We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of heaven in the everglades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coopertown Airboats

Coopertown Airboats
22700 S.W. 8th Street, PO Box 940176, Miami, FL 33194
3052266048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 182 Activities in Miami
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Our professional airboat guides will take you on a personalized, educational airboat tour covering approximately 9 miles of this unique environment. We first go into the vast open saw grass where you will see why the Everglades are called the "River of Grass"! You will travel by Airboat through a Hardwood Hammock (a small island of solid ground in the "river of grass"), into the Everglades National Park stopping at alligator holes and seeing the abundance of 'glades wildlife. See the Purple Gallanule voted the most colorful bird in Florida and the endangered Everglade Snail Kite as well as herons, grackles, turtles, raccoons and other Everglades residents! The Everglades are a truly unique and vibrant environment which you can only experience first hand! Unless you brought your hip waders, a private airboat tour is the best way to see it! (And much drier, too!) After this fascinating and educational airboat tour, relax and enjoy a taste of 'Down Home' cooking, Everglades-style. The Coopertown Restaurant offers such delicacies as frog legs, 'gator tail, catfish and more! All served in a friendly country manner that is distinctly "Floridian". "Belly up" to the bar and meet the folks of Coopertown! Learn some of the fascinating history of the area, and check out the guest book to see who else has passed through and enjoyed a ride on a Coopertown Airboat! Take a closer look at these fascinating creatures in our Alligator Exhibit! What a cute little guy! Popular enough to have a college mascot named for it! A ride on an airboat is the best way to Check out the rest of the gator population in Coopertown
miami, fl
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Little bit of heaven in the everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was a cool Christmas eve morning and we were the first people out on the boat with the guide. The scenery is just beautiful being on a expanse of land with little else for the eye to see except for the everglades of birds, alligators and "George" blue heron to take all in. A must see if your from South Florida or just here visiting. Only place in the world to see this ecology of nature.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    96
    28
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't pass this up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We booked a 1 hour private tour for our family reunion group of 15. We were all able to go on one airboat. It was fantastic and well worth the money! 10 out of 10. We wanted something close to Miami as we were going on a cruise the next day. The tour guide was very informative and friendly. Even saw 4 alligators and got to hold a baby alligator at the end of the tour. If you're on the fence about this, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A must for all visitors to south Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I visited Coopertown Airboats after researching the net before our visit to the USA.
This was our first day after arriving in the morning and collecting a hire car.
We found it very easy as it is located on a main road (The 41 - Tamiami Trail) with plenty of parking. We did not have to wait long for our boat trip and we did not know what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of all staff, especially our air boat driver
Dan who handed us cotton buds for our ears to dampen to noise of the Airboat Engine) as it made a great deal of noise.
The incredible ride in took approx 40 minutes during which time we glided over the Everglades Grass at high speeds, swaying from side to side and then into narrow channels where we saw several turtles and alligators and the tamest brightly coloured birds I have ever seen. They landed on Dan’s gloved hand and ate bread from his hand.
Our group were very friendly and we had a great laugh at Dan’s expense as he was very friendly and funny. He was very informative as we stopped regularly to explain more about the Everglades and its flora, fauna and wildlife
Time flew by and we soon returned to where we started, where we were shown a baby alligator, which we were able to hold.
Brilliant Value for money $20 for a 40 minute amazing journey.
Well done Dan and Coopertown Airboats a truly amazing experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good airboat ride, easy accessible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

In the Everglades you can't miss an airboat ride. We went to Coopertown airboats (close to Miami), which was booked in advance. Otherwise we probably would have choosen a company in Everglades city, where we stayed the night before. Coopertown is located on the Tiamiami Trial: the road going straight through the Everglades from Miami to Naples. There's enough parking and we didn't have to wait long before the next airboat left. The airboats make a lot of noise, so the provided us with cotton balls for our ears. The airboat ride in total takes about 40 minutes. We had a nice little group in the boat and we stopped regularly, so the guide could explain more about the Everglades and the animals and plant in it. We saw some nice birds(including one beautiful colorred rare bird), giant turtels and 2 alligators. We expected to see a bit more alligators. In the morning we were near Everglades city and there are lots of alligators there. I guess in this part of the Everglades, there aren't that many. At the end of the tours, you could hold a baby alligator (Gucci), that was held in captivity. I thought that was a bit too touristy, but my kids (4 and almost 6) loved that they could touch a real alligator. My kids love the airboatride a lot, especially the oldest one.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guided airboat ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The guide explained things well - time whizzed by. I originally didn't want to make the drive out but SO happy that I did! Worth the trip. We even landed on one of the islands, saw several alligators. Incredible! Don't miss this

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coopertown Airboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coopertown Airboats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.