We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% Summer Suite Savings
Ranked #16 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our room was very spacious and complete with everything we needed. Our view was not the best since we had some garbage to look at. My husband mentioned the eye sore to the concierge and people were out there shortly cleanning, power washing and removing things from view. They even offered a different room, which we declined, no reason too. The bartenders at the bar downstairs were awsome. We were only there for two noghts but left feeling like valued regulars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the time you took to describe your recent visit to The Mutiny Hotel. Guest feedback is critical to our success and we are grateful to receive your observations. Our goal is to provide our guests with excellent customer service and comfort as well as unforgettable memories, which is why I am grateful to hear that the shortcoming you experienced was resolved promptly.

It it terrific that you left our hotel feeling like regulars, and we sure hope to see you again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Warm wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    165
    57
    36
    24
See reviews for
207
161
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel has the friendliest staff. Very comfortable hotel with a good feel
factor! Conveniently located- few steps to the miamimover and close to local
restaurants. And to top it off, great bed. No restaurant but has good bar and breakfast is
included.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing The Mutiny Hotel during your recent visit to Coconut Grove. It was delightful to read that you enjoyed the time with us, and that you felt so comfortable in our hotel.

I agree that our central location makes it easy to enjoy all of what Miami has to offer.

I am sorry to hear that you weren't able to enjoy our restaurant, located at the lobby level by our tropical pool. Our front desk team will be happy to direct you to our restaurant, should you like to enjoy the delicious American/Thai cuisine that we have to offer during your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you're looking for a high-end respite in Coconut Grove, you might do well here. The rooms are pleasantly decorated in understated hues and tasteful prints, as are the public areas. The tropical garden and pool area is lush, quiet, and clean. Most employees are extremely attentive. Why, then, only four stars?
First, the description of suites was incorrect. We were told we would have two double beds and a sleep sofa, but upon arrival were told they had no such configuration. The hotel was willing to provide a mattress to accommodate all three of us. It was unceremoniously tossed on the floor with some do-it-yourself linens by a somewhat snippy porter. Second, the bathroom waste basket had not been emptied. Third, fees for wi-fi and water seemed rather excessive for such an expensive hotel.
Although these things disappointed, we left feeling rested; even the guest who spent the night on the floor felt quietly refreshed. We would return, but with lowered expectations.

Room Tip: Be sure to check directly with hotel about room options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Guest feedback is so crucial to our success, and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and observations regarding your recent visit to our resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your suite, and our lush, tropical garden.

It is always our intention to have every guest leave our hotel looking forward to their next visit, and I most sincerely apologize there were several areas where we failed to meet this goal in your case. I can understand your frustration with one of your guests having to sleep on our mattress. Only some of our 2 bedroom suites come with double beds. I have personally addressed this with the appropriate staff to ensure that further confusion is avoided.

I hope we will have an opportunity to exceed your expectations and welcome you back to our our hotel. Please feel free to contact me personally when you return to the Coconut Grove area.

Warm regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel advertises great views from all rooms. Our room, on the 2nd floor had a great view of the garbage trucks and traffic in the parking lot. The cigarette butts on our parking level balcony were equally unattractive. The shower had no shelf, so soap and shampoos went on the floor. The dishwasher fell out of its frame. Hotel cleaning staff did not speak English, so bone up on your sign language or Spanish.

The area that the hotel is located in is a great part of Miami, if you like quiet beach restaurants, good walks and quaint shopping. The hotel pool area is nice. Parking is $25 per day, with waits of up to 10 minutes, but most times, waits were only a couple of minutes. Hotel staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
On behalf of the management and staff of The Mutiny Hotel, I would like to personally apologize that we did not meet your expectation during your recent visit at The Mutiny Hotel. All constructive reviews are highly scrutinized by our management team and staff in an attempt to evolve our service in a positive way. I am deeply sorry that you did not have a better view and that the bathroom amenities were not placed in a more convenient place. This is unacceptable and certainly not how we earned our reputation for consistently delivering outstanding service and accommodations. I have personally addressed these issues with the appropriate staff to avoid re-occurrence of this nature.

On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize again and in an effort to regain your trust in The Mutiny Hotel I would welcome the opportunity to personally handle your reservations if you plan to return to Coconut Grove in the future.

Warmest regards,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Mutiny is a legendary Hotel located in the heart of Coconut Grove section in Miami. It's close to everything, has a great water view and the service staff is amazing, especially the Concierge and actively involved General Manager Greg Allowe. We place our clients, friends and family members in this lovely ALL SUITE Hotel frequently and have stayed there ourselves during special events like The Grove Arts Festival, Taste of The Grove Food Festival and more. As a former Hotel Exec and CEO of a Marketing/Consulting firm that works in the Hotel Industry, I highly recommend The Mutiny, Coconut Grove.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, they have best views and water views are even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are truly grateful that you spent the time describing your and your client's, friends and family experiences here at The Mutiny Hotel. It was such a joy for us to read that your expectations were exceeded. This certainly means a lot coming from a fellow industry professional.

I will personally share your wonderful comments with our team!

We look forward to welcoming you many more times in the months and years to come, for both business and pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my second visit to this location. The place is great! Staff very attentive. Location is execllent right by the marina you can look out into Biscayne Bay. A easy walk to many shops and restraunts. Room had a kitchen in it, large balcony that overlooked the bay. Just a great place for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We were so delighted to welcome you back to The Mutiny Hotel.

We sincerely appreciate the time you took to describe your second and most recent visit to our hotel. As you highlighted, our spacious living room, fully-equipped kitchen and large balcony makes vacationing so much more easier and enjoyable.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This charming boutique hotel is Condo owned so each room will be a little different. The overall feel of this hotel is British colony/Tommy Bahama ish. We stayed in the One bedroom...King size bed in bedroom with large walk in closet. A queen pull out bed was in living/sitting area adjoined by the fully equipped kitchen. Our unit was 1015 with a view of the harbor/bay but no balcony..rate approx $300/night..in season rate. I am not sure in only the 2 bedrooms have the balcony but our one bedroom did not have a balcony but the windows did open for fresh air. Our room is in need of a few minor furniture replacements and the bathtub needs to be replaced and not just resurfaced as it was. The staff at THE MUTINY needs to be complimented....They are very very friendly. My favorite spot was by the tropical pool with spa at night having dinner and listening the the little waterfall. Their food at the Atchana's East/West Kitchen is Asian inspired with fish and steak as well on the menu. We only had dinner so do not know what they offer for breakfast. I loved my stay at the MUTINY and would go back again but would make sure that I booked a bay view with balcony. OH and did I mention THE GREAT LOCATION! one block from COCOWALK....which is a small shopping area with restaurants.

Room Tip: this is condo owned so they all will be a little different.. ask for bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing The Mutiny Hotel during your recent visit to Coconut Grove.

It was terrific to read that you enjoyed your time with us.Our goal is to create happy memories for our guests. Our topical pool is indeed a hidden gem and I am thrilled that you found activities to meet your every need. I will personally share your comments with our team and celebrate that we earned yet another satisfied guest.

We want to welcome you to The Mutiny Hotel family and hope to see you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Conrad Miami
#8 of 115 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#11 Business Hotel in Miami
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.