We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best bang for your buck! Great hotel, staff, location & overall value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites of Dorchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Suites of Dorchester to your Saves list
Suites of Dorchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best bang for your buck! Great hotel, staff, location & overall value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

This property is the best overall value on south beach! Was amazed that such a nice place went over & above by providing free drinks at their courtyard bar every evening! Also had a user issue with the A/C unit, which ended up being just that, my lack of user knowledge, but management waisted no time as they were at the door within minutes to fix the issue! Anything we needed was supplied without any hesitation or delay!
Would recommend this property and any/all sister properties to anyone whom wishes to enjoy a carefree stay on the sexiest beach in the world!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear ROSELEN,
Thank you so much for your sincere comments! Our staff loves meeting and surpassing our guests' expectations. Your words are the best fuel for our team to continue servicing the thousands of people that visit Miami Beach each day. Thank you for letting us show you a piece of our magic and service culture.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    65
    27
    5
    10
See reviews for
41
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

The staff are very helpful and friendly in this boutique hotel. The courtyard has a cute floating bed that me and my friend swang in while having happy hour drinks at their swanky bar. Everything is clean which is very important to me. The location is perfect. We walked most of the time and the one day we decided to drive we got towed because if no parking a

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Dear FUNSUNN1001,

Thank you so much for your sincere comments. We love being able to meet your needs and more. Also being compared to anything Sinatra, is well, out of this world! Please come back and see is soon. Our friendly staff will be here to meet your expectations.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed at the Dorchester for a long weekend in November. I flew in from the West Coast and my Best Friend drove down from the Daytona area, and we shared a one bedroom suite. That suite was roomy, spacious, and comfortable. I have lived in apartments smaller than the suite! The bedroom was large and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was tight, but the fixtures were lovely. The living room had a sofa comfortable enough to sleep on There was a separate dining room, and the kitchen was furnished with all the utensils we needed. There was a small porch which overlooked the courtyard fountains and flowers. The furnishings and carpet were a bit worn, but comfortably so - exactly what one would find in a typical European hotel.
The desk staff were extremely helpful with suggesting places to eat and other navigations. Desmond, the night clerk, was exceptionally polite and helpful.
The hotel lounge has a 'Free Cocktail' Happy Hour - they choose one cocktail to serve each evening and although they advertise it as 'free', there is a $1 fee for each drink. The pool is LARGE and was always deserted - the water was warm and relaxing. Did not partake of the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Dear TRAVELOVERN,

Thank you so much for your comments. We know that we have a unique product that is a jewel of a find in South Beach. Real-size apartments with all the real amenities of a hotel, kitchen, living rooms, let's just say, it is hard to go wrong there. We are so happy you like our service and amenities. I will personally let Desmond know about your comments, and we know that he always goes the extra mile for our guests. We are glad to be what you needed during your stay in South Beach.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We have stayed here several times. The Dorchester is an old property that's split into two separate areas - the suites and the regular hotels rooms. We've always stayed in the suites. Took a look at the regular hotel rooms once, which were pretty ordinary. The suites are great value for South Beach, modernized with a full kitchen, big couches and comfortable king bed in the bedroom. Great value for a family, although I don't think the couches convert to a bed and I seem to recall our friends had problems getting a rollaway when they stayed there. The great thing about having a suite is that you can go to the supermarket and stock up, then eat in your room, which saves $$$. The rooms are quiet too, which is a major plus in Miami as the walls tend to be paper thin here and people like to party so you're bound to be up all night unless you choose your hotel carefully. If quiet is important to you, try to get an upstairs room not backing out onto the street. There's a fantastic souvlaki/felafel shop opposite if you are hungry and it's cheap. Pool area is okay, nothing to write home about. You are right in the midst of the expensive hotel row (Shore Club, Delano etc) and a ten minute walk to Lincoln road where there are loads of restaurants and shops. Right across the road from the beach too. It's long walk to Ocean Drive though. One word of warning, the hotel staff are hopeless and not interested in helping you. We had a package Fedexed to us and they lost it for five days, we were at the desk twice a day trying to sort out the problem. It was only when we said we were calling the police that it was finally located!! If you go in realizing the management is terrible and don't have any special requests, then you'll be fine. If you're after a more upmarket suite experience, try Z Ocean Hotel (Crown Plaza) up the road.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Dear CANYONMUM,

We would like to thank you for your sincere comments. Our suites are a one of a kind product, only bettered by their awesome location. I also noticed in your comment that there was an opportunity for better tracking of a package of yours at the desk, and for this I apologize. Nevertheless, I appreciate your sincerity and would like to let you know that we are trying our best to make the Suites of Dorchester the number one destination spot for those looking for larger accommodations, with all the amenities of a hotel, and superb service.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Dorchester is not a luxurious hotel but it is very cosy. The suite I stayed in was very big, with lots of storage and it was nice. Cons: the air conditioning was too noisy, there weren´t enough kitchen utensils. Pros: the location - it's very close to my favourite street for a drink or shopping which is Lincoln and not far from the famous Ocean Drive (I would have gone there more often if it weren´t for the stupid men with huge snakes around their bodies for a picture); the quick response of the staff to satisfy your needs and the service is very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Very nice hotel and lovely rooms...everything you would want for an overnight stay - we were going to a concert at the Jackie Gleason Theatre and it was only a 5 minute walk away...perfect!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

This is a nice Hotel to stay if you want to be close to the beach and the action. I went with my daughter and we felt safe. The room was big and clean, really quiet. We got a great friendly service from Carlos, he will give you all the information you need about the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#123 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#124 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
City Center
Sanctuary South Beach
Sanctuary South Beach
#107 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
San Juan Hotel
San Juan Hotel
#118 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#97 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites of Dorchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.