We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation Bliss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fun in the Sun
Ranked #16 of 129 hotels in Miami
Miami, fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Staycation Bliss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I wanted to stay in my home town but get away...and found the Mutiny Hotel and was very please with both the service, especially from Juan who made my family feel right at home. I strongly recommend a visit to the Mutiny Hotel.

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear QCTIN,

Thank you for your kind words. It is extremely important for us to know that we can impart that home away from home feeling to our guests. Thank you for recognizing our staff members, and for letting everyone know how the Mutiny Hotel treated you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    118
    39
    29
    23
See reviews for
143
118
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is in an absolutely great location. Valet greeted me as I arrived and the young bellman was very attentive. The man(Juan) who checked me in however was a bit dry for my liking but passable I guess. Rooms are okay but could be remodeled. Housekeeping service isn't the best and I'm not the annoying type but i can imagine there are many complaints. I called the desk shortly after checkin for wifi code and the same front desk clerk seemed a bit unsure for if my room had wifi included or not. Free wifi internet would be appreciated, especially since it is free in every other hotel in the world. Cesar at the bar is a funny guy who made me feel comfortable having a drink alone. Food was to die for!! Excellent cuisine at Atchana's East West Kitchen! The locals seem to love it to. The housekeepers are a bit loud in the hallways, but I didn't have to be up too early. The ladies who are at the front desk(Yvette and Yzorah) are very pleasant girls, so were the bell staff. Check out was quick and easy. Id go back if I got a better room and the managers tell the guy at the front to not hate his job so much!

Room Tip: Ask for remodeled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Simon B,

Thank you so much for letting us know how we did, and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have encountered with our staff member. I can assure you that we have our guests' total satisfaction in mind, and this was an isolated case. Your comments mean a great deal to us, and I appreciate the fact that other members of our staff left a positive mark on your stay. We hope to have you real soon with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Mutiny for the past 8yrs. It started with him proposing to me in 2004 on the balcony overlooking the Biscayne Bay. He called and told the manager what he had planned to do and they mad it a very special moment with complimentary wine and chocolate covered strawberries. That was the start of calling the Mutiny our second home away from home. We've been coming to the Mutiny every year since and that's also where we stayed during our wedding in Miami in 2006. We loved the fact that it's spacious and feels like home away from home. It has everything you would need while on vacation or on business. You have a full kitchen, living room, bedroom, spacious bathroom, washer/dryer, pool, and restaurant. Also, around the corner is Coco Walk where you have shops, restaurant, and bars. Last but not least is the excellent, excellent, excellent customer service. That was a big plus! Our last visit was 8/1/12 and we will be back again next year for year 9. The Mutiny may not be a 5 star hotel chain but it's 5 star in my eye's. I guess you get the picture....The Mutiny is GREAT!

Room Tip: Views of Biscayne Bay are beautiful. Do not choose a room in the back because you will get all of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear TONICAB,
As someone that has been staying with us for the past 8 years, it makes us proud to know that we have consistently wowed you every time. Our hotel family is filled with people that fall in love with the Grove, our property, and our staff. We intend to keep sharing this magic and your words fuel our every effort.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our family of seven stayed at the Mutiny for two nights on our way in from the Keys. The kids initially wanted to go back to Miami Beach, but after we checked in, everyone preferred to continue our stay at the Mutiny. It was clean and very nicely appointed. This hotel combines the best of both traditional hotels and condos (concierge, on site restaurant and room service along with a full kitchen and washer/dryer). Coco Walk is just around the corner, so we were able to let our teenagers hang out there while the adults had drinks nearby. Great for people watching, but not a lot to do otherwise. The Grove is bordered by some less than favorable areas, but as long as you stay on the main roads, you won't have any problems. While visiting a friend in the area, we learned a lot about the hotel's history. Apparently the hotel is on the Coconut Grove's haunted history tours. We (the adults) had no problems, but you probably don't want to mention that part to the kids. We did - huge mistake, but it did make the remainder of our stay entertaining. Research the hotel's history. We will definitely stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear KSLOAN1252,
We are extremely happy about the fact that you and your family decided to spend seven days with us against a very enticing Miami Beach. Many of our visitors find that staying in Coconut Grove they are close enough to the downtown area and the beaches, but they love the magic and ambience the Grove's surroundings provide. Being that we offer fully equipped apartments, it makes us ideal for large families who want the service of a hotel, while having the independence only a property like ours can provide.
We hope to have you back with us real soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times on business, and find it to be a real bargain as well as a top-notch property. What sets this hotel apart is its customer service. Everyone with whom I have had contact over the last few years when I stay there for business goes out of their way to make my stay comfortable. I only wish I had the time to come to the Mutiny on vacation! Its rooms are clean, comfortable, and spacious. Having a kitchen and a sitting room is a real bonus. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear JUNEROSE33,

Thank you so much for your kind words. As a property nestled in the Grove, we like to let everyone know that we also cater to businessmen and women who find our location ideal for their business needs.
We hope you are able to find time to visit us again when not in business, our staff and concierge will be awaiting you with plenty of suggestions to enhance your time with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and 10 year old were traveling out of Miami on Tuesday morning, and decided to hang out down in Coconut Grove Monday night so we didn't have to wake up in the wee hours of the morning to drive to MIA. We chose the Mutiny based on location on the Bay and price. We were not disappointed. This is a small boutique hotel, one blocks walk away from Coco Walk and dozens of other restaurants, bars and shops. We had a one bedroom efficiency with fully equipped kitchen and plenty of room to stretch out. I was a bit disappointed we did not have a balcony, but we were only there for one night, so not a huge deal. The bellman did tell us that most rooms have balconies, we just got a bad draw. The weather did not cooperate with us, so we wound up in the hotel's restaurant/bar area. The Mutiny team seemed to work like a small family and made us feel very welcomed and at home. We saw nothing but smiles in our few hours there. If you are looking to hang out in Miami, I would recommend the Mutiny as a good place to park.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you felt welcomed by our staff's smiles and attitudes. It is true, here at the Mutiny we do operate as a small family, one that grows each day by guests who come back time and time again for our service and beautiful ambiance. We are sorry to hear about the weather, but we look forward to having you and your family with us once more.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Well this was a pleasant surprise for us.Great size one bedroom room.Seperate area for kids.Fully equipped kitchen/laundry and generally very neat and tidy. A fantastic fresh market up the road where you can buy some fantastic food and bring it back and heat up in your oven.Great value all round.The only minus was valet only parking which was $25 a day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Our-USA-Trip,

Surprising guests that have never been here before is something that we push to achieve with every single visit. Our surroundings make and the warmth of our staff members make even a one day trip memorable. We are always looking for ways to WOW our guests!
Sometimes our guests book online and do not know what to expect, however they end up mesmerized by the ever-inviting Coconut Grove, our breathtaking views, and the restless efforts of our hotel crew.
As to valet parking, we would like to let our readers know that hotels in the Downtown, Coconut Grove, and South Beach areas charge for valet parking, as do we. In some instances, valet costs range from $30 to $35.
It makes us extremely happy to know that all the way from Australia we were more than you expected.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#37 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.