We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back to the Mutiny - Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early to Save 25%
Ranked #16 of 130 hotels in Miami
New York City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back to the Mutiny - Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

The Mutiny is a beautiful all suite hotel. Excellent customer service, great location within walking distance of a great grocery store - Fresh Market & within walking distance of a great local waterfront restaraunt/bar Scottys. Our room was very clean & comfortable. Great views from every room & a nice balcony. There are lots of amenities, most notably the pool area was adorable & inviting. The value at the Mutiny is commendable - we paid just $129/night. An excellent price for what you get. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    116
    39
    29
    23
See reviews for
141
116
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

The hotel was in an ideal location. It's across from the Bay, and within walking distance of the shopping district. The front desk and door/valet personnel were very pleasant. The amenities were indeed very limited. The housekeeping was less than desirable. I found a hair in the bed when I arrived, as well as on the wall in the bathroom. The hand towel had a .50 cent sized hole in it. I had to call for a packet of regular coffee in the room. I left my computer open and when I came back to the room it was closed ! ! ! and subsequently froze. To print from a computer you've got to pay the business center. If you use the one shampoo you find in the bathroom. At least in my case, it is not replaced the next day. There was dust on the light that overhung the bathroom sink, 2 out of three days I found the shower curtain draped into the bidet. Shall I go on?.....

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

I stayed there on business recently for a few days. Internet was not working and the staff refered me to an 800 number to some call center who spends an hour troubleshooting and then concludes the wireless routers are down and he would call the front desk to get them rebooted... it never happened over several days. Fortunally if i sat on the bed i could get 1 bar signal from the nearby public library. The first morning the shower faucet broke off turning off the water. With water gushing I phoned the front desk - NO ONE EVER CAME UP and 2 hours later i used some kitchen utensils to turn down the rate of flow in time to get my breakfast delivered 7:20 for a 7am. The faucet was fixed by afternoon. Running the AC was a good way to aviod sleeping as it delivers many decibles into the entire room. Also check your bill as i was double billed for breakfast and they retained internet charges. Staff is completely indifferent to any issues.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainLine Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

The hotel was in a wonderful location, overlooking Biscayne Bay and walking distance to all that Coconut Grove has to offer. The accommodations were also exceptional. Having a two bedroom, two bath apartment with a full kitchen was very comfortable for our family of six. (Although the sleep sofa was not the most comfortable.) The view from our balconies was amazing. On the down side, it took four requests from the desk to get the extra towels we needed. Also, housekeeping could have been more thorough. The light fixtures in the bathrooms were "fuzzy" and it would be nice if the hotel could provide better pillows. But I would not hesitate to recommend the Mutiny to friends and I'd love to go again!

  • Liked — We could accommodate the entire family together.
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

Made reservations in December for a two night stay in March. Got a phone call while traveling to Miami telling us that the Mutiny had moved us to a "comparable" room at the Doubletree due to unexpected bookings. We had booked a suite with a kitchen at the Mutiny - at the Doubletree, we got only a room (not even a refrigerator), so not comparable, but we had to pay the same price as original booking. The manager at the Mutiny basically stonewalled any arguments we tried to make concerning our situation. Said we could have a complimentary night at some time in the future. Who would want to take the chance on booking them again? Definitely not us. We felt that this overbooking situation was not unusual for the Mutiny and that their honesty should be questioned.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Pro: Excellent Location that is a quick drive to downtown Miami and 2 minutes to CocoWalk shopping/dining/entertainment area. Comfortable rooms with North/South views that have the bayfront along the Eastern aspect. The front desk staff is generally pleasant.

Con: Overpriced. very limited guest ammenities. Fitness center is very small with outdated equipment. Concierges generally uninformed and with poor customer service. "Business center" consists of one small computer and desk inside a room that is about 30 sq. feet (smaller than a standard cell).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality of service and ammenities
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

We never had problems during out stay unlike other posts, people have to understand that some condo hotels have limited service. This does not excuse room cleanliness, but we never had this problem. Overall hotel is nice and great location, rooms are big and beautiful. Pool are is small but a nice place to relax.

  • Liked — the rooms and pool
  • Stayed January 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#37 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.