We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Unique Wedding Guest and vacation Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early to Save 25%
Ranked #16 of 130 hotels in Miami
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Unique Wedding Guest and vacation Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Mutiny Hotel of Coconut Grove Florida is the best, most unique hotel to entertain wedding guests, have wedding events and vacation. The staff is extremely attentive to your every needs, the hotel rooms/units are fabulously unique and well appointed. The hotel restaurant Atchana's has a delightful extremly professional staff, a fabulous menu as well as the ability to accomodate our culinary requests not on the menu, and the owner Atchana ran our events flawlessly.
Scott MacAbee, Director of Sales and Marketing coordinated the rooms/unitswith the guests to accommodate their wants and needs, as well as my many stays at the hotel while cordinating the wedding arrangments.
My wedding event guests fell in love with the hotel and are planning to return for future vacatons.
I also stayed at the hotel for vacation and relaxation which was fabulous in every way. The tropical pool setting is a unique and delightful.
If you are planning a wedding, event or a vacation I would reccomend that you consider the Mutiny, you will be so very pleased with the outcome.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    116
    41
    31
    23
See reviews for
140
116
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Our business recently hosted a large event, and we booked our guests at the Mutiny. Their service is excellent, and the rooms are even better. We booked several 1 bedroom suites, and the price was just right. The rooms had gorgeous bay views, kitchen, and it was walking Distance from Cocowalk. I highly recommend this for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

The Mutiny is a small hotel minutes from the center of Coconut Grove. House-keeping staff could be more thorough, but the location, space, amenities and friendliness of the staff were fine. A tranquil pool and hot tub close to the Thai-inspired restaurant were perfect. Lots of room in a Junior Suite for 3 or 4.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

My daughter and I visited the U of Miami recently for a tour. Through their site we discovered the Mutiny Hotel in the heart of Coconut Grove.

This is a small, 12 story building overlook an attractive park and Sailboat Bay. It is an easy taxi ride from Miami airport and the U of Miami. Tastefully decorated in a tropical British style, it consists of 1 and 2 bedroom suites. When we travel we prefer suites as we have different waking and sleep schedules and enjoy having a kitchen available. We had a beautifully appointed master bedroom with a very comfortable king bed, a living room with a sleep sofa, sitting area, balcony and fully furnished kitchen. The suite was immaculate.

We were also provided fluffy white towels, robes, coffee pot and coffee, a newspaper, wireless internet, toiletries, a hair dryer, and more.

The hotel has a beautifully landscaped pool area where one can have a leisurely breakfast. There is also a small and charming restaurant on site.

The hotel is an easy stroll to Coco Walk and its many shops and restaurants. It is a delightful and colorful area. I felt perfectly safe allowing my daughter to go out and meet friends nearby.

Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. We were welcomed back and told that if my daughter attends the U of Miami, we can obtain a corporate discount. We surely will be back!

My only suggestion would be for the hotel to offer morning coffee in the lobby. I didn’t want to arouse my daughter by making coffee in the room so instead wandered out to a nearby café. Not a complaint, just a suggestion.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mutinyhotel, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Dear "Unofficial",

Thank you for selecting The Mutiny Hotel and for sharing your experience. We appreciate the time you spent in telling others about your stay via TripAdvisor's forum.

We value our guests and appreciate opportunities to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Jean Villamizar
The Mutiny Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Newly Renovated.

Excellent Staff, Accommodations, Service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mutinyhotel, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Dear Linda,

Thank you again for selecting The Mutiny Hotel and for sharing your experience. We appreciate the time you spent in telling others about your stay via TripAdvisor's forum.

We value our guests and appreciate opportunities to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Jean Villamizar
The Mutiny Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I need to say that I had such a great time with my friends at this hotel. From the moment we arrived to the day we left was just great!.
The room was a very good with a great view of bay. Kitchen was very organized. I had a small issue with closet door, but was fixed in no time.
Valet staff was very friendly and front desk was attentive and made me feel very special.
I ll definetely come back and stay in their deluxe suites again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Having just spent 4 nights in the hotel I feel that potential travellers should be warned that the experience has been very poor - the 'Junior Suite' that was booked to acommodate 4 people "in two rooms" turned out to be a 'suite' comprising a bedroom with the second 'bed' being an old sofa bed pulled out in the kitchen/diner. Maybe ok for a child at a push but certainly not ok for adults. The first room was filthy (714) with unwashed crockery and mould around the taps but the room we moved to (614) was a little better. The poor accomodation aside, the desk staff managed to screw up a car rental booking with the day staff denying all knowledge of the booking that had been made by the evening staff (despite having a reference number that they gave us). Only one girl on reception had any clue, the rest were breathtakingly useless. Overall, don't be fooled by the pictures on the web site - the areas downstairs are fine but the accommodation is poor. For the price, you may wish to accept this, but don't expect much for your money.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mutinyhotel, Sales Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
We tried contacting the reviewer directly to address some discrepancies in this review, but he never responded.

The room number indicated as his first room is not actually in our hotel program, and the second room number mentioned does not have a guest checking in and out on the dates listed in the review. There are owners that do not participate in the hotel program that may sometimes offer their private homes for outside use - these instances do not fall under our management and services. This may be the case with this particuar guest - we would hope to have more information from the guest so that we may discuss and resolve any concerns.

We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to respond to this matter personally, but the guest has not responded to our offers for reconciliation. It is our sincere hope that this guest will give us the opportunity to discuss the matter in more detail.

Yours in hospitality,
Jean Villamizar
The Mutiny Hotel
305-441-2100 ext 2008
jvillamizar@mutinyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#37 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.