally clean. A bit noisy in the external rooms, but worthy for the stunning view..

Room Tip: If you like silence choose a back room, but if you want to experience something else ask for the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed for one night which was more than enough. The location is perfect, right on the beach, the wifi is free, breakfast is included and the staff is friendly, but that's the positive. The pictures on the website doesn't match reality, at least not in our case. We had a classic room on the 2nd floor. The hallway smelled horribly (like a public restroom) when we arrived, the room was small (even by European standards) but smelled less bad than the hallway, had two queen beds, everything was worn down, the remote was sticky and we couldn't get a window open to let some air in. There was nothing cozy, bright or fresh to be found and no orchids even though that is what the webpage claims you can expect of a classic room. We had to move a (the only) bedside table to get access to an outlet (the only one we could find and gain access to, not counting the one in the bathroom) - and we shouldn't have done that - cleaning was needed. Breakfast is nothing out of the ordinary, but it's there. I am glad we just had to stay for one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Travelgirlcph,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Avalon Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the ideal oceanfront location of the Avalon Hotel. Your comments are appreciated and will be discussed amongst management in order to better serve the needs of all of our guests.

We would like the opportunity to have you stay with us again, please feel free to contact us directly should you like to speak regarding your stay.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#62 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife.Starting with the charm of its Art Deco architecture to the signature 1950s vintage car parked in front, as you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. Whether it’s your first visit or your tenth, we will be here to ensure you have the South Beach experience you expect.Step from the Avalon's terrace to choose your spot on the glistening white sands of one of the world's Top Ten most beautiful beaches--Miami Beach.In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive.Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a bountiful complimentary European breakfast buffet each morning, a signature Atlantic Stars amenity. Other amenities include daily newspapers, complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.