We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GO HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive to your Saves list
Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's really too bad that whomever owns this place refuses to make it habitable! It COULD BE ok, if they would only maintain it, fix it up a little, and hire actual PEOPLE to run the place!
When we arrived, the first thing to go wrong was the tiolet. The handle fell off while trying to flush
it. Then, when we tried to flush it manually, the whole thing broke. "Too bad." Then we asked for some TOWELS, received 1 for two people, and were told that they didn't have any more! Then there was the mattress issue - springs in your back all night, and a giant screw sticking out, which actually stabbed my in the leg as I tried to get up! (BIG bruise!) The elevator didn't work, so you had to drag your luggage up the stairs - no help there! The restaurant is nothing more than a giant hustle. The food is awful, and I've seen dog kennels that looked more appealing!
The only thing going for this place is the location... and I'll just leave it at that!

Room Tip: Be prepared to climb the stairs, and bring a sleeping bag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasadalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully we didn't stay in the hotel, but we did have the misfortune of stopping for dinner, drawn in by the 2for 1 specials on drinks and the special meal of the day we decided to have dinner here!

Cocktail was big but we were refused our free cocktail as apparently the reason is big is because both your cocktails are in one glass! $25 dollars for one cocktail was a shock! The special Fillet mignon and lobster ail was disgusting, the fillet was more like mutton tough fatty and tasteless, the lobster was disgusting and and anything but fresh, we also had a pizza which was clearly just a frozen pizza cooked very poorly maybe $2 worth not $15 and it certainly wasn't homemade or fresh as the menu promised.

From the second they had you seated the staff were uncaring rude and hostile, the table was wobbly the chairs uncomfortable and I had the feeling I was being ripped off from the moment we sat down, though the hostility of the staff made me feel unable to get up and leave!

Never eat or stay here, this terrible meal and experience cost us $98 for a bad steak and lobster a pizza 1 beer and 1 cocktail truly the worst experience I have had anywhere in the world by a long way!

This place needs shutting down! If I could have given no stars or minus stars I would!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevski220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I haven't stayed in the hotel, but judging by the reviews, it sounds a lot like the hotel's restaurant, the Sea Cafe.

Worse scam ever. How can a restaurant advertise lunch specials for $10-25 a plate, and then verbally offer a special that isn't on the menu but happens to cost 10x as much! We were billed over $200 for a single beer and a single seafood "special".

Why haven't the cops shut this place down? This is a classic bait and switch scam.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odeydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not a great hotel, let me get that out of the way...but it is ON the Ocean, cheap, and convenient. My room was newly (cheaply) redone, bed was clean, fresh towels were there, TV worked, everything you need in a hotel room. Location is great, if a bit loud. It is by no means clean or luxury or amazing, but for an affordable place to crash for a couple of nights, not too bad.

Room Tip: In the back! Away from the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

hands down the WORST hotel i eva stayed at it was filthy smelled awful! mold and mildew in the bath tub, dirty towels in the room, no wash towels i asked house keeper for hand towels and she told me they didn't have any! WOW! comforters were dirty ! i pulled out the dresser and it was loaded with trash and other things i don't care to mention! cut believe expedia even has this hotel on there page! BEWARE!

Room Tip: its the worst hotel since the bates motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walnt2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

there was pubic hair on our towels so we took them to the front desk. after we came back from dinner we were supposed to get new towels. They gave us these new towels which were the same towels!!! they didn't even take the pubic hair off of the towels!!! besides that, these were hotels rooms of a dirty crack house. i would rather sleep on the beach! thanks for the bad stay and no refund!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel is located at 740 Ocean Drive between 7th and 8th Streets... right in the middle of the main action on Ocean Drive and directly across the street from the beach.
Perhaps our expectations are not as high as other reviewers, but we did not find this hotel to be that aweful. It is true that our hotel room was extremely sparce (small T.V. on a tiny stand -- no remote available / nowhere to sit our bags -- no dresser or chest of drawers, just a tiny nightstand with two small drawers / only one set of bath towels --- had to ask for more)
Although the hotel itself is old and some parts of the room show its age, on the positive side, we did not see any dirt or bugs. The air conditioner was great and really put out the cold air, which we needed as we were here in the height of summer heat. The bathroom was clean and the carpet, bed, etc. were also clean. Several mirrors in the room so I could put on makeup while hubby was in the bathroom.The front desk clerk and the maid were both very friendly and helpful. Surrounding hotels were at least $50 to $100 more per night. Everything in South Beach is way overpriced and expensive, so unless you plan to spend a lot of time in your room (we didn't), this hotel is worth the savings. We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: All restaurants right around this area of south beach are way expensive. Try to find other places t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockdrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#153 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#169 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#158 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#105 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive

Address: 740 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing