We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice South beach Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #80 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice South beach Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were down in south beach only for 3 days and needed a very good located hotel to spend 2 nights with my friend ! I have been in miami before but wanted to try a new hotel. I checked online and found this one for not a crazy price but we still wanted something nice. I was very pleased when we arrived ! Room was not big but very clean and beds were just super comfy ! This hotel is a perfect location, right front of the beach and next to all nights activities. It was slow season so I can't really judge about the noise. The breakfast included was a plus, nothing like very tasty but enough to get energy and not have to spend more money for a breakfast. I would go back if i need to !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    209
    98
    35
    40
See reviews for
91
166
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corryton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice hotel in the Art Deco District. It is an older hotel as are all the hotel's in this area but it is very clean and keptup well. Plenty of shopping and restaurants within walking distance and the park and beach is across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location, clean room, complimentary breakfast and good room view! Ana in the front deck is so so so kind and helpful to help us change a king-size bedroom and just face the beach!!! She's sooo nice!!! The location is perfect!!! Parking is a little costly but worth!! I'll defiantly recommend it!! Thanks Ana!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great location, right across from the beach and in the heart of the action. The staff was excellent and very friendly. Room was small but immaculate and met all of our needs. Good complimentary breakfast. Overall, a good value and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for a week and I am glad I did it. The hotel is in front of the beach close to everything, perfect for a person traveling alone. They offer a continental breakfast, which compared to the same category of other hotels is pretty decent. My room was simple but at the back, number 224, which allowed me to sleep very well away from the noise of the Ocean Drive. The people at the front, Jorge, Ana and Ruben treated me very kindly. I tried the restaurant one night and although a little expensive, it was worth it!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are more silent that the ones at the front on Ocean Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went to Miami with my boyfriend for 4th of July this year. It was his first time, so we opted to stay on South Beach. We ended up with Avalon Hotel through Hotwire, which was listed as a 3.5 or 4 star. The hotel is nothing to write home about: it's very old and shows clear signs of use. It certainly was not my ideal location. I'm more accustomed to updated, newer furnishings. To be an older establishment, it was maintained as well as possible. Front desk attendant Ana and another man who's name escapes me were phenomenal. They really understand the concept of great customer service. Location of the hotel is great if you're really looking for South Beach action. Unfortunately, I was looking for more relaxation so music blaring at 2am and loud, drunken screams outside of my window was not ideal. This was of no fault of the actual hotel. All in all, I would not stay at this hotel again b/c it was a little old for me, but I would definitely recommend it to someone who isn't concerned about that. The customer service alone gets it a gold star in my book.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just had our 2nd stay at the Avalon Hotel ,I Love this place .The history of the hotel the kind staff ,I could not have been more pleased The location is awesome ,Right across from the beach !!!! The neon lights of Ocean Drive make for some great pics .Well done folks

Room Tip: Don't expect a 5 star resort ,It's a older Deco hotel but very well taken care of and very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife.Starting with the charm of its Art Deco architecture to the signature 1950s vintage car parked in front, as you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. Whether it’s your first visit or your tenth, we will be here to ensure you have the South Beach experience you expect.Step from the Avalon's terrace to choose your spot on the glistening white sands of one of the world's Top Ten most beautiful beaches--Miami Beach.In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive.Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a bountiful complimentary European breakfast buffet each morning, a signature Atlantic Stars amenity. Other amenities include daily newspapers, complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.