We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer be ware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Truluck's Restaurant

Truluck's Restaurant
777 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)
305-579-0035
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Truluck's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 3,622 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Brickell and SE 8th St
Heredia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Buyer be ware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food is upper fast food joint. Just a notch above say Chili's or Benningan's.
Even if they serve stuff like stone crab claws or halibut, the preparation seems too industrialized to be delectable. And it shows and tastes.
The price is not.
On our latest visit one of our party became so ill that he started vomiting immediately at the table a few minutes after finishing his halibut.
Something's wrong with this place on Biscayne. And on top of everything else they charged us for a fish we did not order, the Parmesan Crusted Flounder, which in light of our medical situation, we had to let slide so we could get the person to a hospital for food poisoning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    187
    90
    28
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I asked for seafood and was superb my fellow partners asked for meat and also was superb. If you go to Miami give it a try you will not regret it. I went in December and repeated last week.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were staying in Miami overnight and the Four Seasons concierge recommended Trulucks for dinner. Although they had the reservation they did not have a table ready so we sat at the very crowded bar for a time. Then they offered us the worst table in the room, outside the kitchen with a constant stream of servers going back and fore. We declined it and they found us another, after a further wait. There was then a delay of over an hour after ordering before our food arrived. The server apologized so many times it became irritating. But worst of all, when our food arrived (we both ate fish) it was very ordinary indeed, not worth either the wait or the price. We paid and left.

So disappointing, especially as the Trulucks 50 miles away in Boca Raton is one of our favorite restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner! And the Stone Crabs are a MUST...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

What an absolutely delightful dinner. We tried Truluck's on a recommendation from our hotel hoping to avoid the crowds at Joe's. From the service (which was tremendous), to the desserts, wow - we were not disappointed. We started with Happy Hour and half price appetizers. The calamari and the mussels were superb. Next up? Dinner with colossal stone crabs and a tomahawk rib-eye split between two of us. Not a single item that arrived at our table was disappointing.

The ambiance is gorgeous but the food - it's all about the food. And the wine. How many places will you find Justin Isosceles on tap? If you're looking for a vibrant restaurant with exceptional food, look no further.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seriously Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

New Year's Eve was phenomenal! The prefix menu was awesome and my wife and I think it was one of the top 5 dining experiences that we have ever had. We are also a mature couple that has traveled the World so have a pretty good list!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truluck's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Truluck's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truluck's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.