We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fun in the Sun
Ranked #14 of 129 Hotels in Miami
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We were driving to Miami without a hotel on a football weekend and needed help. Turned to Tripadvisor and read about The Mutiny Hotel close to campus. It was hard to believe for the price it could be that good. IT WAS!! Rooms were so nice that we felt we were at one of the downtown higher end hotels. The plus was that the front desk was so hospitable. It took us 5 minutes to jump on freeway and get to the UM campus. We actually liked being away from all the congestion of downtown. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are happy to hear that we were your hotel of choice during your football weekend.

Our location is indeed convenient - only minutes away from the UM campus as well as all the Miami attractions, nightlife and shopping. Our guests are able to enjoy all of what Miami has to offer without having to deal with the inevitable traffic congestion.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your luxurious suite and our hotel amenities. Our team strives to provide each guest with an unforgettable experience and I am certain they will be ecstatic to hear your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Mutiny Hotel soon!

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    129
    46
    29
    24
See reviews for
155
130
19
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for one evening and it was lovely. We checked in and were told that we had been upgraded to a suite. Our room was very clean and we had a balcony with a view of the marina. We walked to the Grove for dinner. It was a very nice place to stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
A warm thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your Mutiny Hotel experience. It is an absolute pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us ,particularly our luxurious, well-appointed suites, favorable location, your excellent experience with our team.

We will be sure to share your nice words with Clifton and the rest of the team and celebrate yet another satisfied guest.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you need any assistance.

Warm Regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Starting off with the location of this hotel being fantastic, I was surprised at the level of service the minute you walk in from valet to the front desk. The front desk in particular Michelle was able to give me an amazing and extensive list of different restaurants and bars that fit perfectly within budget and convenience. It will be hard to think of anywhere else to stay on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you kindly for your thoughtful review regarding your recent stay at The Mutiny Hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and that our staff made you feel so welcome. I will be sure to share these comments with our team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Moved my daughter into the University of Miami this past August and needed a place to stay for the week. During a prior visit we stayed at another brand down the street. While walking to the Grove we spied the Mutiny and decided to give it a try next time we were in town. What a wise choice. Besides its close proximity to the university and Coconut Grove, I found the hotel immaculate. Being in the hospitality business I pay close attention to cleanliness and comfort. This hotel was spotless top to bottom. Rooms were comfortable and roomy. If there was one drawback it would be the kitchen area. Not much for utensils and the like but we never really had time to even consider cooking in. Probably the biggest sell here is the staff. Amazing. From housekeeping to front desk to parking, everyone was great. Parents weekend in October is already booked . . . at the Mutiny of course.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous experience with us while moving your daughter into UM. It truly is a compliment to receive such a positive feedback from a hospitality professional. Our staff thrives to make each guest' experience a memorable one, and we will be sure to celebrate our success with the team.

We look forward to seeing you back in October, and please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions in the meantime.

Warm Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A great hotel with large rooms and wonderful views of Biscayne Bay and Coconut Grove. Only minutes from downtown Miami and across the street from a park and the Coconut Grove Marina. I had a really nice stay and found the views and pool very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
PaulMasterMOZ - Thank you for choosing The Mutiny Hotel for your most recent trip to the Coconut Grove area. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your suite and the views of the Bay. Our pool is, indeed, a hidden gem in Coconut Grove, and I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Mutiny Hotel is in the Coconut Grove section of Miami with a view of the yacht basin just across the street. Access to it is very easy from Interstate 95. Key Biscayne is only 15 minutes away across the toll bridges.

The hotel itself is very well appointed and clean. Rooms are really nice...ours had a beautiful bedroom with king size bed, a nice full bath with bidet, a spacious living room/dining room combination, and a full kitchen stocked with dishes and cookware. It also had a double balcony that overlooked the yacht basin.

What really sets this hotel apart from others is the outstanding, very friendly, staff, all without exception having a can-do attitude. The valet parking attendant, the front desk attendants, security, housekeeping, bellmen, the managerial staff, and the restaurant staff all were superb. Because of circumstances, we had a number of special requests that had to be fulfilled. Everyone was so cooperative that it all went more smoothly than we could have ever imagined. We are very grateful for their kind assistance and sense of urgency when we needed something.

If you are visiting in this area I urge you to take advantage of this wonderful hotel and it's exceptional staff.

Room Tip: I'm pretty tall so we requested a room with a king size bed. It was no problem. Ask for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
673Grizzlybear - Thank you so much for choosing The Mutiny Hotel in Coconut Grove and for sharing such a detailed review with the Trip Advisor community.

We appreciate your kind words and recommendation, and above all we are thrilled that you enjoyed your suite (and the Bay View), the hotel amenities, and the proximity to many restaurants and shops.

We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with your stay in hour hotel and that you found our staff to be very friendly and attentive - it is an absolute honor to hear that we were able to meet all of our requests in a timely manner. We are dedicated to making each one of our guest’s stays enjoyable and we will be sure to share your thoughts with our team.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Warm wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent experience at the Mutiny. We stayed here between a move (my husband stayed for over 2 weeks). We initially used a Groupon for a "superior" room. These rooms have not been updated and you can tell. However, we upgraded (for a small amount more) to the "deluxe" room and were very happy. The rooms are beautifully appointed and we had a large balcony. We also stayed for a few days in a 2 bedroom suite which was gorgeous.
The staff at the Mutiny were exceptional. They truly put our needs and concerns first and were extremly accommodating. My only negative would be that it seemed that housekeeping was not as thorough during my husbands longer stay. The room was straightened up and towels replaced but I'm not sure how much "cleaning" was done.
However, this would definitely not deter us from staying here again.
We had a beautiful experience and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Pucci1,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at The Mutiny Hotel during your move. Many of our suites come with fully equipped kitchens, separate living room areas as well as spacious balconies, making it easy to turn your suite into a home away from home. Some of our rooms are going into renovation as we speak and they will not be rented out until they meet our high standards. Our deluxe suits are located on the higher floors and offer beautiful views of the bay or the pool.

Our staff will be delighted to hear that you had such a great stay with us. Each member of our team thrives to make each guest' experience a memorable one.

Thank you again for choosing The Mutiny Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#32 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.