We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edge of Art Deco Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites of Dorchester

Save Saved
You added Suites of Dorchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suites of Dorchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Edge of Art Deco Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Situated on the edge of the Art Deco area the Dorchester is within easy walking distance of Ocean Drive and the beach as well as nearby Lincoln Rd with its pedestrian district of shops and pavement restaurants. We stayed in one of the suites which are situated at the back of the hotel so relatively quiet. The apartment was very spacious with a small outside sitting area.
In the front of the hotel set back from Collins Ave is a pleasant courtyard area for relaxing/drinks /breakfast, with a reasonable sized swimming pool nearby. There is a Happy Hour everyday when a limited range of free drinks are available. The hotel also provides an umbrella and 2 chairs on the beach. Parking is expensive but that is true of the area generally.
The breakfast was average and the service poor mainly because one girl was expected to do virtually everything except the cooking! ( it was too much for one person.)
Overall we enjoyed our stay here and the location was good
.
BUT on checking out we signed and setled our bill in full, only for the hotel to take a further unauthorised charge from my credit card the next day after we had left!! I have emailed the hotel several times requesting details of this charge, but have failed to receive a response.
So Beware!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    44
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
32
27
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Having stayed at variious Miami Beach hotels (Sagamore and Alexander All Suites) I can safely say this is the best deal on Collins avenue. Clean spacious one-bedroom suites await travellers at a reasonable cost. With umbrellas and chairs included in our stay, I would have to say this is the best kept secret on the strip. Yes the drinks are overpriced but they do offer drinks for 1$ during happy hour....so get your good wine at Publix! It would have been nice a heated pool, but we weren't in Miami for that!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Very good location and comfortable rooms but everything was extra - parking, breakfast, etc. The staff were able but not necessarily amiable. The location however was very good and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRAMME
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This October we stayed for 6 nights at Suites of Dorchester, having the 18th birthday of our daughter at Miami Beach! It was the first time we had chosen this hotel. We came down from NYC and continued our trip at the Keys, the Gulf of Mexico and Orlando.
We've read carefully all the (often negative) critics of this location, but we got a very good deal concerning the price back home in a travel agency. In overall, everything was satisfying us, we had no complaints.

Location:
Dorchester Hotel & Suites of Dorchester are located at Collins Ave. between 18th & 19th Street, so you are on the beach in only 5 minutes. Shops and restaurants at Lincoln Road Mall or famous Ocean Drive are only a few blocks away (15 minutes walk). This is a perfect location in my opinion.

Rooms:
We had a suite with a large living room (with a queensized sofabed), a bedroom (w 2 queens), small bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and dining area. A lot of space for the 4 of us! It was even larger as we expected it in advance, it's more like an apartment. The suite was well maintained, had 2 flat TVs, charming decors, good toiletries and everything was very clean. Housekeeping was very good. Fridge/freezer in the kitchen seems to have a problem with cooling the food/drinks. The suites are situated in separate buildings in the rear of the whole object, so there was no disturbing noise to be heard during the nights either of Collins Ave or the bar area/backyard of the hotel.

Dining:
We had a breakfast in the hotel the first morning after our arrival. They have 4 to 6 items on the menu, and we had chosen the Start your day right breakfast. It was okay for us and the prices are moderate (when you come down from NYC it seems to be cheap). The next days, we had a quick breakfast in our suite, just to earn some bucks for the shopping activities ;-)).

Service:
The staff at the desk, the concierge and the other employees are all very kind and extremely helpful (e.g. special wishes concerning the 18th birthday of our daughter; some little issues with broken lights or the hairdryer). Wireless internet was possible throughout the location at no extra cost and the wifi had a good connection in our suite. We couls even print out our driving directions and some coupons in the lobby, where they have an internet corner w printer. And finally, we weren't charged with a resort fee. Nice bar and a large pool for a SoBe hotel.

Overall we would definitely recommend this place and personally would stay at Suites of Dorchester again when coming back to Miami Beach.

Room Tip: Suites are larger than rooms and have a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leipzig
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

cannot fault the stay apart from the wait for breakfast even though the place was empty and the quality of what was served

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Positives: Reception staff are friendly. The suites are huge, I would say one bedroom apartment would be a more accurate description. Two television sets one in the bedroom and one in the sitting room. All the areas in the suite were clean. The bathroom toiletries were nice. Microwave, fridge-freezer in the kitchen. Nice swimming pool. Resort fee that includes free wi-fi, two loungers and a parasol is good value for money. The signal for the wi-fi was good in the lobby area. One doesn't have to carry towels to the beach one can get them from their sister hotel on the beach front. Fantastic happy hour, bar staff were both friendly and efficient, drinks during the happy hour excellent value for money. Good quality air conditioning in the suite.

Negatives: The kitchen cupboards were of an okay quality but not fantastic. The air conditioning in the room was very noisy. One can manage to sleep but it takes some time to get used to it. The quality of customer care in the breakfast room varied from reasonably friendly to rude. If staff had a bad day they should not make that obvious. Some of the breakfast/kitchen staff did not hide the fact they were in bad humour. Hotel guests are there to have a good time and not to think oh god going to breakfast again. They would definetely benefit from customer care training. I would describe the quality of food on offer for breakfast as poor. The choice wasn't great and not what one would expect in an hotel where a lot of the guests are international tourists. I am not familiar with health and safety standards in the US but one of the days I asked one of the guys dishing out pancakes how could one know if the serving spoon for pancakes was not used for the burgers and his reply was that there was no way of knowing. In which case I asked if he could give me some pancakes or let me use the spoon he was using to dish them out and initially he looked at me as if I have asked for something out of this world but something in him must told him his reaction was not great and did proceed with my request. The gym is small. Parking is very expensive.

Room Tip: Have breakfast in your own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our trip to Miami was amazing and part of that had to do with the Dorchester hotel. I've read the reviews from people complaining about the staff being unfriendly or minor things wrong with the room but I didn't find this to be a problem during our stay. We stayed in the suites and found that they exceeded our expectations for the trip.

The pros:
Big, clean, spacious, newly renovated rooms that are apartment style. We were able to cook and buy some groceries to cut costs for the trip.
Friendly staff member - Alexis. He was awesome! So friendly and very helpful
Quiet rooms - we didn't hear anything from the other rooms and had no complaints despite making a ton of noise for the bachelorette weekend.
Beach chair vouchers from the sister hotel allowed us to get free chairs and an umbrella.
Happy hour!! Don't forget to tip!

The cons:
Our room was not cleaned after the first night but it didn't bother us. After the second night it was cleaned up.
Our second room wasn't ready when we checked in but again, it didn't bother us since we were able to put our things in one of the rooms and then head to the beach.

Overall, I would recommend staying in the suites to anyone visiting Miami. The 2 star rating isn't entirely called for. If you are uptight and a lot of things bother you then you might want to stay in one of the more expensive hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites of Dorchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.