We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #110 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend a few nights in crazy South Beach. The location is perfect. Right on Ocean Drive, just a short walk to the beach and to shopping. I rate this hotel as a good value not because of the actual property but because of the amazing staff. Just the best, most helpful staff imaginable. On all levels from bellhops to reception just wonderful service. George at the desk needs a raise. This guy is amazingly nice and helpful, a real asset for this establishment.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. Pretty much the status quo for "art deco" hotels. Nothing to complain about at all.
Oh, and the restaurant has some of the best food you will find in Miami. Stay here without reservation...

Room Tip: ocean view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeC965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located, staff friendly and helpful, special mention for George, Ruben and Ana for their exceptional service. Rooms comfortable and cool. The only negative I would say would be the hairs in the bathroom that where there when we arrived and still there when we left. Ocean Drive very expensive for food and drink, in fact for everything, 3 days is quiet enough time. Speak to George for places to eat.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just came back from South Beach Miami and had to take the time to comment on our stay at the Avalon hotel. This was not our first and will not be our last stay at this hotel. The location is great and the staff is fabulous. Edith, Ana and George are really knowledgable on how a hotel is to be operated. They went over and beyond to make us comfortable in every way..The room is always clean and the beds are so comfortable. This is truly a boutique hotel....Thank you Edith, Ana and George. See you soon Avalon.

Donna & Robert Barisciano

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank primadonna1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pros: very friendly front desk staff, amazing location (on Ocean Drive, in the middle of everything), comfortable beds, and a well kept property.

Cons: the price was almost $250 per night (for some reason, all hotels in South Beach were crazy expensive, for the first weekend of April), worn furnishings, and a small room.

Aside from the price, this hotel is what you would expect for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tyler_cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked this place on hotel tonight so got a bit of a discount on room. Excellent location on South Beach. Only stayed one night. Thoroughly enjoyed dinner at their restaurant A Fish Called Avalon. However, room was basic, clean, very small. Drinks at hotel bar very expensive. Two rounds of drinks for party of 4 totaled over $100. Parking valet was additional $27 but we did have option of usin nearby parking lot for $1/ hour. Pool and beach available through their sister hotel but we didn't stay long enough to try that out. We will definitely do dinner there again. All hotel staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliegarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent one night here on our way to Cuba. The place is excellent: great location, nice rooms, excellent restaurant, helpful staff. It's close to, but in the middle of, all the loud bars up and down Ocean Avenue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AIS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I will definitely be coming back to this hotel BECAUSE of he staff. Anna and George and Carlos (and others whose names I did not get) were so incredibly friendly and accommodating that I will definitely be back. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and wonderful location right on Ocean Drive. Thanks for making our stay so great!! Bill

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank some_dude_bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#47 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#53 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#95 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing