We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tent Camp here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larry and Penny Thompson Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larry and Penny Thompson Park
Save Saved
You added Larry and Penny Thompson Park to your Saves list
12451 Southwest 184 Street, Miami, FL 33177   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tent Camp here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stay here! We tented it for 6 nights in January for $16.95/night with tax. (I think there maximum in a month is 7 nights for tent campers) Everything about the stay was fantastic! No electric at the campsites BUT they have this awesome community center that is open from 9AM to 10PM everyday that has outlets, a huge TV with Direct TV, bathrooms, water fountains, a book shelf, a coffee maker if you have coffee. We spent at least some time in here everyday. Well worth the $16 with all the amenities of the community center. A lot of RV campers here, that it seemed like they stay for an extended period of time, they have events in the community center daily at varying times. Bingo, arts and crafts and such. They all like to talk and play card games at night that is for sure! The staff was always friendly in the office, make sure to check in by 5PM, that is when the office closes for the night. There always seems to be a ranger driving around, checking up on things. If you get there later than 5PM we saw the Ranger check in a couple people. The camping is primitive and basically camp wherever you want in a field. On the weekends it got busy, boy scouts al over the place when we were there. No worries about wild life as far as what we saw, some cats wandering around that is about it. They have plenty of bathroom facilities, maybe 6 on the whole campground. We always walked to one a little further away where the RV's were located rather than the tent site one. They seemed a little more well kept, with actual doors in on the shower area. The city that surrounds the campground looks to be a little sketchy, bars on all the windows of the houses and such. We never really found out if it was a great area or not but once your in the campground with all the people around I didn't once feel uncomfortable. Over all we will be back when we are back to South FL.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at Larry Penny Campground for 1 night in an RV.

Link: http://www.miamidade.gov/parks/parks/larry_penny.asp

This place is run of the mill - no privacy, you park your RV next to another one - the restrooms are decent but outdated and hot showers are available.

The RV camp is a mix of long term renters and one-nighter's like us and given a choice we would want to find another campground closer to Miami.

The only saving grace is its close to a bus route(#137) and the price - It's about $35 per night and considering the high cost of hotels in Miami, this is a good bargain!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time over Thanksgiving Weekend. Great for biking, beautiful pool, very clean facilities. Great for local RV travel and we felt like we were miles away when we were actually only about 45 minutes from home. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This park is awesome. We stayed here for a few days and wish it hd been longer. Very clean and friendly. Great for walking and biking. You would never know that you were in busy Miami. Close to stores if needed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at campground over a month in three seperate stays. After visiting several campgrounds in Miami, this is my favorite.

PROS
Bathroom and laundry facilities very clean.
Camper pads are very spacious.
Angle of pads allows unobstructed view of surrounding scenery in some spots (outer pod 1)
Friendly staff in office.
Campers seem to be more of a community and helpful to each other than in other Miami parks.
Varied wildlife on trails.
Private vendor provides gas service at reasonable price during season.
Close to grocery store, gas, and fast food.
Clothes lines outside laundry room.
Good walking / running trails inside campground and in adjoining park.

CONS
Unheated pool.
Occasional noise from surrounding community.
Staff encourages informal registration which resulted me in getting bumped once.
Litter in campground.

Room Tip: If you want an unobstructed view of surrounding park go for pod one sites 10-15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

This is a great RV campground in Miami. It's run by the county. Place is pristine, bathrooms are super clean, pool is great. Big paved sites. Highly recommended.

Very close to expressways so can easily get to places. 24hr security so feel safe.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Dogs allowed in camper area, but not 'tent camping area'. How annoying. Found out after we paid for a week of tent camping.
Set up in the back right corner behind the trees to hide the dog. It worked, but had to listen to the middle school have gym class outside all day. Pool was freezing. Seemed to cater to the 65+ crowd and 12 and under.

Room Tip: Not near the back fence! Kids band practice and gym class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Larry and Penny Thompson Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larry and Penny Thompson Park

Address: 12451 Southwest 184 Street, Miami, FL 33177
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Also Known As:
Larry And Penny Thompson Park Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larry and Penny Thompson Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.