We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A HOTEL BUT A ROACH MOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive to your Saves list
Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT A HOTEL BUT A ROACH MOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

hands down the WORST hotel i eva stayed at it was filthy smelled awful! mold and mildew in the bath tub, dirty towels in the room, no wash towels i asked house keeper for hand towels and she told me they didn't have any! WOW! comforters were dirty ! i pulled out the dresser and it was loaded with trash and other things i don't care to mention! cut believe expedia even has this hotel on there page! BEWARE!

Room Tip: its the worst hotel since the bates motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    11
    12
    62
See reviews for
9
31
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

there was pubic hair on our towels so we took them to the front desk. after we came back from dinner we were supposed to get new towels. They gave us these new towels which were the same towels!!! they didn't even take the pubic hair off of the towels!!! besides that, these were hotels rooms of a dirty crack house. i would rather sleep on the beach! thanks for the bad stay and no refund!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel is located at 740 Ocean Drive between 7th and 8th Streets... right in the middle of the main action on Ocean Drive and directly across the street from the beach.
Perhaps our expectations are not as high as other reviewers, but we did not find this hotel to be that aweful. It is true that our hotel room was extremely sparce (small T.V. on a tiny stand -- no remote available / nowhere to sit our bags -- no dresser or chest of drawers, just a tiny nightstand with two small drawers / only one set of bath towels --- had to ask for more)
Although the hotel itself is old and some parts of the room show its age, on the positive side, we did not see any dirt or bugs. The air conditioner was great and really put out the cold air, which we needed as we were here in the height of summer heat. The bathroom was clean and the carpet, bed, etc. were also clean. Several mirrors in the room so I could put on makeup while hubby was in the bathroom.The front desk clerk and the maid were both very friendly and helpful. Surrounding hotels were at least $50 to $100 more per night. Everything in South Beach is way overpriced and expensive, so unless you plan to spend a lot of time in your room (we didn't), this hotel is worth the savings. We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: All restaurants right around this area of south beach are way expensive. Try to find other places t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

OMG do not go there! This hotel is really the worse hotel I ever been!
Do not trust the photos on their website; they are absolutely not representative of the reality. The room was tiny, dirty, the air conditioning was very noisy and the carpet was disgusting.
The first morning we found insects in the bathroom and under our mattress. We asked to change room right away. The second room was not better but as we had to pay in advance we unfortunately did not have extra money to change hotel. The towels were disgusting; they were stained and I found hairs of a previous person in it.
Our last night was certainly the worst as we found a big cockroach in the bathroom. I was terrified to saw this insect as it means that the hotel is really dirty.
Furthermore, the parking valet service was expensive, 20 dollars per day. There are some cheaper services at the next hotel (half the price). And if you want to park your car after 12pm, you will definitely have to wait at least 40 minutes...
The only good points in this hotel? It is on Ocean drive, in front of the beach. The restaurant located at the hotel entrance is nice and staff friendly.
For sure I will never never never go back there again!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, don't choose any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

If u are looking for a really cheap hotel on south beach this is the place.however there is a catch.service is bad,rooms are ridiculous awful,it is not clean. It's however right on south beach strip.the only good thing

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A filthy, run down sorry excuse for a hotel!!!! We paid for the room but did not stay in it....found a better one down the street and checked out asap! How disgusting.
Dirty handprints on the out-dated headboard and the wall above the bed. The room smelled like it had not been cleaned in years! I didn't even want to put my luggage on the OLD and worn down carpet. DO NOT believe the pictures on-line.......rooms are nothing like that. Old, dirty, worn out, run down, noisy and smelly. I think that says it all. There is so much more to choose from in South Beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Elevator smells like sewage. Hotel had severe water damage. 5th floor has no stairwell exit (except for the trap door hidden by a curtain in the room) Elevator stopped working and I had to take the "trap door" stairwell which was wet, smoggy, chunks of the ceiling was on the floor, and also smelled like sewage. The room was decent looking however the maid did not clean or remove garbage everyday. Service was horrible! Once the get your money, they can care less about your experience. If you do stay here, make sure its a big room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#156 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#103 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#101 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#143 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
#157 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive

Address: 740 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#103 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.