We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Paneras instead!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paul

Paul
450 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)
(305) 531-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 829 restaurants in Miami Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Center
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Go to Paneras instead!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Paul's was an ok place to get soup, salad, sandwich, or dessert. I was disappointed that it didn't measure up to Panera's. Food was edible but not worth writing about.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    72
    93
    40
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Don't speak French, but the waitress understood my request. The croque-Monsieur turkey, accompanied by their French onion soup was very delicious. DH had the FOC turkey melt with soup. We tasted each dessert with our eyes only as there was no room after such a hearty meal. Would go back just for the bread. The wait staff were very attentive. Thanks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great place for brunch or quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I love this spot! The food is freshly prepared - I think they make everything from scratch including their own tapenades and soups, and for the quality of food you get it's extremely reasonably priced - as you'd pay the same amount for fast food in south beach. This is a fantastic spot for a quick and convenient brunch or lunch and it's nice to sit outside on Lincoln Road. The french pastries are beautiful and delicious and so if you're just looking for a snack, this is also a great spot to stop into.

The only shortcoming is the table service. You order your meal at the counter and then they give you a number which you take out to your table - and somehow the staff always forget to bring you your cutlery, napkins or cream for your coffee and by the time you get this, your food is cold. I've eaten here multiple times throughout the last 7-8 years during my visits to South Beach and it happens every time without fail i.e. they bring my coffee but there's no spoon or no sugar on the table. Or they bring my dish, but there's no cutlery. The staff inside are great but the table service outside is really lacking and that is the one shortcoming. I guess it's the french way. The food is so good, I keep going back. Saumon Paillason is highly recommended, and any of their salads.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great spot to pick up pastries.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I went to Paul several times to pick up breakfast and take to hotel on Collins. Pastries were great. One night after dinner we stopped by and had desserts. Very good. Paul may not be the best bakery in SoBe but it is very convenient and huge selection. Nice servers.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I made my husband stop here after readng so many positive reviews on tripadvisor. We had a latte and an eclair. The eclair choux oastry was dense, heavy and chewy, the filling gelatinous and the icing sugary. We have some fantastic french patisseries in Australia and the food at Pauls did not come close. Very disappionting. If you are expecting quality french pastries...wait till you get back home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul also viewed

 

Been to Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.