We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In desperate need of renovations and new sheets!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Majestic Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com HotelTravel.com
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Hotel South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“In desperate need of renovations and new sheets!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I most definitely would not recommend staying here, unless you don't mind sleeping on a bed with dirty and overly used comforters. Everything about the room needed to be replaced or cleaned. The only upside to this hotel was the location, it was within walking distance to everything. The comforters on the beds were stained and obviously never replaced or washed. I had complained to management about this and I was comped breakfast for one day and they were replaced with a not much cleaner and dingy version of the last comforter!!! Appalling that they are running a hotel this way!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    72
    77
    52
    70
See reviews for
37
109
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked well in advance so the room was a great price for the location! Right on Ocean, its a minute walk to the beach and they provide beach towels which was great when your carry-on is pretty packed to begin with [balling on a budget!]. The hotel itself was older but it had everything you needed. The elevator was small and slow but it worked. The beds are hard, which I prefer, and the pillows were very comfortable. The hairdryer worked pretty well for one of the wall mounted dryers. Yes, the bathroom and room are small but who spends that much time in the room when you're in Miami?? The shower pressure was barely a dribble and the sink stopper broke. We didn't bother calling the front desk so we Macguyver-ed a bobbypin to prop open the stopper. Also, there was a metal bar sticking out from the bed frame that my friend kept running into because of its location. We tried to move the mattress around but the metal bar wasn't budging.

I read on several reviews that their staff was rude but I didn't have that problem at all. I called a few days before our check-in to request our group to be together and they delivered. They held our bags in their office while we waited for our rooms to be ready and they called us to check-in early at noon (reg check in is 3pm). If you're nice to them, they'll be nice to you. :)

The restaurant attached to the hotel was ok. I had the tex wrap which was good but expensive ($16 for a small wrap and a small portion of shoestring fries). My friend had the curry chicken and she said it tasted like Lysol. With the 20% it was still pretty expensive but thats what you get for people watching and dining right next to the beach. I would definitely stay here again but would eat everywhere else.

Room Tip: Dont expect an over the top place. Its a standard hotel room where you can sleep and walk to great n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Rooms have good size, Price is ok, service is no good, they have 20 percent off on their restaurant if you are a hotel guest but still expensive, food is not worth the price, location is really good. Overall stay is not so good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights in May in an Ocean Front room and despite reading some bad reviews beforehand, we were relieved to find that our experience of the Majestic hotel was an enjoyable one. It was in a great location on Ocean Drive, ideal for sitting with a drink and people watching. We found the staff helpful and were always dealt with promptly. We were offered the Valet Parking service for $27 per night which we accepted as parking on the street is almost impossible! The room (including the bathroom and bedding) was very clean. Unlike some other guest reviews we personally had no problems with the water, electricity, WiFi or elevator during our stay. Although not the cheapest option in South Beach, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

There are some complaints about the majestic hotel. If you are looking for 5 star than this is not for you . It's basically the same type of hotel in the strip . No need to find a pricey hotel , your in the main strip. It serves it's purpose , it has a bed and a shower. Not the cleanest however it does the job . Breakfast is above average. I did not eat any dinner there so I cannot comment on it. It's a no frills hotel but more
Importantly in the heart of south beach. I would stay here again . I would recommend if your just looking for a place to stay, it's affordable. If you want to get pampered go else where. The staff is ok, not overy friendly but not rude either. I would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If your looking for a hotel with a great location then this is your place. The front desk staff was helpful. Room service was good also... But the food from the restaurant was HORRIBLE, don't waste your money!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stopped for 2 drinks in happy hour- ordered 2 glasses of chardonnay at $9 each, got bill for $25 for poor chardy, and tips- wine not on happy hour rates, but not told and sign at entrance did not say either- BEWARE!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Majestic Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel South Beach

Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Miami Beach
Address: 660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel South Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Majestic Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.