We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conviniently located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites of Dorchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Suites of Dorchester to your Saves list
Suites of Dorchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Conviniently located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Positives: Reception staff are friendly. The suites are huge, I would say one bedroom apartment would be a more accurate description. Two television sets one in the bedroom and one in the sitting room. All the areas in the suite were clean. The bathroom toiletries were nice. Microwave, fridge-freezer in the kitchen. Nice swimming pool. Resort fee that includes free wi-fi, two loungers and a parasol is good value for money. The signal for the wi-fi was good in the lobby area. One doesn't have to carry towels to the beach one can get them from their sister hotel on the beach front. Fantastic happy hour, bar staff were both friendly and efficient, drinks during the happy hour excellent value for money. Good quality air conditioning in the suite.

Negatives: The kitchen cupboards were of an okay quality but not fantastic. The air conditioning in the room was very noisy. One can manage to sleep but it takes some time to get used to it. The quality of customer care in the breakfast room varied from reasonably friendly to rude. If staff had a bad day they should not make that obvious. Some of the breakfast/kitchen staff did not hide the fact they were in bad humour. Hotel guests are there to have a good time and not to think oh god going to breakfast again. They would definetely benefit from customer care training. I would describe the quality of food on offer for breakfast as poor. The choice wasn't great and not what one would expect in an hotel where a lot of the guests are international tourists. I am not familiar with health and safety standards in the US but one of the days I asked one of the guys dishing out pancakes how could one know if the serving spoon for pancakes was not used for the burgers and his reply was that there was no way of knowing. In which case I asked if he could give me some pancakes or let me use the spoon he was using to dish them out and initially he looked at me as if I have asked for something out of this world but something in him must told him his reaction was not great and did proceed with my request. The gym is small. Parking is very expensive.

Room Tip: Have breakfast in your own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
36
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our trip to Miami was amazing and part of that had to do with the Dorchester hotel. I've read the reviews from people complaining about the staff being unfriendly or minor things wrong with the room but I didn't find this to be a problem during our stay. We stayed in the suites and found that they exceeded our expectations for the trip.

The pros:
Big, clean, spacious, newly renovated rooms that are apartment style. We were able to cook and buy some groceries to cut costs for the trip.
Friendly staff member - Alexis. He was awesome! So friendly and very helpful
Quiet rooms - we didn't hear anything from the other rooms and had no complaints despite making a ton of noise for the bachelorette weekend.
Beach chair vouchers from the sister hotel allowed us to get free chairs and an umbrella.
Happy hour!! Don't forget to tip!

The cons:
Our room was not cleaned after the first night but it didn't bother us. After the second night it was cleaned up.
Our second room wasn't ready when we checked in but again, it didn't bother us since we were able to put our things in one of the rooms and then head to the beach.

Overall, I would recommend staying in the suites to anyone visiting Miami. The 2 star rating isn't entirely called for. If you are uptight and a lot of things bother you then you might want to stay in one of the more expensive hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We enjoy going to Southbeach a few times each year and were very pleased with our first stay at Suites of Dorchester. These Suites were obviously once apartments. They are spacious and comfortable. The plaster walls are a refreshing change from the typical paper thin hotel walls you typicaly find in SOBE. With a kitchen, dining area, living room, bedroom and a few flat screen TV's and couches you get all the comforts of home and then some. We were very pleased with the staff as well. Wewill be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed at the Dorchester Suites for 6 nights beach holiday. Loved Derek the doorman but the rest of the staff were really useless. What was really annoying was the fact we paid a daily service charge in our room rate, which included free chairs and umbrella on the beach, but no one told us and we spent $40 dollars on the beach on our 1st day. It was Derek who informed us we could use the sister hotel over the road which had access to the beach, a toilet and swimming pool, the reception staff here were really helpful.
The room was fine, very clean and large, this hotel is just an ok place to stay in south beach, if it's a beach holiday you want stay over the road!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011 via mobile

Best hotel I stayed in America. Spotless clean, very friendly staff, very good location. The room is big and great, the toilet sooo clean that even the shower curtain (which I usually hate And find it dirty) this time was so clean and white that I could use as a towel ;). Great outside area and the staff from the housekeepers to the front desk are great. Can't forget to mention the big pool and the free pass to get 2 chairs and a beach umbrella on the beach per day. Couldn't finish my trip to America in a best place!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

- Suite is beautiful - very charming with very comfy bed. Bathroom v. small with no place to put your toiletries. Very basic tub/shower.
- Location is excellent - can walk from here to popular spots.
- Parking: there are not enough spots for all of the guests so chances are, you will not get parking here. There is a garage on 16th and Lincoln that is not too expensive. It is misleading as they tell you parking is 'available' but don't mention anything about it being limited or that if you are lucky enough to get it, it will cost you almost $30 extra.
- Pool: pretty pool area but they charge you a 'resort fee' for using pool and other amenities such as beach chairs, etc. - why not just build it into the price instead of surprising guests upon arrival?
- Breakfast: excellent - lots of warm items as well as cereal, fruits, etc. - nicely done.
- advertise 'free drinks during happy hour' - the free drinks consist of rum and pepsi only and there is a $1 charge per drink. Yes, it's not a big deal, but just overall, it's nickle & diming guests and kinda cheap.

Overall, a charming, conveniently located place but very expensive and a turn-off that instead of just building items into the price, they charge you extra for this and that upon arrival. Not classy. But as long as you know ahead, you should be happy here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Ive visited Miami several times now and stayed at a different hotel each time. This was probably the best ever. I have more disposable income but still cant afford the ritz or lowes. So this hotel is a great way to feel rich and pay a decent price. The lobby an the rooms are modern. The room had a bathroom with a stand alone shower. Inside he actual room was a jacuzzi tub. The water stayed hot while filling the huge tub. So hot that it burned and we had to let it cool off. The shower never went cold either. The bed had soft comforters and were light and airy. Perfect for Miami heat (pun not intended lol). The mattress was very comfy There were two windows perfect for fresh air. The room had a desk and pull out sofa in it's own sitting area. So that made the room very spacious and large. There was plenty of space to maneuver. The only thing missing was a fridge and microwave. We wanted to bring leftovers back to the room but couldn't so we wasted a lot of food. It did have a flat screen with cable. Leaving from the lobby there's a garden with seating. Everyday there were people enjoying the shade with drinks. The bar is in the garden and offers happy hour from 7-8 free drinks. I just assumed they were rail but I never went inside to find out. Upon checkin they give you a voucher for a umbrella and two beach chairs for each night stay. You can get it at the marselles hotel on 17 hundred block of Collins. Not far at all. Very convient. As far as location it's close to some nice restaurants. Not far from the beach you just have to cross the street as it sits on the non beach side of Collins. The clubs are around 15 and Washington which is one block behind the hotel and 8 blocks down. In-between the numbered streets are Lincoln rd and espanola way so it makes you think it's only 5 blocks but there are those extra streets. You can also walk to the main shopping area on 5th and Collins but it's a long walk but doable. I did it but caught a cab back lol. Everything is close to this area and its very lively on this section of the strip.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear FELISHAGREENE,
Thank you for your sincere comments and for taking the time to explain to our readers all there is to do at the Suites of Dorchester. It makes us so happy when our guests enjoy our suites and Miami Beach. We hope to have you back soon.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites of Dorchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.