We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet hide-away from craziness of South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites of Dorchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Suites of Dorchester to your Saves list
Suites of Dorchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“quiet hide-away from craziness of South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I 'm glad that I found this quaint suite off of Collins Av., so you are a bit of walk to Ocean Av and all of the art deco area - but are plenty of ART DECO bldgs nearby, just not part of the historic district...full kitchen though not much pots/pans if you are really into cooking meals..but microwave and full size fridge plus a stove suffice for us...roomy living room, not so comfy sofa, trendy decor..love headboard of bedroom, smaller closet and OK size bathroom, with tub.

very nice outdoor patio in front of hotel and hidden from street view. along with pool area - LOVE laying around on their 'exclusive FLOATING bed ' twice ! & people watched the hotel residents, mix of Europeans and Americans...had drinks late 1 night at the 'bar and bartender played music from his I-Phone that we requested ! - he was in tune with what ever music that the drinkers wanted...

meant the 'doorman' several times - even at the Dorchester's sister hotel across Collins to have beach access..you're given a business card - 2 lounge chairs+ 1 umbrella for beach use if you are Dorchester's residents...to be use on the beach, husband tipped ' beach staff a $5.00' and they are very aware of WHO ARE USING THE lounges and umbrellas - we were given wrist bands too.

parking added here at $30.00/day with in/out priv. and didn't have to wait for any valet ! seem reasonable for SoBe prices..never had a problem with the car parking, always had a space.

Room Tip: heard A/C but kept door close to bedroom and that helped, choose a suite , if you can afford it, mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    63
    26
    5
    9
See reviews for
40
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel, like many on South Beach are not as luxurious as the boutique hotels, however it is definitely worth your stay if you are looking for something cheap, reliable, and located in a central location.

The staff was extremely accommodating, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the pool area was accommodating. Really liked the bar and patio, but the best part of this hotel was it's location... especially during the WMC / Ultra week.

Have stayed twice now during Ultra, and the prices have been cheaper than most, and it is everything we would expect. Would recommend again.

Only complaint was that the AC wasn't working as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The rooms were recently renovated and all new, and stylish. Very efficient cleaning staff and helpful staff in general. However, Carlos was the one person who went out of his way to help explain something or attend to whatever you needed. He is a very welcome compliment to the Dorchester. My only complaint is that with such a commodity in these very small hotels, a pool is a great asset. The staff painted around the edges while we were there, but it needs to be cleaned thoroughly. Other than that, we had a great stay. I would recommend this hotel and Carlos to everyone looking to vacation in Miami Beach!

Room Tip: First floor room, and very little noise. We left the day many families were coming in, so at least w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I travel often and stay in many hotels. This is one of the worst hotel experiences that I have had. Let me begin by saying that the previous reviews on TripAdvisor and Expedia were positive. Perhaps this hotel is good for a spring breaker, but not for anyone over the age of 25. Please be aware of the following before booking your stay...
1. The walls are paper thin. I was able to hear every car and person talking outside my window.
2. Staff not helpful - The window in our room would not lock. Despite asking this to be fixed immediately, it was not. This was unsettling as there was a standing ledge below the window; therefore, we did not feel safe.
3. Pool Area - The pool and pool furniture was dirty. There were old tissues tucked in the chairs and trash that had not been cleaned up. There was no smell of chlorine from the pool either (SCARY).
Beds & Pillows - Do not expect a restful night.
Bathroom - Small and no place to even put your cosmetic bag.

Overall, this hotel was very old and dirty. For the price, you can find something MUCH better!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Do not stay here for the amount this hotel charges you can find much better locations close to beach and in the same locality. Staff were unhelpful and sultry and rooms dirty. Very basic indeed. Pictures they use to promote the hotel must have been taken a long time ago. The pool area is disgusting and dirty and we did not dare to step in! Never again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We rented 2 rooms here for a girls weekend. It was our second time staying here. The location is pretty good, about a 10 block walk to the Clevelander, about 3-4 blocks to the Lincoln Road mall and less than 2 blocks to the beach. For the $15/night resort fee, you get 2 free beach chairs ($20 value) and free wifi. The hotel has a nice enough pool with good lounge chairs and a bar with a nightly happy hour where they have a featured $1 drink. The rooms are pretty big, with a bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen and large living room with dining area. The kitchen is great because we can make our own breakfast and save some money, since South Beach is definitely not cheap. I like this place. It is old and a little worn, as most places in South Beach are, but overall, it is a good deal, and pretty clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about
your stay.

We are happy that you find our location to be great
while close to Lincoln Road and the Malls.

Hope you will stay with us again during you next
visit to Miami Beach.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hi All, I recently returned from the USA. Where I took my wife to Miami. After too much choice we choose the Dorchester suites.

This was a mistake.

We booked a queen bed room, we were given a room with two double beds. not very romantic. Fanny on the desk was rude and didn't care that we were on honey moon and told "Come back tomorrow and we can see what we can do" terrible attitude.

All the table and chairs in the public areas were not clean or have in my opinion ever been cleaned, especially the hammock.

For the ridiculous price tag of this hotel, you would expect a clean bathroom. Well avoid 314. You can not polish a turd. By putting a waterfall tap and square shower head does make up for the bath scum and dirty walls,

The pool, only chlorine made it safe, it was dirty and we never used it,

The gym, old and clearly had never been cleaned EVER!!!! and the air con was never on, so it took 1hr to cool the room before you could work out.

In summary poor staff, poor hygiene standards, over priced hotel, AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!

Room Tip: Another hotel anywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites of Dorchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.