We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailor's Delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early to Save 25%
Ranked #16 of 130 hotels in Miami
Arlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sailor's Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I celebrated my 50th birthday vacation with girlfriends at the Mutiny and had a great experience. I arrived before checkin and was able to relax at the pool area, with access to a fitness room, dressing room and cafe. We arranged a discounted rate with advance reservations and was given a suite overlooking the bay. The suite included a kitchen and my two friends and I were comfortably accommodated for two nights. Since the manager knew it was my birthday, they surprised me with a complimentary bottle of wine and celebratory card. Staff were very friendly and helped with airline boarding passes, special drinks and with baggage storage. The hotel is very clean with a lovely pool/hot tub, garden area. It is also located within walking distance to a lively shopping/eating area. I had made sailing arrangements from the Coconut Grove Dinner Key marina and the Mutiny was conveniently located, easily accessible by taxi or public bus from the Miami airport.

Room Tip: Rooms facing East have gorgeous view over harbor and for sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    117
    41
    31
    23
See reviews for
141
116
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Great hotel, but *** stars only. Helpfull staff, good security, lots of house gadgets. Quite good value for the price in Miami

Room Tip: Very good for families, lot of house stuff in the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We arrived from Toronto to stay at The Mutiny Hotel last week for a family members wedding. All members part of the wedding party and family stayed at this hotel. We booked 6 months in advance a two bedroom suite. We were originally very excited to stay at this hotel from all the reviews and pictures. When we got to the hotel and shown our suite we were EXTREMELY disappointed. If you do stay at this hotel, please avoid room 214. the carpets were stained and unevenly placed. The furniture and kitchen was very outdated compared to the other suites in the hotel. There was no washer/dryer in this suite as well (very important if you're planning to stay for a while). The A/C was incredibly loud, we had to sleep with all of our room doors closed that's how loud it was. Since the wedding party stayed at this hotel, we visited many suites which were beautiful and had a great view. We were given a very outdated and old suite which we did not understand why due to the fact that we were all paying the same amount! We did complain to the manager, they did nothing for us however did include 2 bottles of wine in our room for our inconvenience. They did not adjust the price at our check out. I will never stay at this hotel again and advise travelers to know that not all suites look like the ones in the pic!

Room Tip: Rooms 502 and 602 were beautiful! Avoid suite 214!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I had the opportunity for the first time to stay at the Mutiny Hotel in Miami Florida. THe expierience was great, the service was great,a s well as the accomodations, the employees, the neatness and clean room and the reservation process and check out was simple and fast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I was wary to stay at a condo since the units are privately owned, but we had a great time here. It's perfectly located if you want to stay in the grove - in Miami you need a car, but here is a great hotel where you can easily walk to several good restaurants, not-so-bad shopping, theatre, comedy club...etc. The bus stop is also right across the street, which takes you around the grove or to the metro-rail station. We weren't necessarily in Miami as tourists, so I can't say much about access to ease of getting to more touristy locations.

The staff was very friendly, the rooms are operated like a hotel room - it was cleaned each day (later in the afternoon - our preference), and they offered room service and the front desk and doorman was always available.

Our room was very clean - the kitchen and living room are an added bonus to an amazing price we scored. Some of the appliances were a bit dated, but for the price, location, cleanliness and overall comfort of the room and building it was a minor problem.

Because we weren't visiting Miami to stay next to the beach, we didn't opt for the amazing view, but we were pleased anyway, but I guess if you want a better view, do as other posters suggest and ask for a specific view.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of four.
We booked a two bedroom unit hoping that the second bedroom would have twin beds for our daughters. It did not. Since they prefer to sleep in separate beds, one of them slept on the pull-out couch. It was fitted with sheets but there were no spare blankets in the place.
When the couch folded up to a 2 seater, there was only one other chair. Also, there was no dining table, only 3 bar stools at a counter.
The kitchen was basically clean except there was an infestation of ants which were also in one of the bathrooms.
The balcony only had a small table with 2 chairs. Again, there were 4 of us.
We complained about the ants and were given a credit for the 3 days of parking charges in lieu of our inconvenience.
There is a small restaurant on site but with only one waitress. It took a very long time to get our meal. The food was good though.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stay here during our christmasholiday. It's a fine hotel with large rooms, a complete kitchen, and a nice garden with swimmingpool. It is a good and nice neighbourhood, cocunut grove.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#37 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.