We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between three and four stars, but a nice place all in all.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% Summer Suite Savings
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Miami
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Between three and four stars, but a nice place all in all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

After six nights at the Mutiny, we left with fond but mixed feelings. Here is how it fared in our "most important in a hotel" checklist:

Sleep: all rooms are suites, and the bedroom, though small, was adequate and totally darkened by the blinds. Bed not large and a bit soft for my liking. Slept fairly well.

Wifi: fairly good connectivity, free of charge. Our of order for a few hours.

Bath: our suite (deluxe) had a shower over jacuzzi bath. Drawback: not enough hot water to fill it. Solution: fill about a third with hottest water, wait 15 minutes and fill it up. However, guests shouldn't have to seek solutions for hot water shortages, should they?

Breakfast: this is one reason for our 3-star decision. Espresso machine was reported broken all week long. 'American' coffee just about drinkable, omelets, granola etc. nothing to write home about, and steeply priced for the quality. Service a bit confused. Far better options available in neighboring restaurants, but being on a work trip we had no time for leisurely brunches.

Amenities: a nice small pool and pool area. Gym and sauna, alas, closed for renovations for quite a while yet. Isn't it time hotels mentioned such closures on their websites, and/or offered some compensation? Not here. Three stars, then.

Service: generally friendly.

Location: lovely setting across from the Coconut Grove beach, close to the CocoWalk area, numerous restaurants. Try Lulu and Bombay Darbar.

General "feel" - rather nice. Wish I could give it four stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with some or full sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Nadavsmom,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Mutiny Hotel while visiting the Miami area.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities.

I am saddened to read that you had difficulty filling the jacuzzi tub with hot water. I have addressed this with our maintenance team so that no other guest will have the same experience.

I am happy to read that you had a comfy and restful nights sleep and that the WIFI was strong and fast.

During your visit we were renovating our 24hr gym, prior to construction we had contracted with the neighboring fitness facility for 24hr access to their facilities. Passes were available at the Front Desk as denoted by our signage. Our Gym is now complete and available 24 hours a day. We look forward to your return so you may use all of the new equipment.

I am saddened to hear of your experience in the restaurant. It is unacceptable that you were not able to experience the Cuban Coffee that they make so well. The Machine has been fixed and I invite you to return and try it out. I have personally shared your comments with our restaurant team to address your concerns.

I am happy that you experienced great service by all of our staff. We take great pride in making each guest feel at home and like family while staying with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance and we look forward to your return.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    164
    57
    36
    24
See reviews for
207
160
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
drwendy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful getaway at the Mutiny. We had a 1 bedroom suite on the ninth floor with an amazing view of the marina and Biscayne Bay. Everything was clean and well-kept and we felt immediately welcomed by manager Jesus upon arrival. Hotel staff is kind and helpful and all our needs were met with a smile.

The location is perfect. You're within a 5 minute walk of 20 different restaurants in the chic CocoWalk shopping plaza. There is also a movie theater, park and marina in easy walking distance.

The onsite restaurant Atchana is thai-fusion but you can also get a burger or club sandwich if you are not adventurous. We enjoyed the food and had fun hanging out at the bar.

There is a small outdoor pool kept immaculately clean.

This hotel is chic and vibrant and makes for a fun urban vacation. We stayed at the Ritz-Carlton last time we were in town and I can honestly say I had a better time at The Mutiny. We will absolutely be back.

Room Tip: Higher rooms toward the front have the best balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear DrWendy,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities, including our restaurant. It is a pleasure to hear that our staff exceeds at providing a more memorable and fun experience than our neighboring hotel. I will personally share your comments with our team and celebrate yet another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for one evening and it was lovely. We checked in and were told that we had been upgraded to a suite. Our room was very clean and we had a balcony with a view of the marina. We walked to the Grove for dinner. It was a very nice place to stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
A warm thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your Mutiny Hotel experience. It is an absolute pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us ,particularly our luxurious, well-appointed suites, favorable location, your excellent experience with our team.

We will be sure to share your nice words with Clifton and the rest of the team and celebrate yet another satisfied guest.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you need any assistance.

Warm Regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Starting off with the location of this hotel being fantastic, I was surprised at the level of service the minute you walk in from valet to the front desk. The front desk in particular Michelle was able to give me an amazing and extensive list of different restaurants and bars that fit perfectly within budget and convenience. It will be hard to think of anywhere else to stay on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you kindly for your thoughtful review regarding your recent stay at The Mutiny Hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and that our staff made you feel so welcome. I will be sure to share these comments with our team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Moved my daughter into the University of Miami this past August and needed a place to stay for the week. During a prior visit we stayed at another brand down the street. While walking to the Grove we spied the Mutiny and decided to give it a try next time we were in town. What a wise choice. Besides its close proximity to the university and Coconut Grove, I found the hotel immaculate. Being in the hospitality business I pay close attention to cleanliness and comfort. This hotel was spotless top to bottom. Rooms were comfortable and roomy. If there was one drawback it would be the kitchen area. Not much for utensils and the like but we never really had time to even consider cooking in. Probably the biggest sell here is the staff. Amazing. From housekeeping to front desk to parking, everyone was great. Parents weekend in October is already booked . . . at the Mutiny of course.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous experience with us while moving your daughter into UM. It truly is a compliment to receive such a positive feedback from a hospitality professional. Our staff thrives to make each guest' experience a memorable one, and we will be sure to celebrate our success with the team.

We look forward to seeing you back in October, and please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions in the meantime.

Warm Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A great hotel with large rooms and wonderful views of Biscayne Bay and Coconut Grove. Only minutes from downtown Miami and across the street from a park and the Coconut Grove Marina. I had a really nice stay and found the views and pool very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
PaulMasterMOZ - Thank you for choosing The Mutiny Hotel for your most recent trip to the Coconut Grove area. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your suite and the views of the Bay. Our pool is, indeed, a hidden gem in Coconut Grove, and I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Mutiny Hotel is in the Coconut Grove section of Miami with a view of the yacht basin just across the street. Access to it is very easy from Interstate 95. Key Biscayne is only 15 minutes away across the toll bridges.

The hotel itself is very well appointed and clean. Rooms are really nice...ours had a beautiful bedroom with king size bed, a nice full bath with bidet, a spacious living room/dining room combination, and a full kitchen stocked with dishes and cookware. It also had a double balcony that overlooked the yacht basin.

What really sets this hotel apart from others is the outstanding, very friendly, staff, all without exception having a can-do attitude. The valet parking attendant, the front desk attendants, security, housekeeping, bellmen, the managerial staff, and the restaurant staff all were superb. Because of circumstances, we had a number of special requests that had to be fulfilled. Everyone was so cooperative that it all went more smoothly than we could have ever imagined. We are very grateful for their kind assistance and sense of urgency when we needed something.

If you are visiting in this area I urge you to take advantage of this wonderful hotel and it's exceptional staff.

Room Tip: I'm pretty tall so we requested a room with a king size bed. It was no problem. Ask for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
673Grizzlybear - Thank you so much for choosing The Mutiny Hotel in Coconut Grove and for sharing such a detailed review with the Trip Advisor community.

We appreciate your kind words and recommendation, and above all we are thrilled that you enjoyed your suite (and the Bay View), the hotel amenities, and the proximity to many restaurants and shops.

We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with your stay in hour hotel and that you found our staff to be very friendly and attentive - it is an absolute honor to hear that we were able to meet all of our requests in a timely manner. We are dedicated to making each one of our guest’s stays enjoyable and we will be sure to share your thoughts with our team.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Warm wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Conrad Miami
#8 of 114 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#11 Business Hotel in Miami
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.