We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% Summer Suite Savings
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Miami
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I found a deal on Groupon for this hotel. I was a bit skeptical at first as I never redeemed a hotel reservation that I bought on Groupon. However, after reading the reviews I became more comfortable and excited. By the way the Groupon deal was awesome: 3 nights for 4 people in a one bedroom suite, wifi, valet parking included, a bottle of champagne and $25 voucher to the restaurant downstairs all for about $400. (Traveled with a total of 4 adults including myself)

Now for the stay: When we arrived we were greeted by everyone that saw us. Check-in was quick and easy. We were put in the wrong room at first (there was no sofa bed) but the room was absolutely beautiful. The situation was corrected within 5 mins of us informing the front desk (Juan). We got to the new room which was a little older however much bigger and still very very nice. Within minutes of our arrival we received our complimentary bottle of champagne. An hour later we received another bottle (no idea why, but we didn't complain). The room was equipped with a full kitchen and fridge, dishwasher and full washer and dryer. If I had to make ANY suggestions I would suggest more pots/pans to cook with and maybe trial size dishwashing detergent and laundry detergent.

The valet staff was absolutely amazing and looked as if they loved their jobs. They were always happy to help with anything. My family and I were bit of pests with the car. We came for it very often and they didn't look irritated not even once. Thank you. All of the staff was absolutely amazing we were always greeted BY NAME every time we saw someone. At first, we didn't believe it but that is how they operate.

The pool is small but very nice and even open until midnight. The exercise room was also nice with up to date equipment and sauna and steam room. We visited the restaurant on the morning we were leaving for breakfast. We really didn't have any expectations as we were just using the voucher that came with our package. The food and service were WONDERFUL. We were really impressed.

The hotel is not far from South Beach (about 15 min drive) but there are plenty of things to do around the area. Shopping and great places to eat. Overall we had an amazing stay and are already looking to book another vacation at this hotel. Can't say enough about the staff and the facilities. The fact that I got a great deal was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear AJAB,

We received so many visitors with our recent GROUPON promotion and we loved the fact that many of ours guests viewed it as a true value. Our hotel is always looking for special ways to create packages and deals to better fit the needs of today's traveler.
We met so many locals and out-of-towners that were just impressed with our hotel and our staff--that it just made us feel exceptional.
No matter what brings you to our doors, whether it be a special deal, or because you were looking for hotels in the Coconut Grove area, rest assured, when you stay with us, we will make sure you have memories to write home about.

Thanks for your comments,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    164
    57
    36
    24
See reviews for
207
160
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conn.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had business near Coconut Grove and spent three nights in this great hotel. Great location: on the bay and within a two block walk to all the restaurants and night life in Coconut Grove. The suites were spacious, immaculate, and had full kitchens. The entire staff was friendly, efficient and effectively responded to all our requests. It is a nice feeling when a hotel staff truly welcomes you. Great job! I will certainly return. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear GOODAYSUNSHINE,

I can honestly tell you that aside from having a beautiful hotel and being in a privileged location, our staff is the engine that generates the magical moments our guests experience day in and day out. Reading your comments lets us know we are on the right track, and we thank you for it.
We hope to have you real soon with us.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were surprised by the size of the suite at the Mutiny. At $120 a night for this size a room, we can overlook some minor defects in the room. Also, we can ignore that the staff is friendly but not entirely competent. At this price level, the Mutiny is excellent value for money. But if the prices were to rise, the hotel would need to polish up its act.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear WARMWHITE,
Thank you for your words. Many of our first-time guests are amazed at how spacious our suites are. Fully furnished suites, with state of the art televisions, and fully equipped kitchens await your beckoning.
I see from your comments that there was some room for improvement with some of our staff members, and for this I apologize. We are aggressively training our staff to more than excel at meeting all of our guests' expectations.
I would also like to invite you back to the Mutiny and have you experience the transformation of our hospitality culture. Please contact me at the hotel. Your thoughts mean a great deal to us.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Beautiful suite hotel overlooking Biscayne Bay. I was on a business trip and had many special needs. The staff went out of their way to accomodate. And what a great place to come 'home' to after a hard day at the office. Calm, peaceful and relaxing.
Everyone was friendly, efficient and helpful from the valet, front desk, security, restaurant and especially management.
We were a large group, over 20 suites, and everyone agreed that we would come back to the Mutiny anytime...business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Request suite with view of Biscayne Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear PAULAW,

At the Mutiny Hotel we are all about anticipating our guests' needs. From our friendly valet staff meeting you at the ramp, to our service-minded bell staff, up to our welcoming front office agents, everyone here has the inherent culture to stretch for our guests.
We know the importance of being away from the office on business, and being away from home as well. We like to think of ourselves as a team that sets you up for success for your business needs, and then creates an atmosphere for you to unwind.
Thank you for your comments and for letting the Mutiny team take care of you and your peers!

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A very quaint place to enjoy Miami..walking distance to everything.
We love a great get away!!!
Great for couples
Beautiful landscape.folliage surrounding property.In the Heart of Coconut Grove

Small pool area..although very nice

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear ISLANDGIRL6969,

You said it best: "Paradise in the Grove." This is what we strive for consistently at the Mutiny Hotel. We are experts at making your get away something you will always remember. To us it is not enough to be close to everything there is to do in Coconut Grove; we want you to feel the Grove when you step out of your balcony and absorb our views, or when you come down for a bite at Atchana's East/West Kitchen and you are met by our friendly staff. Thank you for choosing us.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recently had our high school reunion at The Mutiny. The customer service at the hotel was top-notch. The staff was great and the food was good. An added plus was the location...across from the water and walking distance from the heart of the Grove.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear PAMK,

Coming all the way from Atlanta, Georgia, you must sure know a thing or two about southern hospitality. Here at the Mutiny Hotel, we have branded our own service culture and we want to share it with everyone that visits us. We are nested in the heart of Coconut Grove, and our spacious suites remind you constantly that you are on vacation, and that we are taking care of everything else.
Thank you for having chosen the Mutiny Hotel for your last visit to Miami. We hope to have you and yours soon with us again.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Coral Gables Class of 82 Held their 30th Class Reunion. The staff, the venue, the food and the ambiance couldn't have been better. Whatever we needed, we got and more.... I was the organizer of the event and although there was some issues that we ran across the front office worked with me to iron out all of the wrinkles so that our event would be spectacular.. All of our attendees have raved about the reunion and again I could not have asked for a better turnout.. plus I just love the location... literally right around the corner from all the Grove action.. I highly recommend staying here... Oh and did I mention running into ZZ Top in the lobby.. staying here too?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear NORMAJEANK,

At the Mutiny Hotel we take pride in being able to wow all who come through our doors. Whether it be a class reunion, or your first visit to Miami, we make sure this is a memorable experience you will want to repeat time and time again.
Thank you and the Coral Gables Class of '82 for letting us cater to all your needs. It was a pleasure having you with us.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Conrad Miami
#8 of 114 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#11 Business Hotel in Miami
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.