We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location if you don't want South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fun in the Sun
Ranked #16 of 129 hotels in Miami
Charlevoix
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location if you don't want South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice, clean hotel in South Miami overlooking Bayside Park and Key Biscayne. Valet parking only which is a negative in my book, but the hotel was quite nice. We had a one bedroom suite style with a full kitchen, large refrigerator, pull out sofa, and balcony that spanned the full width of the suite. We were on the North side and quite deep in the hotel but still had a view of the harbor.
Pool is nice but small and only 4'6" deep. There is also a hot tub, fitness center and sauna and steam room. We spent one day at the pool and then went down to South Beach the second day. Took about 40 minutes each way because of the traffic, theoretically we were only 22 minutes away according to Google Maps.

I would certainly stay here again if I didn't want to be on the beach. Its right in Coconut Grove so its an easy 3 minute walk to all different kinds of food and some shopping.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Jackson9567,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    119
    39
    29
    23
See reviews for
144
118
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was the only hotel that still had room during our vacation in Florida. The troubles started at the time of the booking. I tried several times through the official site of the hotel and my credit card got declined several times, personal didn't really made an attempt to help, just said that my card was declined. I ended up booking through expedia.com without any problems with the same card. Arrival at the hotel was good, the girl at the reception was friendly. Our room was not the cleanest but it was large and spacious. Then my boyfriend noticed that the curtain blinds in the sleeping room were broken and didn't shut, which is very awkward not to mention uncomfortable in the bedroom. Called the reception, waited 30 minutes to no avail. Called reception again, they got confused and thought we were talking about the sheets. After another 15min or so someone from the hotel came to check out the blinds and concluded that they couldn't fix it and that he'll check with the reception whether we could get another room. After 5min the reception called again and said that the hotel was fully booked and we couldn't move to another room and she was going to check whether they can hang up a sheet up. Another 5min later she called back to say that there was nothing that they could do. After the last call, my patience was gone to be honest. This is a $400 room and you'd expect more customer service for a 4 star hotel. My boyfriend went downstairs and asked to talk to a manager and all of a sudden we could move to another room. The new room was not clean, the sofa had dried up food stick to it and the view was awful (construction site). But we had at least a bedroom with curtains that would close.

I'm just extremely disappointed in the customer service for a 4 star $400/night hotel. They didn't make any attempt to give a discount or try to do anything to make the stay nice, which is a shame.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Chenling,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I am saddened to hear that you had an uncommon amount of issues within your suites.

I have personally addressed your issues with the housekeeping manager to ensure that our standard of service and amenities are not compromised and we have scheduled the window blind replacement for the suite.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest wishes,

Cliff Baldwin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have stayed at this property a few times based on its location. You literally do not need a car as everything is walking distance. That includes the marina, the restaurants and the shops. You are however limited to about a half mile walking in either direction as once you get beyond that, there are some shady neighborhoods and the Grove at night has a number of problems.

The hotel itself is just "okay". Its actually a Condo/Hotel combination meaning the rooms are owned by individuals and these owners put their apt on the hotel program so that the property can rent them out. That being said, every room is different with decor, furniture, etc. Some rooms are run down with rips and holes in the sofa for example. Also, the rooms have many different sizes. The pool is nice but small. It does have a jacuzzi. The staff is helpful. There is a tiny restaurant in the lobby that is fine for breakfast. You can even eat at the pool deck. The hallways can get very noisy at night when the bar hopping folks return. There is an echo. Not a bad property overall but its basically getting lucky with a specific room based on availability or you need to request in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Richard S,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the Mutiny in March 2014 during our trip to the Sony Ericsson tennis open. I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was. The room was exactly as pictured in the website, clean and comfortable with all the accessories you would need - including dishwasher and washer/dryer. The neighborhood is very safe, walking distance to all shopping. My 22 and 25 year old daughters walked to and from an open air bar in coco walk during the weekend and felt very safe. The pool area is tastefully shadded with foiliage for privacy from the street, and has a large sofa seating off to the side for groups to enjoy at night. The valets were very attentive and worked hard to get you in an out in a timely manner. Management was always visible, friendly, and ready to meet your needs. Our housekeeper met every request and then some. Very, very friendly place, will not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are listed as "partial view" of harbor, but really is 75% view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Susan S,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This beautiful boutique hotel offers the best services and quality in the Miami area. The rooms are impeccable, the staff is friendly and helpful and management is visible in property to make sure all your needs are met. I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting the Miami area seeking a quiet, good service facility with outstanding staff and amenities.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the house. But if you like to watch the sun come up in the morning, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Rene G,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Very comfortable and clean room, serviced daily. Good bar, pool and friendly staff. Excellent location in coconut grove-walking distance to shops and bars. Great fresh market nearby. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Graeme M,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have stayed at the Mutiny a numerous amount of times in the last 2 years for sailing regattas. The rooms are clean and staff is very friendly and accommodating. Claudio the reservations manager always is very helpful and accommodating. We are always very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Dante109,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that Claudia exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.