We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasted Potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 37% off!
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Miami
stamford, ct
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wasted Potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at The Mutiny and had a high floor, corner condo with a fantastic view of the water. The potential was there for a great unit but the WiFi was terrible, the beds were mediocre in comfort and made huge noises when you rolled over (mattress pad?), the kitchen was only half stocked and so many things were broken! Not to mentioned a pretty dirty kitchen. We had a new set of dishes which was nice but all the stickers were on still and it was gross every time we washed a dish until I peeled them all off. We had no spatula, no mixing bowls, no measuring spoons or cups, no bakeware and only ONE sharp steak knife. The ice maker was clogged and the refrigerator shelves along the edges were black with filth (under the glass trays). The oven had a huge globe of burnt food at the bottom. I had to pass baking that night and put it on self-clean instead. Each burner was very dirty too. Most of the closet doors fell off the hinges when you closed them and the master bathroom sliding door would NOT close. We had to shove a towel under it to keep it closed. Plus all the drawers in the bathroom vanity fell out when you opened them or stuck to the drawer below. To add insult, there was a the thunderous noise the master bed made when one of us rolled over. It must have been the mattress pad or the cheap mattress. Our kids had twin beds and they ONLY had sheets on them, no blankets. When I asked for blankets two nights in a row I finally got them and they were enormous for the beds. The cleaning woman didn't seem to know what to do with blankets on twin beds so they were never made snuggly so every morning the sheets and blankets were in a ball. Plus there were no outlets near the bed to use to plug in electronics. I was excited for a sound system that used blue tooth for music - UNTIL the alarm went off at 6am and I could do nothing to turn it off. I finally changed it to 10am and unplugged it when it went off each day. Last but probably most important was the terrible Wifi. I called to find out a way to boost it and they did bring up a unit to plug in but it only worked sometimes and in one room. Luckily I have an xfinity account so that worked near the TV in the master bedroom. The location and layout of the hotel is nice but management needs to do some serious quality control inspecting the rooms and fixing things and stock the kitchen. Wifi should be fixed as well as the bed.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the bay view, it's worth it on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    145
    54
    34
    24
See reviews for
181
143
22
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed with our two children who really made the most of the lovely pool area and helped us have a memorable holiday.
The gym is useful and I even managed to frequent it a few times , it also has an easy to use sauna and steam room.
Its in an excellent location with plenty of really good restaurants in easy walking distance.
The service and staff are very helpful and friendly this was borne out just after checking in as my Wife wasn't happy with our initial room and the front desk was very helpful in helping us get a lighter room with a balcony ,which was a pre requisite from our 9 year old daughter!
Only complaint would be the hefty valet parking charge which you can half with nearby public parking.
However all in all we had a great time there and I would thoroughly recommend it as a quality place to stay in Miami.

Room Tip: View or pool views much preferred I think here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I recently stayed at The Mutiny Hotel for 5 nights in a two-bedroom condo on the 9th floor. Very Spacious accommodations and had a great view of bay and Marina across the street. The hotel was impeccably maintained. The pool and hot tub area was so relaxing with lush tropical gardens and water fall - made laying by the pool a vacation by itself. The wait staff from Atchana Restaurant waited on us poolside and were always smiling - food was delicious and amazing cocktails, especially the frozen pina' colada. :) From the moment we arrived the very friendly hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure our every need was taken care of. They all worked together and were very organized and professional - they were fantastic! Great location to shopping and restaurants. Had a fabulous stay at this hotel in beautiful Coconut Grove and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited the Mutiny Hotel several times. We love staying there. We feel like we are at a luxury condo residence. The service is incredible & the amenities make us want to move in & never go home. We are a family of 3 and our son loves the pool, my husband the gym & of course I love the jacuzzi. The location is perfect. We can walk to the heart of coconut grove & a beautiful park & marina across the street. Its very easy to access off of the main highways as well. I highly recommend the Mutiny hotel to all of my friends & family. We love the staff, especially Karel the front desk manager. He always remembers us by name & this last visit we even had a welcome back basket waiting in our room. He goes above & beyond for us everytime. Thank you Mutiny Hotel. See you soon!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We obtained a great rate at the Mutiny for 30 family members to stay for a long weekend for our daughter's senior recital from the University of Miami. The staff were great, the pool lovely, and the suites, although not new, were lovely and spacious, and the location was perfect near the water and Coconut Grove. We all had a wonderful time, and highly recommend it! My one and only recommendation would be to make the "pool dining" menu a little more family/kid friendly, and more creative. The salads and spring rolls were bland, but the buffalo wings get a big thumbs up!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with a water view are the best. Request to not be near the parking garage, where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a stay-cation at this Coconut Grove classic. Older locals love to tell stories about this hotel and it wild "Miami Vice" pedigree, but these days it is an all suite, completely renovated, family friendly beauty! Stylish, sort of European, and jammed with Coconut Grove Art Fair treasures. Beautiful pool.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaica plain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Mutiny was the hotel recommended to us as a place to stay while we were in Miami for a wedding. The positives: very helpful staff, very convenient to restaurants, close to the airport, and nice to have a suite instead of a cramped hotel room. Also, a very nice pool area. The negatives: the bathroom could have been cleaner, the shower needed updating, and the sink faucets did not operate correctly. We had a discounted wedding rate room so I can't complain about the price. However, I do resent being charged for the parking. I suppose this is the norm at Miami hotels. Overall. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#24 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Groupon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.