We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGRACEFUL” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Majestic Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Majestic Hotel South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
“DISGRACEFUL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed 3 days and 2 nights at the Majestic Hotel. Once we began settling in and getting ready for a night out we noticed the following:

1.) The hair dryer in the bathroom did not work
2.) The sink was backing up with water not allowing it to go down.
3.) The toilet was not flushing properly

Early sunday morning around 4:00am we were asleep and the bed broke! We were completed startled. When we investigated around the bed, we notice the wood was taped.
This bed was broke and someone tried to easy fix it!!!!! It was already late and we were restless so we slept as is. I am disgusted and embarrassed for this hotel. To top it off we got stuck in the elevator coming from the beach. NEVER AGAIN WILL WE STAY IN SUCH A HOTEL!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
ABell26- Thank you for your review, while we hope to address all of our guests concerns while at the hotel, on the last night of a 3 night stay when unexplainably the bed frame collapses at 4am we are only able to try to make the situation right. As we discussed there was no evidence that the bed frame was defective and as an attempt to correct the situation a refund was issued and a return stay was offered for a future date that was accepted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    76
    81
    58
    75
See reviews for
38
111
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevallo, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, we were a tap worried but the place has an AMESOME location and the room was clean. Granted this is not the Hyatt Grand but looking out the window on Ocean street and seeing the beach has some trade offs. Rm 251. We stayed with our two teens for the BCS game and had a great time, The staff was very nice and helpful with directions, etc. We saved $7/day by parking at the city parking deck one block away on 7th and Collins. Great trip. RTR

Room Tip: Only three rooms on each floor face the beach....rm 251 is a double queen that faces the beach,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
megawisdumb- Thank you for the Great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

3 star rating? That is a bald faced lie. The place is the equivalent to a pay by the hour hooker motel. The location is great right off the beach.This fact does not come even close to make up for the filth of the rugs through the entire "hotel",the endless noise of the restaurant blaring bass and dj through a cheap mic,the paper thin walls to hear the guests in the other rooms and hair all over the towels and sheets. AVOID at all costs. We only stayed one night and I couldn't wait to leave. Repeat,the location does not make up for the filth and anger you will feel when you hand over your money to stay in this rat trap. Shame on this place.Lastly,the only reason for the one star is the location off the beach. You will not see the beach from your room however,you will see a dirty,narrow, loud alleyway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our stay in South Beach was awesome....Took in a Heat game, the beach (record high temps) and the night life. The Majestic was a great place for us since it's location is in the heart of the Art Deco district and right across from the beach. The staff was amazing! Awanda who worked the afternoon/evening shift is such a blessing. She was extremely friendly(as all the staff was), helpful and just a joy to be around. Parking in all of South Beach is an issue so we chose to use the valet service provided by the Majestic. None of us, including you, like to pay for parking, but we found that the cost for the valet service was only slightly higher than what you would pay in a parking deck a few blocks away so we chose the valet service. All we had to do was ask for our car 20-30 minutes in advance. The 4 times we called for our car we never once had to wait for it. When we got downstairs the car was always parked right in front.
As far as our room goes and the feel for the Hotel in general, I would compare it to the more expensive hostels found in Europe. The rooms are not overly large but are clean and tastefully decorated.
Some things to know - there is a resort fee of $12.50 per day that is added that you will not know about unless you read your reservation document. We were aware of it, but I know others have posted they did not know about it. Another item to be aware of is that every place we drank and dined at in South Beach had a 17% gratuity added to the bill, no matter the size of our party.
The only thing preventing me from giving the Majestic a 5 rating it the fact that there are renovations taking place at the Hotel. Although we did not hear any noise from it, the first floor hallway, that can be seen the moment you walk in, is full of furniture, old carpet and renovation items. It is very unsightly. If I had a suggestion, it would be that they put up a false wall to hide all the work. Other than that, WE WILL BE BACK, hopefully soon. Thank you to the entire Majestic team!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
crhodesnc- Thank you for the great review, our renovation is complete please come back and see our new rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spectacular view, spectacular location, in the heart of the south beach. My wife and I just go downstairs go to the beach (across the street) during the day time and walk around the street during the night time. This hotel had a live music in the restaurant downstairs. Parking is a problem in entire south beach but we parked it for three days and didn’t require car at all. Rooms were okay (like old/historic Miami style) but that is what we were looking for, a good Miami style stay. And on top of that they gave us exceptional services. Front desk lady – Ms. Wanda and the general manager of the property were so nice, they made my stay even better with their good welcome. I had a wonderful stay there.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are renovated! ask for those. You might have to compromise on the view, but rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Majestic is in a great location and is not a great hotel but it's adequate. You will probably be nervous walking to your room but when we opened the door we were relieved as the room was adequate and clean. The front desk staff weren't all that friendly but they were not rude. One thing that was annoying, every time we came and went from the hotel we were approached by the people in the restaurant in the hotel approached us and gave us a hard sell to eat there. They would offer various discounts and give us their cards with their names and phone numbers. I am not sure if they worked for commission but they acted that way. This place is really noisy on a Saturday night and 4am Sunday morning when the bars close.

There is a public parking garage 1 block away that is less expensive than the valet.

I was pretty surprised that they charged us $12.50/ day resort fee because it is certainly not any kind of resort. The only thing I could see you get for the $12.50 is 2 bottles of water and beach towels /day.

It is and adequate and reasonably priced place if you have a reason to be in South Beach for a long weekend. I wouldn't go there to hang out at the hotel because it is not a resort.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face 7th street because it is noisy on the weekend. Use the public parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel was exactly what we expected for the price. It was nothing special, but it was in a great location on Ocean Drive, sirectly across the street from the Beach. We stayed there for one night and I woudl definately stay again for a night or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Best Value, Poo...
Show More
0.7 mi away
The Carlton South Beach
The Carlton South Beach
#144 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Beach Paradise Hotel
Beach Paradise Hotel
#174 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#93 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Restaur...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#146 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.6 mi away
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Restaurant, Qui...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#85 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel South Beach

Address: 660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel South Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Majestic Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.