We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pardise in the Grove.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fun in the Sun
Ranked #14 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pardise in the Grove.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

A very quaint place to enjoy Miami..walking distance to everything.
We love a great get away!!!
Great for couples
Beautiful landscape.folliage surrounding property.In the Heart of Coconut Grove

Small pool area..although very nice

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear ISLANDGIRL6969,

You said it best: "Paradise in the Grove." This is what we strive for consistently at the Mutiny Hotel. We are experts at making your get away something you will always remember. To us it is not enough to be close to everything there is to do in Coconut Grove; we want you to feel the Grove when you step out of your balcony and absorb our views, or when you come down for a bite at Atchana's East/West Kitchen and you are met by our friendly staff. Thank you for choosing us.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    129
    46
    29
    24
See reviews for
155
130
19
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recently had our high school reunion at The Mutiny. The customer service at the hotel was top-notch. The staff was great and the food was good. An added plus was the location...across from the water and walking distance from the heart of the Grove.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear PAMK,

Coming all the way from Atlanta, Georgia, you must sure know a thing or two about southern hospitality. Here at the Mutiny Hotel, we have branded our own service culture and we want to share it with everyone that visits us. We are nested in the heart of Coconut Grove, and our spacious suites remind you constantly that you are on vacation, and that we are taking care of everything else.
Thank you for having chosen the Mutiny Hotel for your last visit to Miami. We hope to have you and yours soon with us again.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Coral Gables Class of 82 Held their 30th Class Reunion. The staff, the venue, the food and the ambiance couldn't have been better. Whatever we needed, we got and more.... I was the organizer of the event and although there was some issues that we ran across the front office worked with me to iron out all of the wrinkles so that our event would be spectacular.. All of our attendees have raved about the reunion and again I could not have asked for a better turnout.. plus I just love the location... literally right around the corner from all the Grove action.. I highly recommend staying here... Oh and did I mention running into ZZ Top in the lobby.. staying here too?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear NORMAJEANK,

At the Mutiny Hotel we take pride in being able to wow all who come through our doors. Whether it be a class reunion, or your first visit to Miami, we make sure this is a memorable experience you will want to repeat time and time again.
Thank you and the Coral Gables Class of '82 for letting us cater to all your needs. It was a pleasure having you with us.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Mutiny staff is always helpful and pleasant, we stay at the Mutiny at least 4-6 times a year during the football season. We love staying at the Mutiny, rooms always clean and comfortable, with well appointed kitchens, very spacious rooms and love the balcony area, great for a relaxing cocktail overlooking the bay! There are many places to walk to in the Grove so no need to use a car, great value for the money. We have 4 other trips scheduled for the fall and will be staying here. Absolutely one of our favorite places to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear YCLAW5,

College football season in Miami definitely brings all the fans into the Coconut Grove area, and what better place to set up shop with alumni and family members than the Mutiny Hotel! In Coconut Grove, the Mutiny Hotel is a household name, and our spacious suites allow for the whole family to come in and cheer for the home team. Afterwards, a nice stroll by the bay or a late bite in Coco Walk is a fine way to end a Saturday game evening. Thank you for making the Mutiny Hotel your preferred home game headquarters!

See you real soon,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had our yearly staycation recently at The Mutiny Hotel to try out some Miami Spice menus in the area as well as spa services we had booked. I'd never stayed here before but we loved it! Rooms are spacious, the full kitchens were a surprise and the service was first class. Concierge/door staff were very pleasant and the gentleman Juan who checked us in at the front desk was extremely helpful with many questions we asked regarding where to find local banks, pharmacies etc. Also interacted at some point during our stay with one of the sales people, I believe the name was Raysa, who was very nice as well. Would definitely recommend to friends and plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear SOBEGIRL2121,

More and more, our Miami locals our rediscovering the Coconut Grove area, and they are finding that the Mutiny Hotel is a great place to start on that quest. Our spacious fully equipped suites, friendly staff, and proximity to everything there is to do on the Grove sets us apart.
We are very happy Miami Spice and The Mutiny Hotel made your stay-cation the ideal getaway. Please come back soon to see us!

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Im am sorry to say that I will not go to the Mutiny when back in Miami. I was put into room 1115 and stayed on the night of sept 2. I did not complain during my stay until check out time and the guy, who btw is the front office manager, was extrememly rude to me. He asked me how my stay was and when I told him my room was dusty and had ants in the kitchen, he said it was just something normal. Really? Dust and ants are just normal??? Thats not what I wanted to hear. Besides that when I asked him to speak to a manager he told me that wasnt necessary and he refused to get me one. I truly dont understand how or why he would ask me to fill out a tripadvisor comment. My suggestion is to clean up the mess you all have, starting with the so called "managers". People go to your place for a nice time, not to meet rude and dry people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear AGRIFFITH38,
I was extremely disappointed to learn of your experiences while you were a guest of our hotel. First, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the discourtesy and nature of what you described. This is unacceptable and certainly not how we earned our reputation for consistently delivering outstanding service and accommodations. I can assure you that this was an isolated incident and I have personally addressed these shortcoming with the appropriate staff members so that we can avoid a future re-occurrence of this nature.

On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize again and in an effort to regain your trust in The Mutiny Hotel I would welcome the opportunity to personally handle your reservations if you plan to return to Coconut Grove in the future.

Please contact me directly so I may assist you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Mutiny is too good to be true…an amazing value for a really great product! My husband and I have stayed at the Mutiny several times and have NEVER been anything but amazed at how nice the hotel is for the money. The rooms are very clean with well appointed full kitchens, spacious living areas and bedroom…not your typical hotel room (more like a condo). The views from the private balconies won’t disappoint…a nice place to relax with a cocktail and take in the scene. The hotel itself is very attractive and the staff very nice. There is plenty to do in and around Coconut Grove. We enjoyed walking around the marina across the street. There are plenty of park benches to sit and enjoy the scenery. There are plenty of great bars, restaurants and take outs available in the area. We did not get a chance to eat in the hotel restaurant but heard from others that the food was good. The Mutiny itself is very centrally located (just a few minutes from Coral Gables and Key Biscayne, not too far from South Beach). One would be hard pressed to find a better value than this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a high floor and facing the south - these are the best rooms for view and also because you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#32 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.