We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #110 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Clean and friendly. Rooms are a little small but very comfortable. Only down side was the noisy air con. Great location on the beach front and beside an endless choice of restaurants. The hotel restaurant looked nice but seemed a little pricey. However, most eateries on the beach front were quite expensive. If back in Miami would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAZE45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was very skeptical about my stay here due to some reviews, but I must say I appreciated the hospitality that was given. The rooms are kind of old , but it was very clean. The staff was a very friendly and helpful, Ana was the best at making sure our stay was comfortable and giving us VIP passes to local clubs.I will definitely stay at the avalon again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I very much enjoyed staying at the Avalon. The staff was friendly and helpful and the view from the hotel is marvelous!

The only bad thing that I can say was that the room was a bit small, but that's nothing really that bad considering the age of the hotel.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blakebritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great service and a pretty good room. The beds are comfortable and the weeknight rates are pretty good. They are very accommodating and helped me find great attractions and tours. The concierg. Was vvery friendly and signed me up for a tour that leaves Avalon as well as suggested I try Groupon for deals.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turbohyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Immediately upon walking in the door of the hotel, we were greeted by warm, friendly staff. The check-in was fast, and the room was clean and ready. There was complimentary coffee and water in our room and a free breakfast each morning of our stay. On our last day in Miami we informed them that we had a tour scheduled for that morning and that i flight didn't leave until 5:30 pm. They stored our bags for us at no additional charge until we were ready to go to the airport. Also, the staff helped us with making arrangements with transportation from the hotel to the airport. A special thanks to everyone @ Avalon, and a big THANK YOU especially to Ana and Jorge for making our stay enjoyable and stress free :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNolan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Avalon hotel was my choice because of how much it cost and the distance from the beach. However, the Hotel was old and when I got there the carpet smelled of mold. The rooms were not properly cleaned and the coffee creams and sugars were not replenished during maid services. One morning, there was a huge thrash bin in front of my room, which I moved to the stairway and advised the front desk to remove it. The front desk attended, politely said that it was going to be moved, but when I looked later, it was still there. The most aggravating part of my trip is that I heard people having sex next to my room. This is an indication that the clientele and management have no concern for their patrons. Employees did not smile and gave me the impression that they did not want to work there. On my last day at this motel, they slipped under my door a note that my departure day was one day earlier, which i ignored on the account of my documented reservation. Further, the coffee maker stopped working on my last day as well. Also, the air conditioner was very noisy. Next time, I will pay more, but stay in a more descent hotel. So, do yourself a favor, find a place on Collins Avenue, that might cost more, but will have employees that care for their patrons.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor a pay more to stay in a descent hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdionisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The staff at this hotel are the most friendly and helpful I have EVER come across on all my travels. I arrived in Miami to unwind at the end of a business trip but unfortunately my luggage did not make it with me, courtesy of a mix-up with AA. This was obviously a real inconvenience but the guy at reception (Jorge) and his colleague (Ana) were really sympathetic and did everything they could to help me out including contacting the airline regularly on my behalf to find out where my luggage was. They also advised on where to go to get some appropriate clothing and made me aware of the typical compensation I would receive (based on their experience of this happening with other guests). All this really helped to make my short stop in Miami a pleasurable one bearing in mind the circumstances. So I just want to say to Jorge and Ana... thanks for making the difference!! Also thanks to Reuben (the concierge) for being such a friendly and helpful guy too. And finally a big thanks to the very honest member of your restaurant staff who returned my camera (with house keys in the case inside) to the front desk after I Ieft it in the reception bathroom. That was really appreciated. I will be staying at the Avalon for sure on my next visit to Miami!

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#47 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#53 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#95 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing