We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No dogs camping??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Larry and Penny Thompson Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larry and Penny Thompson Park
12451 Southwest 184 Street, Miami, FL 33177   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 Specialty lodging in Miami
warrenton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No dogs camping??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Dogs allowed in camper area, but not 'tent camping area'. How annoying. Found out after we paid for a week of tent camping.
Set up in the back right corner behind the trees to hide the dog. It worked, but had to listen to the middle school have gym class outside all day. Pool was freezing. Seemed to cater to the 65+ crowd and 12 and under.

Room Tip: Not near the back fence! Kids band practice and gym class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just left Larry and Penny Thompson Park Campground. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely be returning in a couple of months. Campground is clean and manicured. Full hook up and 50 amp power. We were happy and our comvee was happy! :D

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

close to the zoo, nice grounds, clean. surprising quiet and peaceful even though you are in Miami!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Absolutely loved the campground and park. Great service, clean park, inexpensive. I did have a tackle box stolen one night while we were out to eat, but everyone working there helped me look for it and they were very helpful. The location is great too, a short drive to Miami Zoo, Miami beach, and the keys. Fishing in the canals is also great for Snook, Tarpon, and Peacock bass. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

This RV and recreation park is located in South Miami. Its a beautiful 275 acre RV park with full RV hook-up and sites for tent camping.

The park is filled with tropical trees and plants and has plenty of room for even the largest rigs. the park is near the Miami Metro ZOO.

It features wide roads, bike trails, water slide, man made beach, picnic area, shower houses, meeting rooms and on site security after hours.

Its a great place to stop for a few days before heading down into the keys. Its about a 2.5 hour drive to Key West.

The staff is friendly and the park is very clean. The park manager is a young man that is very quick to respond to problems.

I was originally assigned to a site that had a defect in the electric box. I called the office and before I could get off the phone he was was standing there with an electrician attempting to fix the problem.

No on-line registration seems to be available. Call 305-232-1049 or email L&Pcampground@MiamiDade.gov for info.

$25 per day for full hook up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Larry and Penny Thompson Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larry and Penny Thompson Park

Address: 12451 Southwest 184 Street, Miami, FL 33177
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Specialty lodging in Miami
Also Known As:
Larry And Penny Thompson Park Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larry and Penny Thompson Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Larry and Penny Thompson Park to your Saves list