We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay and relax Rooms are actual apartments A+++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early to Save 25%
Ranked #18 of 130 hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay and relax Rooms are actual apartments A+++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I had my wedding reception at the hotel by the pool, and it was perfect staff was very nice and attentive. I Stayed in a two bedroom suite over looking the sailboats WHAT A VIEW. The rooms were big and spacious I love the full kitchen. The room was also clean and it was updated. My family stayed on on of the top floors and they had the same experience.

Room Tip: call them directly with your needs never rely on the computer booking for anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Mutiny and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    115
    41
    31
    23
See reviews for
140
115
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
costa rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

the floors were filthy. White socks became black in two minutes. Staff does not pick up house phone, room service is not answering the phone unless you call from your cell. Drunken people at the pool bar were very threatening and yelling at guests(while many small children were there) while the staff stood by and did nothing. No bellman available for multiple bags. A horrible experience. Very busy and noisy highway next to building. Untrained staff. Do not consider staying at this hotel. It is a very poor value.

Room Tip: No good rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
On behalf of our staff please accept our apologies for the bad experience you had. The items you mention are not the norm at the Mutiny. Your comments have been reviewed by our management team for immediate action. Thank you for making us aware and giving us the opportunity to address these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

I checked in just after midnight and the staff was right on their job. Very attentive and friendly. Now the room: When I walked in, it looked like an apartment. A full kitchen, are you kidding me. The whole place was great, I will be back when I can really enjoy all it has to offer. My only knock on it is, very nice floor tile but not (1) rug. Also, the refrigerator had a bad ice maker. Other than that, go for it.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I visited the hotel with my girlfriend for a friend's wedding. I made my reservation months in advance and that experience set the pace for the rest of the trip. Right away when making the reservation I was already disappointed by the lack of effort and total disregard the agent had. When we arrived at the hotel, after a red-eye flight, the girl at the front desk was extremely rude and disregarded us. The manager came out and said that it wasn't "her fault" and we stood there and watched the two of them converse in Spanish while we were trying to make sense of the situation. The rest of our 4 day stay was equally horrible. The staff was rude, inattentive, and totaly disregarded us and our friends throughout. In total, we had at least 6 rooms there and each of us experienced the same thing. I will never go back to that hotel. There are several other hotels in the area that seem much better. I advise anyone considering going there to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Please accept our sincere apologies if any of our staff treated you with anything less than 100% respect. We take our service seriously and I am using your feedback to reinforce how important this is. We normally excel in service so your comments are particularly troubling to me personally. If there is a chance we can have you back please call me direct to handle the details. I promise you will see improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The most oustanding thing about this place is the view from a bayside room. From the sixth floor the view of the bay and marina is stunning. Main bedroom looked out to the bay. Second bedroom looked onto the swimmin pool of the adjoining condo. If you don't get a view like this then you will probably not think much of this hotel - a converted condo. The kitchen had typcial kitchen appliances but outdated and cheap cabinets. Refrigerator ice-maker didn';t work. In-room wahser-dryer combo was good to have once we got the dryer repaired. That took multiple phone calls and an over-night wait - something that should have been checked by staff prior to our arrival. Beds in second bedroom were singles and not very comfortable - OK for kids but not adults. Be prepared to pay for mandatory valet parking. Didn't eat at the restaurant as there are plenty of restaurants around the corner on Grand Ave. or at the marina. Bayshore Drive is popular with runners and bicyclists which means it's fairly quiet mos of the time. Unless you get a room with a view, you may not be satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We travelled to the Miami area during our daughters' school break. We reserved a two-bedroom suite and our room was exactly as depicted on the hotel's website. The spacious suite was in excellent condition and the beds in both bedrooms were very comfortable. The sofabed was not very comfortable but the housekeeping staff promptly provided a mattress topper that solved that issue. Our suite had plenty of storage space, a fully equipped kitchen and a washer and dryer. The entire suite had marble or tiled floors which avoids the problems associated with hotel carpets! Housekeeping staff kept our room very clean throughout our stay.

We were very pleased with the hotel's Coconut Grove location. The hotel is within walking distance of great restaurants, movie theatres and some shopping. There is a great grocery store nearby, too. Very inexpensive public transit is easily accessible from the hotel.

Our room was not high enough to have much of a view, however, it offered the peace and quiet we were seeking. The only noise we noticed, on occasion, was from other guests moving chairs on the marble floors in the room above ours.

The quiet pool area was relatively small but kept clean and was never crowded during our stay. The hot tub was usable its jets were not working while we were there.

Although we usually do not ask for much in the way of hotel services when we travel, we were very impressed with the helpful, friendly staff at The Mutiny Hotel. They helped us to arrange an excursion to the Everglades, provided directions to the nearest grocery store and promptly called taxis when we needed them.

I would certainly stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to others looking for more than a standard hotel room in a secure and quiet area of the city.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, it seemed that some rooms had been more recently renovated than others. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed here last week to attend a family wedding. The pictures online are NOT accurate to the real life images of this hotel. The property is cleaned with the bare minimum and almost every surface is grimy. The WORST part is the abundance of bugs everywhere! There were spider mites, sand fleas and spiders all over everything and staff did not seem to care. The sofa and chairs all around the pool were infested with sand fleas and spider mites as were the balcony off the rooms. My husband was bit by something and we missed our family wedding to have to go to Mercy hospital to attend to my husbands massive infection and reaction to the bug. The hotel was NOT accommodating to our situation and reported they are not responsible for outdoor bug infestations! We are still requiring medical care for the infection we accrued at the hotel. The staff is mixed... some were nice and others had a serious attitude. The restaurant was overpriced and very inconsistent to say the least. However, servers at the restaurant were very hospitable. Bottom line, our family trip to see our family get married was ruined and my husband has a very serious illness due to the lack of cleanliness of this hotel. We will NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff we extend our sincere apologies for the conditions you encountered on your recent visit. On very rare occasions we have issues with bugs out by the pool, as do many Florida properties, and we report this to our pest control contractor at once as well as taking corrective action with our in house maintenance team. It seems we did not react in a satisfactory manner in this case.

We take our service seriously and have addressed your concerns with our staff. If you would like to discuss this matter further please call and the hotel manager would be happy to speak with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.