We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great RV Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larry and Penny Thompson Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Larry and Penny Thompson Park
Save Saved
You added Larry and Penny Thompson Park to your Saves list
12451 Southwest 184 Street, Miami, FL 33177   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Plantation, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great RV Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time over Thanksgiving Weekend. Great for biking, beautiful pool, very clean facilities. Great for local RV travel and we felt like we were miles away when we were actually only about 45 minutes from home. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henrietta, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This park is awesome. We stayed here for a few days and wish it hd been longer. Very clean and friendly. Great for walking and biking. You would never know that you were in busy Miami. Close to stores if needed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at campground over a month in three seperate stays. After visiting several campgrounds in Miami, this is my favorite.

PROS
Bathroom and laundry facilities very clean.
Camper pads are very spacious.
Angle of pads allows unobstructed view of surrounding scenery in some spots (outer pod 1)
Friendly staff in office.
Campers seem to be more of a community and helpful to each other than in other Miami parks.
Varied wildlife on trails.
Private vendor provides gas service at reasonable price during season.
Close to grocery store, gas, and fast food.
Clothes lines outside laundry room.
Good walking / running trails inside campground and in adjoining park.

CONS
Unheated pool.
Occasional noise from surrounding community.
Staff encourages informal registration which resulted me in getting bumped once.
Litter in campground.

Room Tip: If you want an unobstructed view of surrounding park go for pod one sites 10-15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

This is a great RV campground in Miami. It's run by the county. Place is pristine, bathrooms are super clean, pool is great. Big paved sites. Highly recommended.

Very close to expressways so can easily get to places. 24hr security so feel safe.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Dogs allowed in camper area, but not 'tent camping area'. How annoying. Found out after we paid for a week of tent camping.
Set up in the back right corner behind the trees to hide the dog. It worked, but had to listen to the middle school have gym class outside all day. Pool was freezing. Seemed to cater to the 65+ crowd and 12 and under.

Room Tip: Not near the back fence! Kids band practice and gym class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just left Larry and Penny Thompson Park Campground. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely be returning in a couple of months. Campground is clean and manicured. Full hook up and 50 amp power. We were happy and our comvee was happy! :D

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

close to the zoo, nice grounds, clean. surprising quiet and peaceful even though you are in Miami!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Larry and Penny Thompson Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larry and Penny Thompson Park

Address: 12451 Southwest 184 Street, Miami, FL 33177
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Number of rooms: 440
Also Known As:
Larry And Penny Thompson Park Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larry and Penny Thompson Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;