We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mutiny Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early to Save 25%
Ranked #16 of 130 hotels in Miami
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We have lived near to coconut groove during seven month, and our familly went to this hotel. We decided to return to this hotel, because the staff is very kind, smiling, always pleasant, even with the children. One of our children forgot one of these toys (a black panther), they sent us the toy in Europe. The children liked playing in the swimming pool. We had rented an apartment in the hotel (during 12 nights), what is more practical when we have children, because we can cook. The cleaning lady passed every day, bath towels was every day changed. It is the advantage of an apartment with the service of a hotel. I could go in for sport in the sporting room, which is equipped well + sauna. It is a very goog address.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    115
    41
    31
    23
See reviews for
140
115
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Great hotel for the business or family traveler. The rooms are suites and having a kitchen can be convenient when on the road.
The views are lovely, and sitting on the balcony with my computer was the best office I could ask for.
Conveniently located in Coconut Grove.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Although we live in Miami we wanted all our out of town family and friends attending our daughter's wedding to stay at one convenient, attractive and intimate hotel. The Mutiny was the perfect choice. The group booking process was easy and well explained. The service was also very good although sometimes the reservation department was not as accommodating as they could have been when we asked to have some of our guests take the place of other guests who had to cancel their reservation in the final weeks. Overall, we were very pleased with the spacious, inviting rooms, the friendliness of the staff and the wonderful location in the heart of Coconut Grove.

Room Tip: The rooms on Bayshore Drive have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

My wife and I and another close couple of ours wanted to celebrate our Anniversay in South Florida in our own "back Yard" and the Mutiny Hotal was the best choice we made what a pleasant weekend !!! the service was the best !!! and the hospitality made you feel your were at a World Class Resort. The location and views from the balcony is spectacular.....Best get away in the Groove

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We spent the weekend at the Mutiny in Coconut Grove. The hotel employees were helpful, polite, and very customer service oriented - and I mean everyone (bellhop, maintenance, the front desk person - everyone). The hotel is very clean and well kept - It is absolutely beautiful. I would stay there again any time I want another get away from it all/birthday weekend. I was planning to go to the Miami Improv and visit a few restaurants nearby but the suite had a full kitchen so I went to a supermarket 10 minutes away and purchased things to just stay in to relax and enjoy the weekend. We did have breakfast from room service and I must say that it was awesome.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, The hotel and the staff are excellent and we had a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We've been to Mutiny many times over the past 6 yrs and have found it to be consistently very good. Location can't be beat -- walk to the Grove with all its great restaurants, close to a great running park. Hotel is in very good shape, very clean, professional, friendly staff. Rooms are nicely appointed suites --clean & comfortable. Nice pool area which is completely enclosed with greenery giving sense of being isolated! Nice small restaurant with small bar on-site. Only complaint was that room we were in this time was above where all the dumpsters were located which meant couldn't sit on balcony due to odor. Although the dumpster area is enclosed they should consider having a roof over it to minimize the odor. This was only time this happened, but despite that we will definitely return.

Room Tip: some suties have beautiful view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I actually grew up in Miami and recently returned for a wedding. We were put up in the Mutiny Hotel in Coconut Grove and I have to say we were disappointed. While the rooms were spacious, bedroom, kitchen, living room, large closets and bathroom, they varied widely in terms of upkeep. Ours had relatively new furniture, but others had dirty furniture with stains and weird smells.

As it is more of a long-term residence hotel, the service was atrocious. There was actually not one positive in the service at the hotel. We encountered rude housekeeping, valet, check in and front desk service. I know it is Miami (like I said I grew up there), but the English spoken by the concierge and check in desk was horrible! In one instance, they told my husband they were calling a cab for him and 30 minutes later when my husband checked in they said "oh yeah we couldn't get through." There is no laundry service on site and when my husband asked if there was someplace that could press his tux for the wedding, we were given a number for a local drycleaning store - that was out of service! When we asked for brunch recommendations, the concierge said that "there were good options - just walk around."

As well, our room was next to a taller condo that had lights on all night and there were not curtains to block out the light. So at night when we were trying to sleep, our whole bedroom was flooded with light. The windows were also thin and you could completely hear people's conversation on the ground outside our window.

The pool is small and shaded as well.

There are many other options nearby (the Ritz, the Sonesta, even the Courtyard Marriott) that would serve you better and provide the same good location.

I would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Address: 2951 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#37 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutiny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.