We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was expecting the worst and it actually wasn't half bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Majestic Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Hotel South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Was expecting the worst and it actually wasn't half bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'm not going to lie, I was completely freaked out re: staying here after reading the reviews but purchased a flight/hotel deal and didn't want to get charged for changing it so close to my arrival date. I was fully expecting a roach motel but it wasn't. Don't get me wrong, it's not the 4 Seasons but it's livable. I stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and loved the location. You're literally across the street from the beach. My room was relatively clean but not glamorous. I didn't hear the noise other ppl were complaining about, but maybe I just lucked out on my room. The bed was comfortable and the cleaning ladies were attentive. There was a leak in the ceiling when it rained the last day and we were immediately moved to another room and profusely apologized to. All in all, I'd say you can't beat the price and honestly if you're in South Beach, the bulk of your time should not be spent in your room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    72
    75
    55
    80
See reviews for
42
114
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is horrible! The place is sooooo dated and it looks like it hasn't been updated in 20 years. As you walk to your room you can smell the scent of marjunia. The carpeting was so gross I won't walk on it barefoot, the electricity went out every time we used a blow dryer , we had either scolding hot water or ice cold water, when you tun on air your allergies go crazy because there is so much dust in vents, the keys to room just won work, and wifi which them claim they have hell no! When we requested a refund to go somewhere else they offered us free breakfast which after making the mistake of eating there the first day I won't let my dog stay there. The only good thing bout this hotel is the location but its not worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
foxymifflin- I am sorry to hear about your and your friends experience, The Majestic was recently renovated in January 2013, the rooms are definitely smaller that most hotels due to the fact Majestic is a historic art deco building. Most all properties in South Beach are historic and offer the same room sizes, I would suggest future accommodations in Downtown Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3/21-25/13, shabby shabby, dirty blanket covered by semi clean duvet, bath tub chipped paint revealing formerly green surface, 2 full sized beds in room allows for you to take three steps to get to all areas of room. Small bench under small scratched desk, faux leather top ripped and soiled from age and no maintenance. very low water shower pressure unpleasant shower, wifi worked average of 10 minutes per day, I can go on and on.....never again. although i paid a lot of money to stay there, i would not stay again even if it were free.

Room Tip: dont stay at Majestic or Starlite on Ocean Dr South beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
t n- I am sorry to hear about your and your friends experience, The Majestic was recently renovated and all of our bedding is new and is laundered daily, the rooms are definitely smaller that most hotels due to the fact Majestic is a historic art deco building. Most all properties in South Beach are historic and offer the same room sizes, I would suggest future accommodations in Downtown Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The pictures on the Internet make u believe its a nice hotel but in actuality the rooms are very small, it's no counter space in the bathroom, & no wifi! Whoever renovated the place did a terrible job I could see where they painted over chipped paint. It's to expensive for the money I paid I should have been in a 5 star hotel. But I realizeI paid for location it's in a very convenient area it's in the midst off everything. However, I must say that Wanda went above & beyond to accommodate my friends & I. She upgraded our room to give us a little more room and we were given food vouchers for 2 days for the restaurant connected to the hotel. She is awesome she does everything in her power to make your stay as comfortable as possible!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Domininque- Thank you for your review and compliments to our staff. The Majestic was recently renovated in January 2013, the rooms are definitely smaller that most hotels due to the fact Majestic is a historic art deco building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is a tourist trap from the minute you arrive. When we pulled up we were advised that there was only valet parking @ $27.00 per night...and by valet, I mean give your vehicle to teh the attendant and hope it actually gets parked and returned(in one piece). No outside help retrieveing bags only to give the parking receipt and leave.
The hotel is tied and in need of a serious overhaul. No it's not art deco, or cute, it's a dump with a capital D. Ai paid $175.00 a night. Stayed one night, thankfully! Rooms are small and not well cleaned or care for. The mattresses look to be 5-7 years old, broken in and squishy? The set up of the room does not flow. The bathroom is small and outdated. Well...everything is outdated. Oh..and you have to walk steps u( no elevator that i saw or was advised of). When we checked in there wa no one at the desk for a good 15 minutes(only one person working the entire front area, which is in the Ocean 7 restaurant (sucks and expensive..see my review). When we checked out I was told that since I prepaid that i could just leave ..that I didn't need to go to the desk to do so. When I called for my folio the next day i discovered that they had charged me for a "broken plug" on a lamp. The funny part neither of the two lamps in the room worked. Sad attempt by the hotel to pad the bill. This place should be avoided at all costs. The only redeeming quality is the location and a few staff members who cleared up the bill mess. Matt was gracious in waiving the charge and returned my phone call albeit 5 days after i initially called. Wanda should be commended, for she is the best and brightest thing going for this property. She called me, called me back, forwarded messages and called me back even on her day off to find a solution to my problem. P.S. Don't be fooled by the english speaking operator on the telephone prompts It's not good! Oh and i found a dirty sock and a used razor on the floor when we checked in. Dump...

Room Tip: No tips can help this property..raze it?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of the fun but that is bad when it comes to trying to sleep, forget a lie in the bin men woke us on a Sunday morning at 8am emptying the skip right outside the window! The room had no lamps which is weird -only the big main light with the switch by the door. And there were no surfaces in the bathroom to put out your toiletries except the top of the toilet. So overall it's great to be right on the beach in amongst the party people and restaurants but the little annoyances ruined it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Jaffalady- Thank you for your review, Were glad you enjoyed the hotel and the location but unfortunately with the location does come some noise from the Ocean Drive, we'll take your comments into consideration when ordering new lighting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed 3 days and 2 nights at the Majestic Hotel. Once we began settling in and getting ready for a night out we noticed the following:

1.) The hair dryer in the bathroom did not work
2.) The sink was backing up with water not allowing it to go down.
3.) The toilet was not flushing properly

Early sunday morning around 4:00am we were asleep and the bed broke! We were completed startled. When we investigated around the bed, we notice the wood was taped.
This bed was broke and someone tried to easy fix it!!!!! It was already late and we were restless so we slept as is. I am disgusted and embarrassed for this hotel. To top it off we got stuck in the elevator coming from the beach. NEVER AGAIN WILL WE STAY IN SUCH A HOTEL!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
ABell26- Thank you for your review, while we hope to address all of our guests concerns while at the hotel, on the last night of a 3 night stay when unexplainably the bed frame collapses at 4am we are only able to try to make the situation right. As we discussed there was no evidence that the bed frame was defective and as an attempt to correct the situation a refund was issued and a return stay was offered for a future date that was accepted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel South Beach

Address: 660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel South Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.