We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments
1500 Bay Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This is not a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Please be careful when considering a short-term stay at the Flamingo! This is against the law and the fines are steep.
The Flamingo is a wonderful place to live, if you are looking for at least a one year lease. The newly completed South pool is spectacular and having the restaurant, store, drycleaners and dog groomers right there on the grounds makes it all so easy.
If you are a mature, honest renter, you will have no problems with management.

Room Tip: Find a true hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    7
    5
    16
See reviews for
19
15
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had so much fun! The complex is awesome! We were a big group (6 people) and didn't want to get two expensive hotels rooms. This was the perfect solution. The penthouse was spacious, clean, balcony has a beautiful view, and is perfectly located. The complex has a big pool, hot tub, and is walking distance from Lincoln road and a cute street called Espanola Way, with a bunch of spanish restaurants (Havanas 1957 has delicious authentic Cuban food!). Ocean Road and the Beach are walking distance, too or a short $5 cab ride. We spoke with Ryan and his assistance throughout the stay, they were both responsive and helpful. Ryan called the week before the trip to verify check in times and make sure we were excited! I definitely would recommend We Own South Beach and I think I want to try We Own Vegas next!

Room Tip: We were able to check in early and check out late, which really let us optimize or time in Miami!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

WORST PLACE TO LIVE! They nickel and dime you to death. I ve lived here off and on for 5 years and here are the cold hard facts about the Flamingo. They will Nickel & dime you to death. The policies are always changing and they notify you always 1 day before the new change. They WILL TAKE 90% of your deposit. I ve always left my place 100% perfect, paid for carpet shampooing etc. and they ALWAYS take your deposit. google AIMCO security deposit, or AIMCO ripoffreport to read for yourself. Most apartments have mold problems, You can smell the mold in the hallways, and all the vents have block mold spores all over them. I also got pretty sick the past year, and I think this is to blame. They charge $200 per car if you want to park there, They charge you for bs insurance each month, they now charge for water, $1000 non refundable pet deposit plus $600 extra in rent per dog per year. They have NO guest parking anywhere so if your friend stops by they have to pay high prices for valet. One day late on rent is $200 late fee. If you lose your Flamingo card yup that s $150, The buildings gym is not free either, it s $150 to sign up and $50 per month extra. It s also always very loud, in the hallways, and outside, the paper thin walls and hallow doors don t help either. If you live in the front all you hear all day and night is the gate slamming shut and taxi drivers honking and yelling, seriously allllll day and night. The fire alarm going off in the whole building once every week too. My rent for a 2 bedroom was $2,100/mo when my lease was up they raised my rent to $2600 per mo. if I wanted to renew. Every year you extend your lease your rent sky rockets because they think now they got you, you d think they d want to keep you right...nope. The South pool has been closed for a year, and everyone says that the south tower is sinking. There s all construction machines all over the place after the company went bankrupt. They once lost my check and then charged me $200 that THEY lost it. They also now do not accept checks you have to sign up for auto pay. That is the only method they allow to pay rent. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT MOVE HERE! I only wish I read a review like this before I moved there.This place is nothing but con artists and scammers, always out to get a buck from you. Flamingo charged me to replace the sinks and cabinets in my apartment, (which i left in perfect condition. Odd thing is that flamingo maintenance came in 2 months before i left to measure them because they said they were going to upgrade the bathrooms, so essentially Flamingo is charging their old tenants when they leave to upgrade their old 80 s style bathrooms, nice huh? and one more note. Flamingo gives you a new broiling pan when you move in... if you use it don t leave them a brand new pan when you vacate, they will charge you $80-$100 for this stupid $10 pan that they make you think they gave it to you for free, so if you leave, go out and buy a new pan to leave them. Once again horrible building to live and and huge miss management going on over there, I would avoid at ALL costs!

Room Tip: Flamingo Southbeach is not even a hotel, it is an apartment. The city law is that it is illegal to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Sorry for the prior bad reviews... Perhaps it was the particular building? I had a great stay. Location was good, gated parking, mini grocery and liquor store inside of the complex. The rooms were nice and spacious (best to get a room on a higher floor). Clean and not crowded hot tubs and pool. You do your own cleaning. has a big kitchen, with everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

WORST PLACE TO LIVE! They nickel and dime you to death. I've lived here off and on for 5 years and here are the cold hard facts about the Flamingo. They will Nickel & dime you to death. The policies are always changing and they notify you always 1 day before the new change. They WILL TAKE 90% of your deposit. I've always left my place 100% perfect, paid for carpet shampooing etc. and they ALWAYS take your deposit. Most apartments have mold problems, You can smell the mold in the hallways, and all the vents have block mold spores all over them. I also got pretty sick the past year, and I think this is to blame. They charge $200 per car if you want to park there, They charge you for bs insurance each month, they now charge for water, $1000 non refundable pet deposit plus $600 extra in rent per dog per year. They have NO guest parking anywhere so if your friend stops by they have to pay high prices for valet. One day late on rent is $200 late fee. If you lose your Flamingo card yup that's $150, The buildings gym is not free either, it's $150 to sign up and $50 per month extra. It's also always very loud, in the hallways, and outside, the paper thin walls and hallow doors don't help either. If you live in the front all you hear all day and night is the gate slamming shut and taxi drivers honking and yelling, seriously allllll day and night. The fire alarm going off in the whole building once every week too. My rent for a 2 bedroom was $2,100/mo when my lease was up they raised my rent to $2600 per mo. if I wanted to renew. Every year you extend your lease your rent sky rockets because they think now they got you, you'd think they'd want to keep you right...nope. The South pool has been closed for a year, and everyone says that the south tower is sinking. There's all construction machines all over the place after the company went bankrupt. They once lost my check and then charged me $200 that THEY lost it. They also now do not accept checks you have to sign up for auto pay. That is the only method they allow to pay rent. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT MOVE HERE! I only wish I read a review like this before I moved there.This place is nothing but con artists and scammers, always out to get a buck from you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Hi

Just wonfering if anyone has anyone rented an appartment through Feel Miami- Calico Penthouse 3? If so please get in touch!

Many thanks

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This place does a great job of marketing itself as the ideal place to live in south beach. Great looking amenities, friendly sales staff, amazing views. Do not be fooled. The place is filthy. There is dog feces everywhere and the place is plagued with fleas. If you have a dog they will be infected within a few days and you'll find yourself stressing over the well-being of your pets and spending 100s of dollars on medication that barely works since there are so many of them. Save the trouble, save your money for a better place. You do not want to live here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments

Also Known As:
Flamingo South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Flamingo South Beach Hotel
Address: 1500 Bay Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments to your Saves list