We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor understanding of customer service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fun in the Sun
Ranked #29 of 122 Hotels in Miami
George Town, Grand Cayman
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Poor understanding of customer service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First, and most important: they do not guarantee a particular room / bed configuration. I booked and needed a two bedroom with 2 beds in the second room for two teenagers. I got 1 bed in the second room and a lot of attitude when I called to change the room. And, although they had an empty room w/ 2 beds in the hotel the first night (I would have to move the second night), they would not give it to me because it was already cleaned and they did not want to let anyone use it and then clean it after only one night.
Look at Hilton.com or any other proper hotel website, and the first and most prominent thing is how many beds you are booking.
2nd: they charge for parking and for internet. Internet should be included. Also, internet is very slow and unreliable. They offer "boosters" when you ask them about the poor reception, but these do nothing.
3rd: In miami, lots of international customers get Amazon parcels delivered to the hotel, and I had about 10. There seems to be no system for keeping track of these packages, and it took them almost my entire stay for them to find them all.
4th: every morning 8am sharp: leaf blowers.
Overall: good location, nice to have suites with bedrooms (rare in miami) and nice rooms.
But I would not stay there again due to the problems above.

Room Tip: try to call and confirm room/beds you are getting a couple of days and the day before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    135
    47
    33
    24
See reviews for
164
134
20
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel with all amenities you may need. Friendly staff and valet. Beautiful pool and spa area with waterfall and places to sit and eat or just sip on a complementary cocktail from the hotel during your stay. Near many restaurant and entertainment in Coconut Grove.

Room Tip: Do not get a room with a shower only. Also get the pool view as you will also get the marina view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The area where this hotel is located is great. Was not expecting it to be so pleasing. I really like this hotel it self. It did not feel like I was just another guest, the front desk staff was very welcoming and it made a impact in my entire stay. The room was great and the view is great if you're in the high floors. I will return if I ever travel to Miami again.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I was attending a wedding and this was the hotel they recommended. The location of this hotel is perfect for the area. Everyone I had dealings with were very kind and professional. But..... when it comes to the rooms, they are very dated. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have every slept in. Now knowing that the units are privately owned I understand why the owners wouldn't want to put higher quality item in it. The bathroom was not user friendly for dressing, hair, make-up. This hotel would be good if you need a good Coconut Groves location and don't plan on being in the room.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were very disappointed with this hotel. Soulless! Had a very shabby and dirty bathroom. Very uncomfortable bed. When we arrived reception was so busy with only one person on duty he couldn't give us any attention frantically answering phones and dealing with queries.The only thing that was good was the concierge.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karel P, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Andy R,

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the nature of what you described. This is unacceptable and certainly not how we earned our reputation for consistently delivering outstanding service and accommodations.

This was an isolated incident and I have personally addressed these shortcoming with the appropriate staff members so that we can avoid a future re-occurrence of this nature.

On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize again and in an effort to regain your trust in The Mutiny Hotel I would welcome the opportunity to personally handle your reservations if you plan to return to Coconut Grove in the future.

Warmest Wishes,
Karel P
kperez@mutinyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Can't wait to come back to Miami. I had agreat time with my family over the weekend in this area. We had a wedding to attend and it was amazing. The hotel was only minutes away from the location. We had stayed for 3 nights and it really was a great choice. The front desk staff was always welcoming. And the rooms are so big. I didn't know it would be a full size apartment when I booked with them. If I ever return to Miami. I would return here.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karel P, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear harger45,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write a review of your experience.

I appreciate your kind words regarding your most recent stay at The Mutiny Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us again.

I will personally share your comments with my front desk team so that we may celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel for any assistance regarding your most recent stay or for a future reservation. Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

See you next time,
Karel P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very please with this boutique hotel. Have stayed at many places in the Grove and Miami and The Mutiny is one we will come back to.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating and made our stay even better from the moment we arrived to the sad moment we left. The location was great - in the heart of the Grove and we walked everyplace. The room was clean and fresh.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karel P, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear JuliaBHM,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write a review of your experience.

I appreciate your kind words regarding your most recent stay at The Mutiny Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that the hotel in general was so accommodating during your stay.

I will personally share your comments with my front desk team so that we may celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel for any assistance regarding your most recent stay or for a future reservation. Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

See you next time,
Karel P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#16 Business Hotel in Miami
#40 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.