We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Majestic Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Hotel South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Not what I expected!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The pictures on the Internet make u believe its a nice hotel but in actuality the rooms are very small, it's no counter space in the bathroom, & no wifi! Whoever renovated the place did a terrible job I could see where they painted over chipped paint. It's to expensive for the money I paid I should have been in a 5 star hotel. But I realizeI paid for location it's in a very convenient area it's in the midst off everything. However, I must say that Wanda went above & beyond to accommodate my friends & I. She upgraded our room to give us a little more room and we were given food vouchers for 2 days for the restaurant connected to the hotel. She is awesome she does everything in her power to make your stay as comfortable as possible!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Domininque- Thank you for your review and compliments to our staff. The Majestic was recently renovated in January 2013, the rooms are definitely smaller that most hotels due to the fact Majestic is a historic art deco building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    71
    72
    55
    74
See reviews for
40
112
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is a tourist trap from the minute you arrive. When we pulled up we were advised that there was only valet parking @ $27.00 per night...and by valet, I mean give your vehicle to teh the attendant and hope it actually gets parked and returned(in one piece). No outside help retrieveing bags only to give the parking receipt and leave.
The hotel is tied and in need of a serious overhaul. No it's not art deco, or cute, it's a dump with a capital D. Ai paid $175.00 a night. Stayed one night, thankfully! Rooms are small and not well cleaned or care for. The mattresses look to be 5-7 years old, broken in and squishy? The set up of the room does not flow. The bathroom is small and outdated. Well...everything is outdated. Oh..and you have to walk steps u( no elevator that i saw or was advised of). When we checked in there wa no one at the desk for a good 15 minutes(only one person working the entire front area, which is in the Ocean 7 restaurant (sucks and expensive..see my review). When we checked out I was told that since I prepaid that i could just leave ..that I didn't need to go to the desk to do so. When I called for my folio the next day i discovered that they had charged me for a "broken plug" on a lamp. The funny part neither of the two lamps in the room worked. Sad attempt by the hotel to pad the bill. This place should be avoided at all costs. The only redeeming quality is the location and a few staff members who cleared up the bill mess. Matt was gracious in waiving the charge and returned my phone call albeit 5 days after i initially called. Wanda should be commended, for she is the best and brightest thing going for this property. She called me, called me back, forwarded messages and called me back even on her day off to find a solution to my problem. P.S. Don't be fooled by the english speaking operator on the telephone prompts It's not good! Oh and i found a dirty sock and a used razor on the floor when we checked in. Dump...

Room Tip: No tips can help this property..raze it?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of the fun but that is bad when it comes to trying to sleep, forget a lie in the bin men woke us on a Sunday morning at 8am emptying the skip right outside the window! The room had no lamps which is weird -only the big main light with the switch by the door. And there were no surfaces in the bathroom to put out your toiletries except the top of the toilet. So overall it's great to be right on the beach in amongst the party people and restaurants but the little annoyances ruined it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Jaffalady- Thank you for your review, Were glad you enjoyed the hotel and the location but unfortunately with the location does come some noise from the Ocean Drive, we'll take your comments into consideration when ordering new lighting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed 3 days and 2 nights at the Majestic Hotel. Once we began settling in and getting ready for a night out we noticed the following:

1.) The hair dryer in the bathroom did not work
2.) The sink was backing up with water not allowing it to go down.
3.) The toilet was not flushing properly

Early sunday morning around 4:00am we were asleep and the bed broke! We were completed startled. When we investigated around the bed, we notice the wood was taped.
This bed was broke and someone tried to easy fix it!!!!! It was already late and we were restless so we slept as is. I am disgusted and embarrassed for this hotel. To top it off we got stuck in the elevator coming from the beach. NEVER AGAIN WILL WE STAY IN SUCH A HOTEL!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
ABell26- Thank you for your review, while we hope to address all of our guests concerns while at the hotel, on the last night of a 3 night stay when unexplainably the bed frame collapses at 4am we are only able to try to make the situation right. As we discussed there was no evidence that the bed frame was defective and as an attempt to correct the situation a refund was issued and a return stay was offered for a future date that was accepted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevallo, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, we were a tap worried but the place has an AMESOME location and the room was clean. Granted this is not the Hyatt Grand but looking out the window on Ocean street and seeing the beach has some trade offs. Rm 251. We stayed with our two teens for the BCS game and had a great time, The staff was very nice and helpful with directions, etc. We saved $7/day by parking at the city parking deck one block away on 7th and Collins. Great trip. RTR

Room Tip: Only three rooms on each floor face the beach....rm 251 is a double queen that faces the beach,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
megawisdumb- Thank you for the Great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

3 star rating? That is a bald faced lie. The place is the equivalent to a pay by the hour hooker motel. The location is great right off the beach.This fact does not come even close to make up for the filth of the rugs through the entire "hotel",the endless noise of the restaurant blaring bass and dj through a cheap mic,the paper thin walls to hear the guests in the other rooms and hair all over the towels and sheets. AVOID at all costs. We only stayed one night and I couldn't wait to leave. Repeat,the location does not make up for the filth and anger you will feel when you hand over your money to stay in this rat trap. Shame on this place.Lastly,the only reason for the one star is the location off the beach. You will not see the beach from your room however,you will see a dirty,narrow, loud alleyway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our stay in South Beach was awesome....Took in a Heat game, the beach (record high temps) and the night life. The Majestic was a great place for us since it's location is in the heart of the Art Deco district and right across from the beach. The staff was amazing! Awanda who worked the afternoon/evening shift is such a blessing. She was extremely friendly(as all the staff was), helpful and just a joy to be around. Parking in all of South Beach is an issue so we chose to use the valet service provided by the Majestic. None of us, including you, like to pay for parking, but we found that the cost for the valet service was only slightly higher than what you would pay in a parking deck a few blocks away so we chose the valet service. All we had to do was ask for our car 20-30 minutes in advance. The 4 times we called for our car we never once had to wait for it. When we got downstairs the car was always parked right in front.
As far as our room goes and the feel for the Hotel in general, I would compare it to the more expensive hostels found in Europe. The rooms are not overly large but are clean and tastefully decorated.
Some things to know - there is a resort fee of $12.50 per day that is added that you will not know about unless you read your reservation document. We were aware of it, but I know others have posted they did not know about it. Another item to be aware of is that every place we drank and dined at in South Beach had a 17% gratuity added to the bill, no matter the size of our party.
The only thing preventing me from giving the Majestic a 5 rating it the fact that there are renovations taking place at the Hotel. Although we did not hear any noise from it, the first floor hallway, that can be seen the moment you walk in, is full of furniture, old carpet and renovation items. It is very unsightly. If I had a suggestion, it would be that they put up a false wall to hide all the work. Other than that, WE WILL BE BACK, hopefully soon. Thank you to the entire Majestic team!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
crhodesnc- Thank you for the great review, our renovation is complete please come back and see our new rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Majestic Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel South Beach

Address: 660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel South Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Majestic Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.