We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a Great vacation at this hotel for one week!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Majestic Hotel South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It was a Great vacation at this hotel for one week!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were staying one week at this hotel and we had a wonderful time! Great location! Close to everything what do you need! The building is not new, but clean. Very good fresh smell inside the lobby, corridor and in the room (our room was on 3rd floor, double bedroom). Very comfortable beds, natural linen bedsheets. A coffee maker help us to feel more comfortable every morning :). The elevator works perfect! No insects, flys or Mosquitos. Everyday fresh bathtowels, beach towels, cleanroom service. The reception service working 24hrs! Michelle, receptionist, very polite and professional lady, she always smile and ready to help with any question. We have NO complains at all! It is a not luxury hotel, it is a great place to stay for reasonable price and have a good time, fun and enjoy your vacation.
Only one bothering things - WiFi Internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Yulia Altas M,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I'm so glad to hear that we were able to meet or exceed your expectations on so many counts. As for your suggestion regarding our WiFi connection, I'm happy to announce that we will be making some adjustments in order to improve the system. All of us here at the Majestic Hotel South Beach are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    72
    80
    55
    83
See reviews for
43
116
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

3 of us (adults) stayed at The Majestic Aug 27-Sept 01, 2013 in POV room. The windows were so filthy that you couldn't look out them unless you opened them. The rug in the room and throughout the place was filthy and stained. The bathroom was atrocious. The shower curtain/liner was full of black mold/mildew and ripped. Long hairs and dust everywhere. The shower was a trip too! It was nary a trickle when on and then it went from normal temp to SCALDING HOT in a matter of seconds on it's own! NOT FUN! The beach towels provided daily were all thread bare. Looked like the room hadn't been vacuumed/cleaned in weeks. Painted walls/doors stained and dirty.YUCK! Housekeeping was horrid. Never enough towels for the 3 of us. The beds looked like a 5 yr. old kid made them up daily. Just threw the covers back over the bed and that's it. No Mattress covers on the bed either. Thank God, no bed bugs! Daily coffee in room was sporadic. Had to ask front desk a few times for it. A/C worked fine. Then there were the RESTAURANT HAWKER GIRLS downstairs on the sidewalk trying to get you to come eat at the hotel's restaurant (which we didn't).They would see us MANY times per day and HOUND us to come eat/drink there. UGH! Get's a little old after awhile. I must say that the FRONT DESK persons that we dealt with over the 5 days were very nice/helpful for the most part. The location is the ONLY thing that this place has going for it.Right on Ocean Dr. across from the beach/action. I would not stay here again in the future. This could be a great little place with some TLC. Sorry guys.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
JADJR1163,

Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to my attention. Ideally, I would like to have had an opportunity to address these concerns while you were here. Nevertheless, I assure that your input is greatly appreciated and every effort is being made to insure the highest satisfaction of each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The room has NO view! the walls are very thin, we could hear someone talking in the other room (yikes!). The hotel has no bell boy so we had to carry all 3 bags by our self. The remote control was not working, it took almost 45 minutes for them to come and change the battery. At midnight the remote was not working again! We cannot close the door of the toilet if we don't stand right at the back of it, yes that is how small it is! Only the location of the hotel is great and that's about it.

Room Tip: There are NO good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Vini_D,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to learn about your overall dissatisfaction with our accommodations. It is possible that if you're booking our least expensive room, it will have no view, however if you call the hotel directly you may be able to get an upgrade if one is available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

From the beginning, we were attended by a friendly and knowledgable man named Al. This was our first time being in Miami. So he gave us a lot of info on great sites and things to do during our stay. The rooms were not bad at all. I must say they were pretty clean, i did not see one roach or any type of insect. Although they did have that used furniture look, that didnt bother us as long as we had a descent place to sleep after a long day :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Javier R,

Thank you so much for your 4 star review! I'm happy to hear that Al was able to be so instrumental in making your first trip to Miami a great one. We look forward to seeing you again, so please call directly if we can be of help planning your next trip to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Traveled with my boyfriend to south beach for a few days. If your looking for a hotel where you can shower and sleep, this is the place. Majestic is not a hotel for people who is looking for lavish and style. It's average with the proper amenities. Overall i don't have any complaints. Friendly staff, nice room, clean bed, nice TV, bathroom kinda small but oh well as long as i could shower lol. Shower head could of been better. Location is the main feature. Beach is right across the street, everything is within walking distance. Watch out for the $12.50 a day "resort fee" Includes: beach towels, wireless internet, coffee, water etc. and the $150 refundable incidentals. Residents who stay at Majestic get a percentage off lunch at the hotel. Overall i would definitely stay here again because of the location, convenience and price.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a corner room that's facing 7th sheet. Kinda get noisy with the people walking by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Lysh F,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate our local guests very much and are always very happy to welcome you back. If you call the hotel directly next time you're booking, we'll make sure you get the room location you prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If looking for a high end hotel this is not for you .But the location was PERFECT for the art deco district of South Beach. We were travelling on a budget so even better. Fun to sit on porch/restaurant for a drink and food to visit and people watch. The hotel staff is ok weight staff great. I would come back here again. After returned from Key West stayed further up Ocean Dr with a place with a pool. Liked this location best but the amenities of the other hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Colleen D,

Thank you for your 4 star review! It's very nice to hear that you preferred our accommodations over another, although I'm sorry to hear that the hotel staff was out-shined by the wait staff. I'm hopeful that on your next visit, our hotel staff can exceed your expectations as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

1) $12.50 Resort Fee. Benefit=Fresh Beach Towel every day.
2) First Night=Paid for room with view. To see ocean a) Stick head out of window b) Turn to right.
3) First Night=Return to room at 3:30 A.M. from partying....neighbors next door argue with each other is spanish until 5:00 A.M. Walls are paper thin.
4) Second Day=Remote control turned TV on but didn't change the channels.
5) Second Day=Returned to room but key did not unlock door.
6) Second Day=No Fresh Beach Towel upon returning to room that we were locked out of. Found new remote control on bed.
7) Third Day=Bathroom light flickers but did not stay on. Had to use closet to put on makeup.
8) Third Day=Returned to room but key did not unlock door. Walked down 3 flights of stairs. No attendant at front desk. Couple before us had been waiting for attendant for 1 hour.
9) Third Day=After getting new key from reception...Bathroom light works but no fresh Beach Towels (resort fee)
10) Third Night (LAST NIGHT) 11:00 P.M. Relaxed in PJ's enjoying glass of wine...what's that I hear ooooh that's the FIRE ALARM! Grab Back Pack put clothes over PJ's go outside to see if the building burns down.
11) Third Night (LAST NIGHT) 11:20 P.M. Fire Alarm turned off and allowed to return to room.
12) Forth Day=6:00 A.M. LEAVING! Get dressed lug suite cases to elevator....what's that? Oh a sign on elevator stating "Out of Order". Lug suite cases down 3 awkward flights of stairs.

Furniture was raggedy! Torn patches on bench located beneath desk.

Yes, location was awesome but I will never stay at this hotel EVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Listen to your gut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel South Beach

Address: 660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Majestic Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.