We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home style Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soya & Pomodoro

Soya & Pomodoro
120 NE 1st St, Miami, FL 33132-2502 (Downtown)
305-381-9511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 3,447 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Home style Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This little restaurant is tucked away in a building that crumbles around it but is steeped in history and deserves a really good look at before you start on the wine! I loved the washing line strung across the ceiling, the whole atmosphere is like street theatre with mismatched chairs and tables all adding to the home style ambience. The owner is warm, friendly and cooks with flair and passion. Everything is fresh, tasty and delicious. Well worth finding this little gem!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A touch of Italy in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My friend who lives in Miami took me to this place just around the corner from her Condo. It was fantastic. Eclectic setting with a mix of old Italy & art deco. Food was wonderful; house green salad w/ shaved Parmesan curls & a light tasty dressing. I followed w/ a pasta of fresh clams & orriechette; nicely seasoned & cooked to perfection. Service was gracious & the wine by the glass good & reasonably priced. It I lived in Miami, I would probably dine here once a week. Definitely on my "to go" list when I return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

No only is the atmosphere fantastic, the service superb, the food is AMAZING!
The eggplant appetizer...superb. the salads all amazing as are the cheese plates. Once you get to the main course, the home made pastas are to die for. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George's, Grenada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“my every time stop in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

It is like coming home. I come to this great place since about 4 years on every trip to Miami. The all know me by now.They know what I want to drink and my preferred food. the food, - is delicious.
It is like sitting in Italy, noisy, comfortable, enjoyable good. It you like Italy life style. You must go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place in Downtown Miami. Do not miss it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of our friends invited us for a Saturday get together at Soya&Pomodoro. She assured we’d love the place and she was not wrong at all. We arrived around 830 or 845, the place was dim lit and they had some super cool music playing. 9 pm live music was promised on line, so we were expectant. As we walked in, the smell or roasted peppers coming out of the kitchen was just captivating. The place is sandwiched between two buildings, seems like it was a hall way or something, not sure but it gives you the old world feel that many time South Florida lacks. The décor was cool, unpretentious mix of everything. We spent a good three and a half hours there and could have spent three more hours… The live music was super cool… They charge $4 for the band to your check, I had understood reading on the place’s web site it’d be $4 per person but it was $4 per table, as tip for the musician, which I think is not bad at all… And plus, the guy playing the guitar was super! So, no complaints at all!!
The food was very, very good. We had an appetizer special (burrata) that was very, very good… Their ciabatta bread was one of the best we have tasted in South Fla (if you live in Fort Lauderadle, try Las Olas “Gran Forno” bakery… Theirs is really, really good. At $5 a large loaf is worth the trip!!! But back to Soya+Pomodoro!!). My wife ordered from the “secondi piatti” menu their “sfoglia di melezne” (ok, I must sound super snob, but hey! I am happy now knowing this place) which was amazing!!! Our friend and I ordered their night special which was also an eggplant dish, only this was their home made raviolis which were also very good, a little al dente for my taste but not off putting at all! We had their pinot grigio at the table and then some glasses while chilling in one of their couches…. All was amazing! I am sure that you will love this place. It is a true bohemian, not stuck up, super friendly place that we will keep on visiting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soya & Pomodoro also viewed

 

Been to Soya & Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soya & Pomodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.