We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments
Save
You added Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments to your Saves list
1500 Bay Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel amenities
brooklyn
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

Although the individual units are privately owned and rented (so I can't comment on that aspect), I can say that the building's location can't be beat! It's only a 5 minute walk from Lincoln Road-- a great place to spend an evening. The 2 pools are great, and the view toward Biscayne Bay and the Miami skyline is fantastic. When you get tired of the great pools, you can easily get to the world-famous Beach-- a 30 minute walk, or a 25-cent bus ride. The hotels and restaurants on Ocean Drive, the shops on Collins, and the clubs on Washington are all nearby. Don't forget to go to South Point Park on Saturday and Sunday evenings to watch the mammoth cruise ships sail by-- it's a great sight!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    8
    5
    21
See reviews for
20
16
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We stayed 9 days at the Flamingo on December 2008. The specific flat we stayed was #720S. It is a one bedroom, a living room with a kitchenette, and a gorgeous view of the bay and downtown. The condo had high speed internet, HD Cable TV on both the living room and the bedroom. The flat screens were large in each room, and there also was a DVD player. The condo also has a very nice balcony that faces West and hence the beautiful sunsets. The condo was clean and came with lots of towels! The Flamingo is situated very close to the inimitable Lincoln St. with its sidewalk cafes and numerous boutiques. Getting to the beach is a relatively short walk, or you can grab a taxi, as the distances in South Beach are very short, cab fare is very cheap. (Under $10 to most destinations).
The Flamingo complex has three large and very nice pools. Also has a gym for the complex. We rented the condo via a friend and the rates were very reasonable for South Beach, especially taking the pristine condition of the condo and the amenities of the Flamingo into account.

  • Liked — The view, and the immaculate condition of the condo.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

For our first trip to Miami, my girlfriend and I wanted to do it right. We booked a condo in the Flamingo through our agent for 5 nights. Not only did the unit (#720 in the South building) have EVERYTHING we needed from a stove, dvd player, HD television in the bedroom and the living room, iPod stereo player (iHome unit, I think), walk-in closet to loads of towels, but it had a very stylish decor to compliment a fantastic view of the Miami bay and downtown area. Unlike in a hotel, we were able to cook breakfast every morning to save some money for the incredible things Miami Beach has to offer. The complex was right next to all the shopping on Lincoln Ave., which is a nice promenade with tons of restaurants, shops and clubs. It is also close to the shopping district on Collins, South Beach, and the awesome hotels on North Beach. I wouldn't recommend a car if you stay at the Flamingo, cab rides are under $10 to any point on the island. Definitely go visit the Delano (a very cool hotel), Espanola Ave. (gorgeous little Spanish-style street with shops and eateries), and the Front Porch Cafe (green eggs!) in addition to the beach (which is breathtaking). There is also a laundry unit in the room, but for heavy loads and such I would use the on-site laundry. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go to the Flamingo again!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Since we did not book from the listed sites we have to tell you we booked from myflamingovacation.com
This is not a hotel it is privately owned condos at a much lower prices than hotels, better units 1 bedroom plus living room elegantly furnished, with free parking ( actually in S.Beach (SOBE) you dont need a car. It is a huge property with 2 huge pools that make the beach obsolete. Located in the best area af SOBE walking distance to all attractions, restaurants galore , shops to die for and people walking everywhere and having fun. We never seen so much action in any other travel experience- SOBE is the place ! The unit was clean with balcony to sit and enjoy the wine with amazing water view. Every amenity including 42 inch flat TVs broadband cable internet, ipod player, ...........name it. No more hotels, from now on it will be FLAMINGO South Beach. The people around are all very nice the pools have a lot of "show" and with some visits to the beach we decided we prefer the pools. Taxis in front and all over SOBE ready to take you anywhere at much lower prices than N.York or LA. Local busses with 25 Cents !
Myflamingovacation.com responds very promptly the same day by email and by phone giving you all the accurate information. We are talking service and efficiency .

  • Liked — The unit interior , the views , the common grounds and pools, the atmosphere, walking everywhere the siper amenities, the PRICE !
  • Disliked — Thje size of the property requires walks from one end to the other but , it is fun, you meet people.Also although it is some walk to the beach but first the pools are better and also cheap taxis take you in 5 minutes
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments

Address: 1500 Bay Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo South Beach Resort is a luxury apartment complex that is illuminated at night, providing a captivating outline of what is Miami Beach's premiere urban residential address. Located on Biscayne Bay in the fashionable South Beach district of Miami Beach, on the intersection of 15th Street and Bay Road, this premium location offers residents commanding Atlantic Ocean and Bay waterfront views, and an exceptional view of the downtown Miami skyline. The Flamingo has two brand new infinity pools, one with waterfalls, two hot tubs, private sandy beach and BBQ areas. Both pool decks with food and beverage services and a tiki bar. 2 blocks from Lincoln Road Mall, grocery shopping, gourmet dinning and stunning nightlife. 3 blocks from Miami Beach Convention Center and the Jackie Gleason Center. Guests enjoy 24-hour valet service (just $18/day! most hotels charge $35 and up) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamingo South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.