We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GO HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive

Save Saved
You added Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's really too bad that whomever owns this place refuses to make it habitable! It COULD BE ok, if they would only maintain it, fix it up a little, and hire actual PEOPLE to run the place!
When we arrived, the first thing to go wrong was the tiolet. The handle fell off while trying to flush
it. Then, when we tried to flush it manually, the whole thing broke. "Too bad." Then we asked for some TOWELS, received 1 for two people, and were told that they didn't have any more! Then there was the mattress issue - springs in your back all night, and a giant screw sticking out, which actually stabbed my in the leg as I tried to get up! (BIG bruise!) The elevator didn't work, so you had to drag your luggage up the stairs - no help there! The restaurant is nothing more than a giant hustle. The food is awful, and I've seen dog kennels that looked more appealing!
The only thing going for this place is the location... and I'll just leave it at that!

Room Tip: Be prepared to climb the stairs, and bring a sleeping bag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    8
    48
See reviews for
5
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully we didn't stay in the hotel, but we did have the misfortune of stopping for dinner, drawn in by the 2for 1 specials on drinks and the special meal of the day we decided to have dinner here!

Cocktail was big but we were refused our free cocktail as apparently the reason is big is because both your cocktails are in one glass! $25 dollars for one cocktail was a shock! The special Fillet mignon and lobster ail was disgusting, the fillet was more like mutton tough fatty and tasteless, the lobster was disgusting and and anything but fresh, we also had a pizza which was clearly just a frozen pizza cooked very poorly maybe $2 worth not $15 and it certainly wasn't homemade or fresh as the menu promised.

From the second they had you seated the staff were uncaring rude and hostile, the table was wobbly the chairs uncomfortable and I had the feeling I was being ripped off from the moment we sat down, though the hostility of the staff made me feel unable to get up and leave!

Never eat or stay here, this terrible meal and experience cost us $98 for a bad steak and lobster a pizza 1 beer and 1 cocktail truly the worst experience I have had anywhere in the world by a long way!

This place needs shutting down! If I could have given no stars or minus stars I would!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I haven't stayed in the hotel, but judging by the reviews, it sounds a lot like the hotel's restaurant, the Sea Cafe.

Worse scam ever. How can a restaurant advertise lunch specials for $10-25 a plate, and then verbally offer a special that isn't on the menu but happens to cost 10x as much! We were billed over $200 for a single beer and a single seafood "special".

Why haven't the cops shut this place down? This is a classic bait and switch scam.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not a great hotel, let me get that out of the way...but it is ON the Ocean, cheap, and convenient. My room was newly (cheaply) redone, bed was clean, fresh towels were there, TV worked, everything you need in a hotel room. Location is great, if a bit loud. It is by no means clean or luxury or amazing, but for an affordable place to crash for a couple of nights, not too bad.

Room Tip: In the back! Away from the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

hands down the WORST hotel i eva stayed at it was filthy smelled awful! mold and mildew in the bath tub, dirty towels in the room, no wash towels i asked house keeper for hand towels and she told me they didn't have any! WOW! comforters were dirty ! i pulled out the dresser and it was loaded with trash and other things i don't care to mention! cut believe expedia even has this hotel on there page! BEWARE!

Room Tip: its the worst hotel since the bates motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

there was pubic hair on our towels so we took them to the front desk. after we came back from dinner we were supposed to get new towels. They gave us these new towels which were the same towels!!! they didn't even take the pubic hair off of the towels!!! besides that, these were hotels rooms of a dirty crack house. i would rather sleep on the beach! thanks for the bad stay and no refund!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel is located at 740 Ocean Drive between 7th and 8th Streets... right in the middle of the main action on Ocean Drive and directly across the street from the beach.
Perhaps our expectations are not as high as other reviewers, but we did not find this hotel to be that aweful. It is true that our hotel room was extremely sparce (small T.V. on a tiny stand -- no remote available / nowhere to sit our bags -- no dresser or chest of drawers, just a tiny nightstand with two small drawers / only one set of bath towels --- had to ask for more)
Although the hotel itself is old and some parts of the room show its age, on the positive side, we did not see any dirt or bugs. The air conditioner was great and really put out the cold air, which we needed as we were here in the height of summer heat. The bathroom was clean and the carpet, bed, etc. were also clean. Several mirrors in the room so I could put on makeup while hubby was in the bathroom.The front desk clerk and the maid were both very friendly and helpful. Surrounding hotels were at least $50 to $100 more per night. Everything in South Beach is way overpriced and expensive, so unless you plan to spend a lot of time in your room (we didn't), this hotel is worth the savings. We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: All restaurants right around this area of south beach are way expensive. Try to find other places t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive

Address: 740 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#102 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.