We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of Italy in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soya & Pomodoro

Soya & Pomodoro
120 NE 1st St, Miami, FL 33132-2502 (Downtown)
305-381-9511
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 3,621 restaurants in Miami
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A touch of Italy in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My friend who lives in Miami took me to this place just around the corner from her Condo. It was fantastic. Eclectic setting with a mix of old Italy & art deco. Food was wonderful; house green salad w/ shaved Parmesan curls & a light tasty dressing. I followed w/ a pasta of fresh clams & orriechette; nicely seasoned & cooked to perfection. Service was gracious & the wine by the glass good & reasonably priced. It I lived in Miami, I would probably dine here once a week. Definitely on my "to go" list when I return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    30
    12
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

No only is the atmosphere fantastic, the service superb, the food is AMAZING!
The eggplant appetizer...superb. the salads all amazing as are the cheese plates. Once you get to the main course, the home made pastas are to die for. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George's, Grenada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“my every time stop in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

It is like coming home. I come to this great place since about 4 years on every trip to Miami. The all know me by now.They know what I want to drink and my preferred food. the food, - is delicious.
It is like sitting in Italy, noisy, comfortable, enjoyable good. It you like Italy life style. You must go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place in Downtown Miami. Do not miss it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of our friends invited us for a Saturday get together at Soya&Pomodoro. She assured we’d love the place and she was not wrong at all. We arrived around 830 or 845, the place was dim lit and they had some super cool music playing. 9 pm live music was promised on line, so we were expectant. As we walked in, the smell or roasted peppers coming out of the kitchen was just captivating. The place is sandwiched between two buildings, seems like it was a hall way or something, not sure but it gives you the old world feel that many time South Florida lacks. The décor was cool, unpretentious mix of everything. We spent a good three and a half hours there and could have spent three more hours… The live music was super cool… They charge $4 for the band to your check, I had understood reading on the place’s web site it’d be $4 per person but it was $4 per table, as tip for the musician, which I think is not bad at all… And plus, the guy playing the guitar was super! So, no complaints at all!!
The food was very, very good. We had an appetizer special (burrata) that was very, very good… Their ciabatta bread was one of the best we have tasted in South Fla (if you live in Fort Lauderadle, try Las Olas “Gran Forno” bakery… Theirs is really, really good. At $5 a large loaf is worth the trip!!! But back to Soya+Pomodoro!!). My wife ordered from the “secondi piatti” menu their “sfoglia di melezne” (ok, I must sound super snob, but hey! I am happy now knowing this place) which was amazing!!! Our friend and I ordered their night special which was also an eggplant dish, only this was their home made raviolis which were also very good, a little al dente for my taste but not off putting at all! We had their pinot grigio at the table and then some glasses while chilling in one of their couches…. All was amazing! I am sure that you will love this place. It is a true bohemian, not stuck up, super friendly place that we will keep on visiting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Italian Restaurant hidden in downtown Miami. Excellent wait staff, excellent food, specials of the day. Today's special was trout with Italian potatoes and salad, it looked excellent. I had ravioli, handmade pasta, with walnut cream sauce. Absolutely excellent. Open 12 noon to 4 pm and then on Thursday/Friday/Saturday also open at 6 pm - 10 pm. This restaurant is a street over from Macy's and near the Seybold Building. Casual dining; fairly priced - meaning affordable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soya & Pomodoro also viewed

 

Been to Soya & Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soya & Pomodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.