We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #75 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just came back from South Beach Miami and had to take the time to comment on our stay at the Avalon hotel. This was not our first and will not be our last stay at this hotel. The location is great and the staff is fabulous. Edith, Ana and George are really knowledgable on how a hotel is to be operated. They went over and beyond to make us comfortable in every way..The room is always clean and the beds are so comfortable. This is truly a boutique hotel....Thank you Edith, Ana and George. See you soon Avalon.

Donna & Robert Barisciano

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    200
    91
    34
    38
See reviews for
84
161
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pros: very friendly front desk staff, amazing location (on Ocean Drive, in the middle of everything), comfortable beds, and a well kept property.

Cons: the price was almost $250 per night (for some reason, all hotels in South Beach were crazy expensive, for the first weekend of April), worn furnishings, and a small room.

Aside from the price, this hotel is what you would expect for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked this place on hotel tonight so got a bit of a discount on room. Excellent location on South Beach. Only stayed one night. Thoroughly enjoyed dinner at their restaurant A Fish Called Avalon. However, room was basic, clean, very small. Drinks at hotel bar very expensive. Two rounds of drinks for party of 4 totaled over $100. Parking valet was additional $27 but we did have option of usin nearby parking lot for $1/ hour. Pool and beach available through their sister hotel but we didn't stay long enough to try that out. We will definitely do dinner there again. All hotel staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent one night here on our way to Cuba. The place is excellent: great location, nice rooms, excellent restaurant, helpful staff. It's close to, but in the middle of, all the loud bars up and down Ocean Avenue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I will definitely be coming back to this hotel BECAUSE of he staff. Anna and George and Carlos (and others whose names I did not get) were so incredibly friendly and accommodating that I will definitely be back. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and wonderful location right on Ocean Drive. Thanks for making our stay so great!! Bill

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel Avalon for a quick getaway. The location was perfect, cost was reasonable and staff was extremely friendly especially Ana.

The restaurant has an incredible chef ( chef Kal) and the food was excellent. the wait staff was also very nice (thank you Christopher )

I would encourage everyone to book your stay here you will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I visited with my Girl Friend stay for a week in South Beach. The room seem a bit small and not so much other then a place to sleep. We were out all day at the beach and hit up the bars and clubs by nite. I think next time I will spend more money for a better hotel. But yes the location was great I mean the first time I didn't have to rent a car while I was in another state. Everything was so close to me other then the Airport...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#75 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife.Starting with the charm of its Art Deco architecture to the signature 1950s vintage car parked in front, as you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. Whether it’s your first visit or your tenth, we will be here to ensure you have the South Beach experience you expect.Step from the Avalon's terrace to choose your spot on the glistening white sands of one of the world's Top Ten most beautiful beaches--Miami Beach.In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive.Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a bountiful complimentary European breakfast buffet each morning, a signature Atlantic Stars amenity. Other amenities include daily newspapers, complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.