We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fun in the Sun
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Duffel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

When I was planning our vacation in Florida with our 9-year old daughter, I first wanted to stay at the Miami beaches for 3 days, but the pricing was way out of wxhat I had in mind, but admit want to stay in min **** hotels. Quality is a must. So I found the Mutiny Hotel, and I liked it. There was a promotion for a room with balcony and so I booked this one. Upon our arrival, we were friendly greeted, but when we got into our room, it was not the one I had choosen from the promotion. So I went straight back to the receptiojn and after some (kind) discussion - we were given another room, and oh boy what a difference! The room was with balcony! A spacious living room; seperate bedroom - and although we requested a seperate bed for our daughter, the king size bed was big enough for the 3 of us. Then a full kitchen, whith even a washing and drying machine! The location was perfect as it is in walking distance to Coconut Grove, which my wife loved very much, and so was I, because there was a live rock band playing, which I appreciate a lot as here in Belgium you will not find easy a live rock band playing when you go out for dinner. The breakfast was a surprise as it was no buffet?? But in fact there is plenty choice and the pricing is really not too much. If I am right the continental breakfast is about $ 10/person. The pool area looks cosy, but it should need more attention. I found a nice sitting corner with inviting garden furniture, but it was not really clean. Really pitty as it is a corner to have a drink with friends. The restaurant was Asian, and but we did not eat there as we were out every day. I noticed they had my favourite red wine, and again the pricing is very honest.for this high quality wine;.A nice walking is to the yacht harbour. Overall I recommend this hotel very much for the location and the relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: You need to ask for a room with a balcony as in our case was the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Willy,

We are elated to hear that after researching places to stay during your vacation in Florida you gave us an opportunity to welcome you. We are trilled that you joined the Mutiny family and glad to hear that you felt welcome and enjoyed our hotel. Thank you so much for the kind comments concerning our service and guest rooms. Your feedback about the pool area will be passed along to the departments involved.

We hope to welcome you and your family again soon!

Warm wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    121
    44
    29
    23
See reviews for
148
121
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just finished a two day meeting at the Mutiny Hotel. The staff were attentive and ensured we had a comfortable environment. Very good value for money. Would recommend to others and will use again if meeting in the Miami area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the The Mutiny Hotel for your most recent trip to the Coconut Grove area. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel staff to be nice – they strive to make every guest’s stay and event memorable.

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and we will share this with the appropriate departments. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future for either business or pleasure.

Warm regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The setting for this hotel is so relaxing. The pool beautifully manicured, lush vegetation and excelent breakfast, lunch or dinner poolside setting. Love, love, love the location. Room was well equipped with kitchen all utensils and appliances, plates, wine glasses etc. Our room even had a balconly to sit and overlook the pool and sauna. Such a fantastic crew too! Very accomodating to our needs. Concierge was fantastic getting us to places and even giving us an umbrella when it rained! Even the GM was very pleasant and professional. I would reccomend this hotel to all of my friends and family. Already have!!

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the pool, you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Thank you for your kind words! We will be sure to share them with the team. The Mutiny Hotel team strives for excellence and we are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

We hope to see you back here soon and of course, should you need anything in the meantime please don’t hesitate to let us know.

Warmest Regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a relief to find a boutique hotel in the Miami area that feels like home. We love the Miami nightlife, but also like to have a quiet place to rest our head at the end of the day. The Mutiny has everything you need. A kitchen in every room. It's like having your own condo home away from home. Nice bed linens and Aveda amenities. The pool area had just been renovated since I visited this hotel a couple of years ago. They upgraded the patio lounge furniture which makes for comfortable sunning. Friendly and helpful staff. Small gym, but enough to get the job done. A huge plus that the hotel is walking distance from so many great restaurants, even a state of the art movie theater. Fresh Market, which is just like Whole Foods, is five minutes away. Everything you need at your doorstep. This place is great value for the accommodation, service, and location location!. ... a repeat for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Claire,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your most recent visit at The Mutiny Hotel. We appreciate your recommendation and kind words about the hotel's features and service. We are so thrilled to hear that you found your home away from home!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Warm wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our room was very spacious and complete with everything we needed. Our view was not the best since we had some garbage to look at. My husband mentioned the eye sore to the concierge and people were out there shortly cleanning, power washing and removing things from view. They even offered a different room, which we declined, no reason too. The bartenders at the bar downstairs were awsome. We were only there for two noghts but left feeling like valued regulars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the time you took to describe your recent visit to The Mutiny Hotel. Guest feedback is critical to our success and we are grateful to receive your observations. Our goal is to provide our guests with excellent customer service and comfort as well as unforgettable memories, which is why I am grateful to hear that the shortcoming you experienced was resolved promptly.

It it terrific that you left our hotel feeling like regulars, and we sure hope to see you again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Warm wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel has the friendliest staff. Very comfortable hotel with a good feel
factor! Conveniently located- few steps to the miamimover and close to local
restaurants. And to top it off, great bed. No restaurant but has good bar and breakfast is
included.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing The Mutiny Hotel during your recent visit to Coconut Grove. It was delightful to read that you enjoyed the time with us, and that you felt so comfortable in our hotel.

I agree that our central location makes it easy to enjoy all of what Miami has to offer.

I am sorry to hear that you weren't able to enjoy our restaurant, located at the lobby level by our tropical pool. Our front desk team will be happy to direct you to our restaurant, should you like to enjoy the delicious American/Thai cuisine that we have to offer during your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you're looking for a high-end respite in Coconut Grove, you might do well here. The rooms are pleasantly decorated in understated hues and tasteful prints, as are the public areas. The tropical garden and pool area is lush, quiet, and clean. Most employees are extremely attentive. Why, then, only four stars?
First, the description of suites was incorrect. We were told we would have two double beds and a sleep sofa, but upon arrival were told they had no such configuration. The hotel was willing to provide a mattress to accommodate all three of us. It was unceremoniously tossed on the floor with some do-it-yourself linens by a somewhat snippy porter. Second, the bathroom waste basket had not been emptied. Third, fees for wi-fi and water seemed rather excessive for such an expensive hotel.
Although these things disappointed, we left feeling rested; even the guest who spent the night on the floor felt quietly refreshed. We would return, but with lowered expectations.

Room Tip: Be sure to check directly with hotel about room options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Guest feedback is so crucial to our success, and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and observations regarding your recent visit to our resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your suite, and our lush, tropical garden.

It is always our intention to have every guest leave our hotel looking forward to their next visit, and I most sincerely apologize there were several areas where we failed to meet this goal in your case. I can understand your frustration with one of your guests having to sleep on our mattress. Only some of our 2 bedroom suites come with double beds. I have personally addressed this with the appropriate staff to ensure that further confusion is avoided.

I hope we will have an opportunity to exceed your expectations and welcome you back to our our hotel. Please feel free to contact me personally when you return to the Coconut Grove area.

Warm regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.