We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 37% off!
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed with our two children who really made the most of the lovely pool area and helped us have a memorable holiday.
The gym is useful and I even managed to frequent it a few times , it also has an easy to use sauna and steam room.
Its in an excellent location with plenty of really good restaurants in easy walking distance.
The service and staff are very helpful and friendly this was borne out just after checking in as my Wife wasn't happy with our initial room and the front desk was very helpful in helping us get a lighter room with a balcony ,which was a pre requisite from our 9 year old daughter!
Only complaint would be the hefty valet parking charge which you can half with nearby public parking.
However all in all we had a great time there and I would thoroughly recommend it as a quality place to stay in Miami.

Room Tip: View or pool views much preferred I think here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    145
    53
    34
    24
See reviews for
180
143
22
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I recently stayed at The Mutiny Hotel for 5 nights in a two-bedroom condo on the 9th floor. Very Spacious accommodations and had a great view of bay and Marina across the street. The hotel was impeccably maintained. The pool and hot tub area was so relaxing with lush tropical gardens and water fall - made laying by the pool a vacation by itself. The wait staff from Atchana Restaurant waited on us poolside and were always smiling - food was delicious and amazing cocktails, especially the frozen pina' colada. :) From the moment we arrived the very friendly hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure our every need was taken care of. They all worked together and were very organized and professional - they were fantastic! Great location to shopping and restaurants. Had a fabulous stay at this hotel in beautiful Coconut Grove and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited the Mutiny Hotel several times. We love staying there. We feel like we are at a luxury condo residence. The service is incredible & the amenities make us want to move in & never go home. We are a family of 3 and our son loves the pool, my husband the gym & of course I love the jacuzzi. The location is perfect. We can walk to the heart of coconut grove & a beautiful park & marina across the street. Its very easy to access off of the main highways as well. I highly recommend the Mutiny hotel to all of my friends & family. We love the staff, especially Karel the front desk manager. He always remembers us by name & this last visit we even had a welcome back basket waiting in our room. He goes above & beyond for us everytime. Thank you Mutiny Hotel. See you soon!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We obtained a great rate at the Mutiny for 30 family members to stay for a long weekend for our daughter's senior recital from the University of Miami. The staff were great, the pool lovely, and the suites, although not new, were lovely and spacious, and the location was perfect near the water and Coconut Grove. We all had a wonderful time, and highly recommend it! My one and only recommendation would be to make the "pool dining" menu a little more family/kid friendly, and more creative. The salads and spring rolls were bland, but the buffalo wings get a big thumbs up!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with a water view are the best. Request to not be near the parking garage, where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a stay-cation at this Coconut Grove classic. Older locals love to tell stories about this hotel and it wild "Miami Vice" pedigree, but these days it is an all suite, completely renovated, family friendly beauty! Stylish, sort of European, and jammed with Coconut Grove Art Fair treasures. Beautiful pool.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaica plain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mutiny was the hotel recommended to us as a place to stay while we were in Miami for a wedding. The positives: very helpful staff, very convenient to restaurants, close to the airport, and nice to have a suite instead of a cramped hotel room. Also, a very nice pool area. The negatives: the bathroom could have been cleaner, the shower needed updating, and the sink faucets did not operate correctly. We had a discounted wedding rate room so I can't complain about the price. However, I do resent being charged for the parking. I suppose this is the norm at Miami hotels. Overall. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingburg, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment I arrived, everyone who worked there was extremely helpful and very nice !! That extended through my entire stay. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the pool area looks like a tropical rain forest. We spent a lot of time there. The hotel is very clean. The room was nice. It has a small kitchen. Only complaint was that the ice maker didn't work. We had a balcony view of the bay, spent the nights sitting out there enjoying the view. The bathroom could use an upgrade. Short walk to the Coco Walk, which has a bunch of shops. My only complaint about the hotel is that it is a little on the pricy side, and there was some hidden charges I was not aware of when I booked the hotel. I didn't know there was only valet parking which was nice to have, but I was told by valet it was $25.00 per night. When I asked the front desk they gave it to me for $16.00. Still it adds up when staying for a week. Then I found out later they were charging my credit card $50.00 a day just in case I used room service or the restaurant and charged it to my room. The restaurant, good food but WAY TO OVERPRICED!! The first night we went to the restaurant, because we were tired from the flight and didn't feel like driving around looking for a store. We ordered 1 appetizer and 2 meals came to over $70.00. One day we were by the pool, I ordered 1 cheeseburger no drink .... The burger was $19.00 and change !! I didn't see it, but on the menu it says they add 18% gratuity, because I didn't see it, I wound up giving an extra 20% tip to the waiter. I later read that they charge $9.95 to use their Wi-Fi, so I never used it, because I didn't want to pay any more extra money. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#24 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Groupon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.