We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great vacation!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites of Dorchester

Save Saved
You added Suites of Dorchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suites of Dorchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was a great vacation!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

This is a nice Hotel to stay if you want to be close to the beach and the action. I went with my daughter and we felt safe. The room was big and clean, really quiet. We got a great friendly service from Carlos, he will give you all the information you need about the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    44
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
32
27
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I booked with the Marsielle Hotel through expedia but my reservation got switched the Dorchester without my knowledge. I arrived at the Marsielle and was told to go to the Dorchester. It was a one night stay so I would not have mind but I was not called or contacted to let me know. Very frustrating

The staff at the Dorchester was terrible as I was pointed in the wrong direction to my room twice. The room itself is very nice for the price. As you would expect, the walls are pretty thin considering year of construction.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

I just returned from a 4 day trip to South Beach Miami, where I stayed at the Dorchester Hotel. It was a wonderful stay. I have been to Miamii before, but didn't recall this hotel. It was a very nice surprise. It is in a great location and within walking distance to pretty much everything. It is across the street from the beach, but it wasn't a bother. The hotel was very nice and clean. The room was nice sized and the staff were very friendly. The pool was very warm and was a nice place to relax. There is a small lounge located on the property which has happy hour from 7-8 PM every evening. Drinks during that time were $1 each (small but worth the price). They offer a very nice breakfast but it is $14 per person. Overall, I was very pleased with our "find" and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

If you're not looking for luxury and would like to stay in the action for a reasonable price, this is the place.
Across the street from the beach and the nicest hotels (W, Ritz), clean, but modest, could benefit from modernization (I suppose it would cost much more then). Matress relatively comfortable, amenities in OK condition, old carpet in room, AC a bit noisy, windows open on street (no view, no bug screen). Staff polite. Breakfast for 15$ pp, too expensive, but so is everything in the area. We stayed at suite 164, benefited from full kitchen & made our own breakfast & lunches. They washed the dishes for us! Parking is limited, specially on fri/sat (could get a bit crazy and noisy). Plenty of overnight free street parking few blocks away, but have to pay during the day. Don't count on the spa, it was closed half the time & looked scary. Pool was nice area to relax.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Booked a terrific weekend rate on Expedia for Friday and Saturday nights (which also happened to be the ProBowl Weekend). Arrived from the Ft. Lauderdale airport at night with a rental car, but easy to find, right on Collins Avenue. Able to park at the property during our stay (advertised at $25 per night, they charged $20 per night, not sure why, but "thank you.") Very clean room, pergo-type floors. Two double beds, decent bathroom, flat screen TV on wall (reported that there was no remote for the TV at the front desk, we returned to our room to find that one had been delivered). Having the air conditioner on low-cool was not obnoxious, we were able to sleep fine. Across the street from all the beach hotels, at well over 50% discount on price (Setai was a half block north, the Ritz Carlton was 2-3 blocks south). This was not a fancy hotel like those, but a very good value and clean. Easy walk to Lincoln Road and all the outdoor restaurants. Nice pool, heated, could even swim laps. Don't bother with the happy hour drinks at their bar for $1.00 unless you like rum & coke or vodka & sprite! Would definitely consider staying here for a future South Beach visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Easy walk to Ocean Drive but a few blocks closer would not hurt. Very nice Front Desk Cuban Lady, Pool area great to chill after partying hard. Yes, they don’t mind as long as u don’t go crazy. A lot nicer outside, the inside needs renovation.. Specially the bathrooms. Beds are clean and very comfy. Safe atmosphere. If traveling in sets of 3 or more, suites are a great idea. Specially, for the price. If you can try to stay on Ocean Drive hotels or on the cheaper ones but down by 15th, 14th street and so on.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I have been to South Beach many times, but have found that the Dorchester Suites are a great hotel option. Huge rooms with plenty of space for all of our stuff. It is right in the middle of everything you want to do on South Beach. We loved the pool (right near the bar area) and it had easy beach access right across the street. Another perk is that the hotel is one of the few with on-site parking, so if you want to leave the South Beach area, it is not a hassle. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites of Dorchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.