We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fun in the Sun
Ranked #16 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Miami Lakes, Florida, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here recently on a mini staycation and absolutely loved it!!!!! It was in a quite corner in Coconut grove. I wish I could have stayed longer. Will recommend this hotel to all my friends and plan on going back in the near future!!!!!!!! The next time I will request a room with a balcony and a view

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Mutiny Hotel for your most recent trip to the Coconut Grove area. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and location. We will be sure to share your nice words with the team. Our staff strives to provide guests with a superior level of service and they will be happy to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you back very soon and of course, should you need anything in the meantime please don’t hesitate to let us know.

Warm regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    125
    44
    29
    23
See reviews for
152
125
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cavan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in early July. The location is great and the apartment/suite is spacious, although the pull out bed is not comfortable, and also not easy to assemble. We had e mailed while booking and asked if possible for a sea view, our room was at the side of the hotel and while we could see the sea, we also had a lovely view of the dumpster at the back of the hotel. So that request was a waste of time. We also arrived a little early, and it was such a big deal! We were asked to return in half an hour, and on our return an hour later were met by a different member of staff, and it was another half hour before we were allocated our room. The pool area is lovely, and the bar has a lovely seating area out there, but their prices are exorbitant.
Coconut Grove is a lovely part of Miami and the hotel is in a good location for restaurants and coffee shops, and there is a lovely park nearby.

Room Tip: We did ask for a sea view, but did not get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the The Mutiny Hotel with us and the TripAdvisor community. We will share your feedback with the appropriate departments.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the surrounding areas and the our guest amenities. While we weren’t able to meet all of your expectations, we hope that you would consider staying with us in the future should your travels take you back to the Coconut Grove area.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Warm Regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I just got back from Miami yesterday, and I had to make sure I let perspective lodgers know this is the place to stay!!! The Mutiny sits in the heart of Coconut Grove, a beautiful boat city full of friendly locals, and tourists. Its quiet and peaceful, a great alternative to last years stay in the heart of south beach. I stayed with friends in a one bedroom suite, and we were pleasantly surprised that we had a full kitchen with a dishwasher, sink, full fridge, microwave, stove, blender, toaster, etc. The suite also had a washer/dryer which was super convenient for those beach days. I have no complaints! The pool is small, but we didn't find this to be an issue. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. Its close to everything, 30 mind from south beach, 30 mins from the city. I will say parking is a bit of an inconvenience. It's $25 to park daily at the hotel and maybe $10 less everywhere else. We wont be renting a car in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review about your recent stay at The Mutiny Hotel. We take pride in providing the type of service you described. On behalf of The Mutiny Staff, it was our pleasure to make your stay memorable. It appears you were able to take advantage of our hotels greatest amenity, our proximity to the historic Coconut Grove. From great shopping to delicious restaurants, there isn’t much to not like about the area that surrounds our lovely hotel. I hope you do have the opportunity in the future to visit us again. Feel free to contact us directly so we may set up your next relaxing getaway.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here recently for two nights in early July with my wife and two teenage kids. The bedroom is very good but the pull out bed in the living room/kitchenette was not very comfortable, even with two mattresses on it. We had to get the hotel services to erect it and even they had problems. These one bed suites would suit a couple or a couple with young kids not teenagers. There were only towels, shampoo, soap etc. for two people although this was rectified on both days after phone calls to reception. We paid for the upgrade and received a side view of the marina and a better view of the car park. The bar is very pricey and does not have draught beer. The location is very good for restaurants and local attractions. We used the public car park around the corner and parked for $12 per day and could come and go with our car as we pleased. I note a lot of the reviews of this hotel giving it top marks are made by people who have never placed reviews before??????????????

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony at the front of the hotel as the ones at the rear look out at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the separate bedroom area and surroundings. While we weren’t able to meet all of your expectations, we hope that you would consider staying with us in the future should your travels take you back to the Coconut Grove or Miami area.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything I can assist you with.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff were outstanding! The room was a large suite with full kitchen and great view of the marina across the street. We spent much of our time on the balcony enjoying the view. The pool is very nice. We like to walk or use public transit. The hotel is a walkable distance from the Metrorail, but there is also a Coconut Grove circulator bus that takes you to the train, and to the free Coral Gables trolley. My only criticism of the Mutiny would be the $10/day charge for wifi in the room. Wifi is a pretty basic amenity these days. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Mutiny Hotel experience! We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous experience. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team.

The location, is as described, very convenient and The Mutiny Hotel is in close proximity to many restaurants, shops, parks. Our suites are very large and comfortable, and they all come with a fully equipped kitchen and separate living room.

Thank you, again, for choosing The Mutiny Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It seems you come into your home with the friendly staff greeting you at this Hotel. Its a top secret finding such hidden gem right in the center of the All entertaining Coconut Grove around the corner. In walking distance, to all the variety of its food and beverage breathing community. Not to worry blistering your feet it is just in few steps out the door that entertainment begins. Nice Bar and Lobby area, with modern furniture gives you living a lavish lifestyle right there. The suite in which we were set indulging our stay, was set as efficiency apartment with balcony view to the sea and yacht club. Great clean bathrooms with kitchen area breakfast bar and all the utensils you need to live life great. Thanks "I'll be back!"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Josef,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our hospitality, the hotel’s uniqueness and the location. Our team thrives to make each guest's experience memorable, and we will happily share your thoughts with the staff.

We look forward to seeing you back very soon! In the meantime, do not hesitate to contact if I can be of any assistance.

Warmest Regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Big spacious rooms with kitchen. Upgrade for small fee for view of Bay and the beautiful greenery of coconut Grove. Directly across from marina walk to Grove shopping and dining. Nice relax ing get away. ..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Mike,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Mutiny Hotel in Coconut Grove. Our suites are, as you mentioned, very spacious and luxurious and many have views of the Bay. The surrounding area is indeed a hidden gem in Miami, with a lush, tropical atmosphere and many shops and restaurants to choose from.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Coconut Grove area.

Warm Regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Business Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#32 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.